Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Salk Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2014

This school is raising children to not learn how to deal with issues but to tattle on every little thing. I mean little. I understand bigger issues. My 7 year old has gone so down hill once he started going to this school. Learning things from other kids I can't even imagine at his age. Now he is always getting in trouble for saying and doing innapropriate things. My 6th grader calls home for everything. Your not actively writing on your paper...call home. You made a sound with your pen cap....call home. I am worn thin. They are worn thin and feel they can't do anything right. Our family, neighborhood families, and our church think they are awesome kids. Too bad the kids don't feel that way anymore. They come home saying they can't do anything right and they are losers. Not Okay! When my 6th grader would tell on his friends for something they were all doing the Principal threatened to call the Mesa Policy Department on him if he didn't tell!! To me that's bullying!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2011

Salk has been rated an A+ school this year !! And it is an A+ School ! If you have children that go to Salk and thay are having issues at school ,are they having issues at home as well? I've seen the Principal and the Staff bend over backwards to help troubled kids, But the "help" needs to begin at home Parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

I'm a grandmother who has seen my granddaughter excel and thrive in this school. The teachers have been encouraging and nudged her to her full potential. The programs for the students offer opportunities for growth on social as well as educational levels.


Posted May 25, 2010

I don't believe the majority of the population being Spanish is not the problem. I think it is a good thing for our children to be raised in a diverse environment. The issue is what the other parent said-it is all about pushing these kids through. A few years back there was a big thing about 'we have zero tolerance for bullying' that is not true-it is happening every day right under their noses and they don't want to see it. It is sad that my son has to come home every day saying that he was called this name and kicked and hit and no one is ever there to see it-when he tells he is dismissed. They cannot control what happens on their own campus or buses and that is sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2010

Awful school!!! Heavy hispanic population & class was spent half in english and the other half of the time translating in spanish. My son became bored and was getting in trouble. Who can blame him!! He went all of about a month after I pulled him out. Nobody seemed to want to take the time to help. Since, he has been in his new school everything has drastically improved!! Attitude, grades have soared outside of Salk!! The staff has such a ho hum attitude there. Pulling him out there was the best thing I ever could have done!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2008

Salk is an awesome school. You can feel the positive school climate the moment you walk on the campus. I have seen the principal go out of her way to make a difference for the students. They love her and it shows. The teachers a so loving and highly qualified. Best school my children have ever attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

I like the teachers my daughter has but I am not happy with quite a few policys. It seems to me that the 'rules' are only inforced for 'certain' students. There is too much inconsistancy in discipline to be effective in that department and too much violence on the buses
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

I am not a fan of Salk. My daughter is attending Salk. She is bored and not challenged. Our son also went to Salk and it is about pushing the kids through.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2007

The teachers get 5 stars all the way! I've never seen a more devoted group of people. Every one I have met has gone out of her way to help my child. I just cannot say thank you enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

Salk is a fabulous school. The principal is the best ever, very involved in the school, very loving, and an awesome leader. The teachers are enthusiastic and go the extra mile for the kids. The school has won several awards for their no bullying policy. It is a perfect place for children to grow and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

Salk is the best....I would never want my child to have to go to another school.Great,caring, happy teachers......make for happy,and eager to learn students..Thanks Salk....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

Excellent school and staff! Wonderful Principal and teachers! The school would be better if the parents were more involved in their childs education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

Horrible school! The principal,is not very involved in any school functions,and alot/most of the teachers are so close to retirement,that they are in that 'burned out' state of mind..The principal does not handle complaints very well. There is no parent involvement,and very little communication. Safety issues are not a concern. Too many rough students in school,and way too many students.....not enough helpers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2006

What a wonderful school! Already this year I have seen growth in my child! He is reading more than ever and had an awesome teacher. The principal is wonderful and very supportive of the staff. Thanks SALK!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2006

Not a bad school and most of the teachers seem nice. My children have made a lot of new friends and I think the atmosphere is good. The class size is fine and the teachers seem dedicated to helping even the slowest of learners. I recommend this school to all who have children in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2005

This is a really good school and the teachers are really supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

This school is horrid. Instead of trying to elevate students to a higher education, they are forced to bring the entire class down to the lowest student. Bright, intelligent students suffer. There is no real 'education' - only enough to get by on the standardized testing. It's a fluffy, party school where students are 'rewarded' with candy instead of given a basic, solid education. This is not the teachers fault - it's a basic fault with the system. The teachers are not given the means. Classroom books are in shambles and the teachers have been reduced to peace keepers and baby sitters. Children come and go so quickly in this school, transferring in and out all year long. There is no true stability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2005

This school is horrid. There are very few parents who care and are involved. The apathy runs high here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2004

I have 2 children ages 7 and 10 who attend Salk and have done so since they were in kindergarten. Salk has many very experienced teachers who are very creative in their teaching methods. One of my favorite things about Salk is how diverse the student population is; children of all ethnicities are treated respectfully and inclusively. New principal Karla Carlson has done a wonderful job. She has made/continues to make changes to the school to make the school a better place for the students, teachers and parents. I do wish that the teachers were more proactive about testing children for special learning needs (whether that be the need for advance placement/ELP or special education) I have had some resistance to my requests for this kind of testing for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2004

Salk,is an older school that needs repairs to the extior of the building including were the childen play. The students are over crowded in the classroom and some teachers have the burnt out attitude. The parents that do take a time out of the go go go family life are greatly out numbered by the parents who do not take time for there children, so spirit is lax by student body. With a high school and junior high close by you would think they would have the schools enter-act with programs to promote reading, students tutoring students, and students helping students move to the next grade level such as 6th graders paired with 7th and 8th graders for the next year and same with high school students and the junior high. The staff needs to be more alert with the surroundings of the school so are children are safe from strangers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 43%
White 41% 42%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 6% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 472-8484

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7029 E Brown Road
Mesa, AZ 85207
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT