Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sequoia Secondary School

Charter | 7-12 | 238 students

Students are individuals and are free to express talents and diversity.
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 20, 2011

The review below, that posted on August 31, 2011, is actually a review about Sequoia Academics and Arts school, not Sequoia Secondary School. Though no school is perfect I would not want to see another school take a negative review because their name is similar. Sequoia Secondary School is a NCA accredited institution and has done great things for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2011

Pulled my daughter out of the school after only one day. Students ran the school, came into and out of classes as they pleased, cursed at teachers, the English teacher spoke with a heave accent and had a poor grasp of the language, a student in trouble visiting the principal was allowed to put his feet on her desk, but when confronted it is us who just don't understand the folksy family style education. Do yourself a favor and do not enroll your student here. It is a complete and utter joke. They're not even accredited, the reason the principal Ms. Graham is cost, I'm just glad we realized it before too long.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2011

My daughter graduated top in her class from Sequoia and EXCEEDED on 2 of the AIMS tests her Junior year and the third her Senior year. She was awarded an in-state scholarship and attends ASU now. She was actively involved in the sports programs all six years she attended Sequoia. My son graduated top of his class from Sequoia and EXCEEDED on his AIMS tests also. He was actively involved with the wonderful Student Council program and some of the sports programs during his six years at Sequoia. He played football, ran track and cross country. My kids teachers were very pleased to see I was actively involved with their education. They would love to see ALL parents actively involved. They welcomed any questions and worked with me on any concerns. All the teachers and the principal, Dean of Students, etc., have an open door policy and are very helpful. I give Sequoia 4 out of 5 stars because to me 5 stars is Perfect and no school is Perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

As a parent who has had 3 kids graduate from this school. I am very proud to say they went to Sequoia charter school. The teachers here are great and have worked with my kids and have prepared them for college. All three of my kids are attending college and are doing great. The Athletic program at that school is superb, and the programs are growing every year. They are well known by every charter and public school around as being very athletic school, and preforms well in all sports. I have asked the coaches to help my son get better, and they have taken the extra time after practices to spend one on one time with him, and helped him get better. Colleges have contacted us about my son playing for them. If you want your kid to get looked at by colleges, this is the school. This school was a great asset to my kids, and helped them grow to be great leaders. I can't say enough about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

I am pulling my son out of this school. He is upset because he has friends here but he is in the 9th and getting great grades WITHOUT turning in his homework, without being able to spell or write properly. I had a meeting with teachers regarding his spelling and the response I got was "we don't grade on spelling." Oh heck no...how will my boy be able to function in the real world without spelling correctly? Out he comes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2010

If you have a child who plays sports please be very careful when considering this school. Please review all AIA and Charter schools rules before allowing your child to play for the Athletic Director at this school. The A.D. has only one real goal and that is to win games, he will ask teachers to hold pink slips until after the season, magically all his players were eligible last season even though a few managed to barely pass by the end of the year, if they passed at all. There are fights during games, favoritism towards A.D. s son. Most important this A.D. will turn on anyone who isn t giving him what he wants. He has no regard for the students or their futures, he only cares about what they can do for his teams. I am surprised he is still employed. My Son will NEVER play football at Sequoia again, I am only sorry I didn t see the type of person and organization this A.D. was running before this school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

this school is awesome my kids enjoy every day. I swear it. The peace and tranquility is something you feel once you get there the food could be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

Amazing lack of true education focus. HS junior classes where teachers allow homework to be turned in 3-5 weeks late for full credit. NO assignments/grades for entire qtr. No teacher in ASL class so students all get 100%. HS English class where students get 200 free 'attendance' points per semester. Tests and quizzes routinely worth 20-25 pnts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2007

Minimal academic focus. Lessons in areas of responsbility and accountability as a young adult are nt taught in this school. This will prove disastrous if a student wants to continue beyond HS. Students are not held accountable to turn in work in a timely manner and can do so 4-6 weeks after the original due date and still get full credit for the work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2007

Limited Academic Focus. Students not given much in the way of assignments and far fewer tests are given to provide a baseline for true academic achievement and mastery/memory of learning. Certification is not required for teachers. The kids seem to like their teachers and the teachers are more interested in being friends and buddies with the students than in really preparing them for the rigors of a College education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

I love this school! They help my son to do better testing and reading. And they worked with me cause he has ADHD. They also didn't treat him like an outcast. I never had any problems with teachers or principal.Also my son reading scores improved a great deal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2007

Great Staff. My Children's reading scores have significantly improved since being enrolled at Sequoia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

School will work if your goal is to make sure your child graduates from High School. Had problem when made efforts to contact principal as his responses were sporadic. Our daughter loved the school because she said it was easy and they often have free time at the end of classes. We have 2 children in the same grade, one in Gilbert Public Schools and one in Sequoia, which has enabled us to make direct comparison. A child headed for college may struggle in that endeavor by attending this school. They do a good job in providing a rounded school experience (similar to benefits of public/private)with dances and sports programs. Success would truly depend on the students personal motivation and what the parents goal for the child is beyond HS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

This school is definitely underperforming. We moved our child out of Public High School. We reviewed many schools and settled on Sequoia based on their stated College Preparatory, Academic Mastery and high Academic focus. What we received was far different. Few assignments, a total of 1 final exam for a 10th grader the first semester and 2 for the 2nd semester.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

After putting my kids in the Gilbert school system I realized just how good this school was and is. I ended up putting my child back in this school. At Sequoia he is treated as an individual and the teachers don't seem as burned out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2006

I believe as a student of eight years. I am happy to leave.I loved the teachers but wasn't happy on the disciplinary issues needed more help.It seemed to me that certain students got special rights. They need to work on certain subjects equally and not just two or three main ones.The harassing by students to students need to stop. The teachers there are actually really nice and will allow you to go into there class room during lunch and after school for need time. I personally love the sports area, but maybe some football would be nice.NJHS was great. I know that that experience will help me through my life.Loved Shoemaker,Bishop,& Boone greatest teachers I will ever have in the world.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 30, 2006

Teachers are very attentive and even tutor our kid during lunch and after school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

We were very disappointed in this school for academic programs and communication with the parents. We did not receive progress reports or get communication returned when we asked for information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2005

Up until this year I have been satisfied with this school. It seems that this school has changed not necessarily for the better. I question the ability of them to adequately educate my child. They do not offer many sports or extracirriculars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2005

This school must have something going for it as it is quite large. I was not impressed with teachers that seem to tear down other teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 58% 43%
White 31% 42%
Black 7% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A47%
Female 45%N/A49%
Male 55%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Sequoia Charter Schools Elementary
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Principal David Blakeley
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 649-0711

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Rock band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • College Crew
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Drama club
  • Gardening
  • Health and Fitness
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Science club
  • Travel Club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
More from this school
  • OUR VISION : "Developing Relationships, Relevant and Rigor" Sequoia Secondary is one of the oldest and largest tuition-free public, charter school serving Arizona students in grades 7-12. At Sequoia, students are treated like individuals and are free to express talents and diversity. Sequoia is highly rated for academics by the Arizona Department of Education and is accredited by the NCA. Sequoia Secondary has a free after school program and champion after school sports teams.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Sequoia Charter Schools Elementary

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1460 S. Horne
Mesa, AZ 85204
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 649-7737

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT