Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

We believe that parents have a choice in the selection of the academic environment for their children. When a parent exercises that choice with Legacy Traditional School, they are choosing a safe structured accelerated program with high expectations. At Legacy Traditional School students benefit from a Legacy of Learning as they prepare for the world ahead.
December 12, 2011

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
98 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 123 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Legacy Traditional School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. McCloud has been outstanding in responding to emails and providing much needed feedback to assist my daughters. She is an exemplary teacher that cares about her students. She is a tremendous asset to maintaining LTS as an above standard alternative to public schools. Thank you!

Legacy Traditional School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
While it may appear to be a lot, it is given for the week and clearly defined objectives. You have to work with your child to achieve success but I think that is the point!


Legacy Traditional School 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
LTS has been outstanding for my daughters and has pushed them to excel. We have been using charter schools primarily and have had no regrets. LTS has high standards and requires actively engaged parents in order to achieve educational goals for each student. I appreciate the efforts from the staff and the inclusion with my child's academic needs. They have provided a great alternative to the public school system and should be applauded for the efforts!

Legacy Traditional School 2

Posted December 17, 2015
- a community member
Been with Legacy at Athlos for 4 years, started off great. However the quality of our experience has declined in the last year. Junior high teachers do not engage with or care about the students, just run them through the process of tests & quizzes and get them out the door. We have tried to engage the Assistant Principal about issues, but have been ignored. Pulling our three kids out. There are too many other quality charter school options to tolerate how this school is managed.

Legacy Traditional School 5

Posted July 03, 2015
- a parent
My daughter went to legacy last year for kindergarten and is getting ready to go back for 1st grade. She's reading and writing and doing math. We couldn't be more happy!


Legacy Traditional School 5

Posted May 28, 2015
- a parent
I have four children that attend this amazing school kindergarten through fourth grade. My oldest has attended Legacy since kindergarten. For a short time, my oldest attended Pima Butte. Legacy has a curriculum that, in my opinion, is unmatched. The students and their parents are exceptional. The parent involvement is breathtaking. I will have my children attend as long as they can.

Legacy Traditional School 5

Posted April 01, 2015
- a teacher
I've been teaching for many years, and I can honestly say that this is the best school I've ever had the pleasure of working for. The teachers and staff are absolutely amazing. You can feel just how dedicated they are and how much they truly love and care about every student. Administration is just as wonderful. Not only do they have hearts of gold, they also provide each teacher, staff, and student the support and guidance they need to be successful. I highly suggest you at least take a tour and see for yourself.

Legacy Traditional School 4

Posted March 26, 2015
- a parent
LTS is a great school and the Maricopa campus is beautiful. The curriculum is well-designed. I love Saxon Math. The homework assigned is a little too much, but they really cut back on that this year. The students are expected to behave, which is not too much to ask for. The teachers love their job and it shows. They really do care about the students, but they don't coddle them. We love the uniforms. It's not military-but it is strict. If you want to get the most from your children, consider Legacy.


Legacy Traditional School 4

Posted March 17, 2015
- a parent
The curriculum is good. I love Saxon and Spalding. I love the school uniform idea too, but I wish they would not allow jeans. Jeans are too different in styles and colors and I see kids wear "skinny" jeans or jeans with holes and start bully other kids in uniform pants that they are not stylish.

Legacy Traditional School 5

Posted March 12, 2015
- a parent
I love this school! It is an accelerated program but my daughter does really well in a structured environment even though she is not accelerated. The curriculum has not changed and is really successful. It is not a school for everyone but if you are looking for a great education this is the place to be. I am very impressed overall with this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Legacy Traditional School
17760 N. Regent Dr., Maricopa, AZ  85138
(520) 423-9999
Last modified Legacy Traditional School is a Charter school that serves grades K-10. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Legacy Traditional School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 123 reviews. Top