Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Saddleback Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2014

Saddleback Elementary is a wonderful school. The environment is welcoming and the staff goes above and beyond to help. My children have attended Saddleback for 4 years. They look forward to meeting their new teacher and new friends every school year. I appreciate the dedication of the staff and the commitment they've made to help my children excel academically
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2014

We've had wonderful teachers for my son while at this school! Principal active on campus, and swift to address concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2013

I am very pleased with this school. I have three children attending and all have good teachers. No problem with communication, lots of activities, active PTO. The office staff is incredibly friendly and helpful and actually remembered my kids names after only one day! No complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2011

It's sad when your children request to go to another school because of the lack of challenges available to them or teachers who won't talk with you about issues they are having. My presence it known on the campus and I am always available to address the issues with the children in order to support both the teacher and the child. I was a sad day when Mrs. Amick left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2011

My two children went there two years ago, the teachers were great. One day I asked my kids how the principal was and they could not tell me anything. We didn't even know what she looked like until the yearbook came out. We changed schools the year after. Also my oldest didn't get her AIMS scores, and neither did anyone else in her class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

Saddleback (SBE) is the absolute best. I LOVE this school, teachers,& administration. I m zoned for MES & have filed a boundary request for the past 2 years for SBE. I saw a comment referencing the principal dissolving the PTO Coming from experience, parents don t always behave professionally on a PTO. Sometimes THAT is what is best for students, staff, & parents. For the comment posted about never seeing her- Well, I see her every day almost without fail & I don t even go into the building each day. When I pick my children up she is always at the parent pick-up ensuring the kids safety. However, if you do not make the time to volunteer & step on campus it would make it rather hard to see her. I can t imagine any parent going on campus regularly missing her; she seems to ALWAYS be there. We LOVE Saddleback!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2010

I am NOT very happy with the staff at Saddelback. I had an issue with my child. I got no response at all. I could not even tell you what the principal looks like, for the principal is yet to be seen. However I do appreciate my childs teacher, who took the time to address my concerns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

My daughter loves going here. The staff is great, very professioal, and she learns so much. She always has great behavior there, never once got in trouble or had any problems with naughty students. I think that the review posted about the unattentive pricipal should not be taken seriously. Especially since it is coming from someone that cannot use proper grammer. Go Saddleback!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

I am a Grandmother who has Guardianship of three children whom I pulled from MES and placed with Saddleback Elementary. I cannot begin to tell you how much the children advanced this past year with the caring and loving teachers and staff. They are coming back!


Posted July 22, 2009

This school is fantastic. I know that someone has already said that the principal does not have anything to do with the kids but she does. Every day... she is doing everything she can do help the students - ALL the students. I am so honored and thrilled to say that I work at Saddleback. This is by far one of the best Administrations that I have worked with.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 12, 2009

I have two children who attend this school. The teachers are amazing. They are very welcoming and seem to have the childrens best interest in mind. I know that the principal did however do away with PTO and other parent involvment. It is unfortunate. There haven't really been many family acitivities bacuse of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

not very good the princapal has almost nothing to do with the children and almost nothing to do with her staff she has no idea how to run a school that is the reason i will not be letting my children go to that school next year
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 32% 42%
Hispanic 29% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 25% 5%
Black 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (520) 568-5151

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

18600 N. Porter Road
Maricopa, AZ 85239
Website: Click here
Phone: (520) 568-5100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Pima Butte
Maricopa, AZ





Maricopa Online
Maricopa, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT