Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 38 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Santa Cruz Elementary School 4

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
The school is making efforts to improve from the teachers up through to the principal. It has been a year of change but hopefully the changes that are coming will strengthen the entire school. There are some truly caring teachers and the students need the consistency.

Santa Cruz Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 23, 2016
- a community member
My son's second grade teacher, Mr. Ybarra, is a truly wonderful and caring teacher. He made this year worth keeping my son at this school as I almost transferred him to a local charter school. Mr. Ybarra looks for innovative ways to interest the kiddos in the curriculum. He is also very fair and has handled student issues such as rudeness with calm integrity. My son thinks he is the best teacher and I have to agree as he has been more communicative and responsive than any teacher either of my sons have had thus far (and my oldest just graduated from high school). Kuddos Mr. Ybarra!


Santa Cruz Elementary School 5

Posted May 01, 2016
- a community member
Although a few good teachers left in recent years, Santa Cruz continues to have high expectations and meets the educational and social needs of my kids. Great school and Great Teachers!

Santa Cruz Elementary School 5

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
I have three children that have either gone or are in the school. Wonderful teachers, great action plans, and the students are learning. The children at this school are educated, and ready for middle school.

Santa Cruz Elementary School 1

Posted February 19, 2014
- a parent
My husband was in the Army for 7 years, so my children have had their fair share of new schools. This school is hands down the worst school I have ever experienced in my life. They demonstrate corporal punishment toward the kids, and serve lunch detention on stage in the lunchroom in front of 1 or 2 entire classes! The 5th grade teacher Mrs. Saunders communicates very poorly, and her aloof attitude infuriates me. On my child's first day of school, he and his classmates were forced to write a letter describing how "bad" they were and the "teachers were sick of it" Mass punishment! My child is an honor student and has never given any teacher grief, yet he was punished more at this school than I can even wrap my mind around. Do not take your children there! However; the kindergarten teacher Mrs. Williams was a very nice lady and tried her best despite the challenges the school is facing as a whole.


Santa Cruz Elementary School 1

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
This school is horrible with the district is even worse.I have three kids enrolled at these schools in Maricopa not one of them like the schools here and that"s why we are moving.

Santa Cruz Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2013
- a parent
Over the course of a year, my baby (kinder) has learned to read! She's excited, and can read ENTIRE level 1 books. She loves it, and it makes me so proud and happy. I <3 this school.

Santa Cruz Elementary School 2

Posted October 29, 2012
- a parent
I wrote a review for this school March 11, 2010 (if you are interested in reading my previous thoughts.) I have had children at this school through all the grades for about six years. The school has changed dramatically this year. More than 1/2 the teachers left at the end of the last school year (2011-12), all of them were a loss. Because of enrollment numbers some of the teachers were not replaced. Some were replaced with teachers just as competent as before, and a few were replaced with teachers that leave something to be desired (yelling and rude behaviors), which is sad, because the school had a phenomenal teaching staff last year. The principal proclaims he is there any time to help parents with concerns; he will talk to parents, but has no follow-through. I have consistently supported this school and this district, and will continue to do so, but will also oversee my children's teachers. There are enough good ones available to be a team, but I am hoping to see a change next year. (currently I have children in 1st, 3rd, and 5th grades at this school, and am somewhat familiar with all teachers.)


Santa Cruz Elementary School 1

Posted January 25, 2012
- a parent
We are new to Maricopa and have been very disappointed with Santa Cruz. There is so much teacher drama and they involve the kids. They give mass punishment out instead of punishing individuals... entire classes or grades get detention. The lunch time is ran like a detention center, kids are not allowed to talk and interact. The principal has a lack of enthusiasm and does not make effots to understand concerns, nor correct them. The teachers are overworked with having to be monitors and cross walk supervisors, which, in my opinion, takes away from the class interaction. Our 3 kids get A's and B's and have always enjoyed school until this year. I have spoken with the Superintendent once, and left 2 messages, my husband left 2 messages and never received a call back. Our kids have not enjoyed the school year thus far. The only positive thing about the school is how great the new music teacher is. We are moving to a charter school next year.

Santa Cruz Elementary School 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Kindergarten has been challenging and fun for my 5 year old this year!

Nearby schools

Santa Cruz Elementary School
19845 North Costa Del Sol, Maricopa, AZ  85238
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 38 reviews. (520) 568-5100
Last modified Santa Cruz Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top