Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 40 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Shepherd Junior High School 3

Posted May 19, 2011
- a community member
Alumni The school was one great ones 10 years ago but now Its sad school. My brothers go there. There are fights. The teachers are pale imitation of what I remember. The rules are ridiculous. I left that school with 4.0gpa

Shepherd Junior High School 5

Posted July 11, 2010
- a community member
Shepherd Jr. High is the best school in the nation. The staff there are kind and respectful, they take the time to understand what you need to get good grades. The staff helped me when I was put in a math class that was too easy. The teachers there are funny, unfortunately the funniest of them all retired after the school year ended in 2010. The social studies teachers take time to explain history and bring things in that are from the time period or replicas. We would often watch videos about the time period and write notes about it.The math teachers are excellent role models for students everywhere and would take the time to make power point presentations to help students understand the subjects.


Shepherd Junior High School 1

Posted February 24, 2010
- a student
i am a student at shepherd and have gone there for about two years. i have a 3.9 average but that doesn't mean i enjoy this school. in fact this is a very unsatisfactory school. there are many cliques and there are at least three fights a week on school grounds. it takes the teachers at lunch at least five to eight minutes that a fight has broke out. i also find the teachers to not be helpful. they instead just expect that you already understand and don't take the time to go over subjects. another thing i don't enjoy is how it feels like a jail cell in each room because there isn't any windows.

Shepherd Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted December 01, 2009
- a student
this school is not a great experience. the teachers are rude, and most of the staff is disrespectful. the secretary is extremely disrespectful, and has an attitude. it does not have windows, and there are cameras all over the school now, providing absolutely no privacy. i've been at this school since 7th grade and i am now in 9th grade, and every second at this school was miserable. i do not recommend this school.

Shepherd Junior High School 4

Posted August 12, 2009
- a student
I attend Shepherd Junior High and am now a freshman. The school has it's ups and downs, like any other. I am on Spiritline, was Student Council President, involved in Advanced Dance, and am in accelerated classes. I have had some very good teachers, but compared to a friend from Stapely, she has a much better situation with teachers, but not with the students. Shepherd is full of some very good kids with good work ethic, and the staff is constantly trying to improve the school. With budget cuts, the school is doing the best they can. With that being said, Shepherd is one of the best schools in Mesa.


Shepherd Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted June 10, 2009
- a parent
This school is horrible. It claims to be a 'Great School', however, moving from out of state to this school was a bad idea. There are no windows so my son, who attended 7th grade said it felt like a dungeon. As a parent, there was lack of communication between parent, teacher, student. My son was not doing well academically, and there was no where to turn for help for him. I was highly disappointed in this school and it's honestly a disgrace to our school system. Unfortunately, other parents who haven't experienced a true 'Great School' have no idea that this school needs serious help!

Shepherd Junior High School 2

Posted April 07, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Shepherd Junior High School 4

Posted January 31, 2009
- a parent
I would have to say overall; Shepherd is a wonderful school. There are so many caring, well educated teachers that love to share their knowledge with our children. We have experienced some problems due to ignorance and discrimination on the part of a few teachers and the leadership of the school. Unfortunately parents often believe the leadership of the school is taking care of the problem, are too busy to follow up, or sit back and hope things will be resolved. Many of the more serious problems are swept under the rug and never brought to the attention of the district. However, compared to oher schools in the area, Shepherd rocks.


Shepherd Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted January 28, 2009
- a student
i really do like this school, i have good grades,lots of amazing friends, and i like all my teachers. A really great thing about it is the dance groups, i am an 8th grade girl and dance is my life... school at shepherd is awsum really fun and i love it here. dont want to leave but thats ok. its my little bro's turn shepherd is an amazing school.

Shepherd Junior High School 5

Posted October 16, 2008
- a parent
My children are attending this school and they both have high GPAs. They adore Shepherd because of the understanding teachers and the nice staff. My kids have never felt threatened or scared at Shepherd. This is the best middle school in Mesa.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shepherd Junior High School
1407 North Alta Mesa Dr, Mesa, AZ  85205
(480) 472-1800
Last modified Shepherd Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Shepherd Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews.