Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Education Centre Charter School - Mesa

Charter | K-6 | 240 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 30, 2013

I moved my child to this school after the public school tried to have him repeat. I know my child's capabilities and knew that a repeat was not necessary. The classroom in the public school was 28 kids to one teacher. My child did not have a chance to get the proper instruction or attention needed to succeed. We decided to get a tutor, change schools and not repeat. So far this year my child is doing just fine. Not one complaint about MEC, they are great. The teacher/kid ratio us much smaller and my child loves that he is able to interact with them on a personal level. My child is a typical 6 year old. I do get the note home from time to time about his performance. What I like about MEC is that the note is just to let me know. The teachers handle any situation that come up and then send a note to me so that I am aware. We are very involved with our child's education and can not say enough good things about MEC. This school is worth a visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2012

My child attended this school for 2 years. Towards the end of our second year our child was wrongly accused of being a bully by is teacher. The assistant director of the school agreed the situation was not handled in a professional or correct way. My child was never apologized to which we felt he deserved. Instead we, his parents, were reprimanded for being upset with the way he was treated. We put our trust in the teachers and staff that our child would be nurtured and protected and taught the "Montessori way" however we were very disappointed. We had a very difficult time finishing out the year and we were treated like we had done something wrong when all we were doing was protecting our child, as any parent would do. We were also told they would be holding him back this year. He is excelling at his new school and is in fact a much happier child and has gotten all A's and B's so far. We would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

My daughter attended this school for almost three years. And every year end we got reports that she was falling behind and needs more help. But they are not able to provide any assistance in school. Only get referred to web sites for help. I paid for my child to be tutored out of school and was told by the tutor that she did not have a problem at all but in fact was ahead. This school wanted her to repeat the third grade. So we finally just took her out and placed her in a public school. This Montessori School was quite disapointing. I do not recommend them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2011

Terrible school. 4th grade teacher bullied and allowed other students to also bully children. The teacher only taught those that she liked and did not teach all students. Our child fell behind in studies because the teacher was deciding not to give lessons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

This is our first year at this school and doing Montessori. My daughter is 5 and in kindergarten (Pre K-kinder class) She absolutley loves this school! She adores her teacher and has progressed so much. I love the opportunity to learn the Montessori way and have learned alot myself. I feel her teacher could communicate better with me but she is wonderful with all the kids. Very loving and caring. Its a small campus so extracurricular activites are limited but most everyone will know your child by name! We may not attend next yr because we are moving but its still a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

I love this school have been attached since my kids were 4 and now going in the 4th grade... they have been excellent especially with my son.. with memory problems,ADHD etc... they are always communicating with me and open to suggestions from this doctors/therapists.. and my children adore their school and teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2009

My two oldest attended this school until we moved out of the area. We loved it!! I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

My two daughters started the Toddler Program this year and our family is extremely happy with the teachers, administration and, most importantly, our daughters are excited to go to school everyday! We have only been attending this school for a short amount of time but so far - so good! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

MEC is now American Montessori Society Accredited! This says it all -- the teachers and staff worked very diligently to achieve this great honor. The teachers are excellentant and they care about every student!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2008

My 3rd and 5th graders have been with MEC since kindergarten each. I love the Montessori method and the combination of social responsibility intertwined with academic instruction. Combining 1st -3rd years and 4th-6th allows each child to advance as far as they desire. There is somewhat of a difference between teacher commitment (and competency?) depending on which classroom you get into. This is true with any school I ve ever encountered, however. Both my children have benefited from attending MEC, and I m confident my wife and I made the right decision to send our kids here. The school acts as a true community should with the students and staff demonstrating they care for one another personally and academically. Overall, I am very satisfied with MEC.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

I believed in this school when I first enrolled my 6 year old child. I saw comfort in the cozy settings and individualized care. As the years have gone on, I have become sadly aware that this school's classrooms are sorely unequal. Some of the teachers are fabulous, giving their heart and soul into their children and their classrooms, others seem to lack the support and proper judgement to hold a classroom in control and even keep them grade appropriate in their lessons. I love the Montessori method, but until this school can create consistency between classrooms I would not recommend it for families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

My daughter has attended MEC North for Pre-school and Kindergarten. She thrives in the smaller classroom environment and benefits from the individual attention she receives. She is doing very well and I do not believe that she would be doing as well in a Public School environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Our daughter is entering her 3 year in the fall and has progressed very well with the help of all the dedicated staff at MEC. The have always kept us in the loop about her school activities, class room successes and challenges, you know they care! We know for a fact that this is where we want our child to learn and grow. The campus might be small, but it is mighty.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2006

This is an extremely small school, which severely limits extracurriculars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

MEC has a great drama program and really tries to meet the needs of each individual child. The PE program works well for my 5th grade son. The teachers are well trained and respond when I have a question or a concern. The office is well staffed and helpful. Most importantly, the children come first at MEC, and the students are involved in the process of thier own education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

Its an excellent school, no more said.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

My child has attended MEC since in kindergarten. He is well ahead of the other children in our area that attend the local public school. My son learns about art, music and pe every friday. he loves the educational field trips to the new art center in mesa and learning about the different cultures. I have never felt more comfortable with any teachers than the ones at MEC. I have never had any issues trying to meet with the teachers to discuss my son and his progress. The teaching staff at MEC is extremely dedicated, caring and honestly works to get the best out of each and every child. I would highly recommend
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2005

The academics are great if you have a child that does well in school. If you have a child that needs to receive extra help via special education (IEP), do not go to any charter school. It is all about funding. This school works great for my other children. I really don't like the public school atmosphere, but it's what best for my child. When he no longer needs the extra help I will move him back to this school. They have an awsome drama program, but I wish they had after school sports and the opportuntity to play instruments without extra cost for private lessons. The school generally has a high level of parent involvement. It's a totaly different atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2005

We are still new, but first impression is of a knowledgeable and very caring staff!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

Excellent preschool and kindergarten program. My daughter is so well prepared for first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 42%
Hispanic 14% 42%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2834 East Southern Avenue
Mesa, AZ 85204
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 926-8375

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT