Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
43 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Shepherd Junior High School 1

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
This school has a problem with over discipline, they just don't want to deal with anything and they allow children to make false accusations another. Then punish the child due to what the children say. This is not right, and sets the children up to be able to get someone in trouble even if they didn't do anything. The punishments given at this school are extremely ridiculous for such said petty disturbances. Things I would not discipline a child for. I've been so shocked at the absence of proffessionalism here that I'm very glad my child is now at a great school that is for the children and she's never done better!

Shepherd Junior High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
They seem to be there for just a paycheck! Very unprofessional some of the teachers here, and it's shocking they are allowed to still be teaching. Because the demeanor they have is that of someone who very much dislikes children!


Shepherd Junior High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
No! Because they let the children report instances that get other children in trouble when they didn't happen. This happens so often, I've spoken with several parents whose children don't go here anymore because of this problem. They pick and choose favorites here and don't hide it.

Shepherd Junior High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 26, 2016
- a parent
Very disturbing the absence of professionalism here, and the need to punish a child over spilled milk!

Shepherd Junior High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 03, 2015
- a community member
My daughter goes to this school and we both love it. The teachers show that they care and are very knowledgeable in what they teach.


Shepherd Junior High School 3

Posted May 19, 2011
- a community member
Alumni The school was one great ones 10 years ago but now Its sad school. My brothers go there. There are fights. The teachers are pale imitation of what I remember. The rules are ridiculous. I left that school with 4.0gpa

Shepherd Junior High School 5

Posted July 11, 2010
- a community member
Shepherd Jr. High is the best school in the nation. The staff there are kind and respectful, they take the time to understand what you need to get good grades. The staff helped me when I was put in a math class that was too easy. The teachers there are funny, unfortunately the funniest of them all retired after the school year ended in 2010. The social studies teachers take time to explain history and bring things in that are from the time period or replicas. We would often watch videos about the time period and write notes about it.The math teachers are excellent role models for students everywhere and would take the time to make power point presentations to help students understand the subjects.

Shepherd Junior High School 1

Posted February 24, 2010
- a student
i am a student at shepherd and have gone there for about two years. i have a 3.9 average but that doesn't mean i enjoy this school. in fact this is a very unsatisfactory school. there are many cliques and there are at least three fights a week on school grounds. it takes the teachers at lunch at least five to eight minutes that a fight has broke out. i also find the teachers to not be helpful. they instead just expect that you already understand and don't take the time to go over subjects. another thing i don't enjoy is how it feels like a jail cell in each room because there isn't any windows.


Shepherd Junior High School
no rating

Posted December 01, 2009
- a student
this school is not a great experience. the teachers are rude, and most of the staff is disrespectful. the secretary is extremely disrespectful, and has an attitude. it does not have windows, and there are cameras all over the school now, providing absolutely no privacy. i've been at this school since 7th grade and i am now in 9th grade, and every second at this school was miserable. i do not recommend this school.

Shepherd Junior High School 4

Posted August 12, 2009
- a student
I attend Shepherd Junior High and am now a freshman. The school has it's ups and downs, like any other. I am on Spiritline, was Student Council President, involved in Advanced Dance, and am in accelerated classes. I have had some very good teachers, but compared to a friend from Stapely, she has a much better situation with teachers, but not with the students. Shepherd is full of some very good kids with good work ethic, and the staff is constantly trying to improve the school. With budget cuts, the school is doing the best they can. With that being said, Shepherd is one of the best schools in Mesa.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Shepherd Junior High School
1407 North Alta Mesa Dr, Mesa, AZ  85205
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (480) 472-1800
Last modified Shepherd Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top