Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sousa Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

My daughter has been at Sousa since Kindergarden. She is now in 2nd grade. I have had nothing but positive experiences there. The teachers are fantastic and the principal is wonderful. The teacher keeps me so informed and my daughter is excelling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2014

John Philip Sousa Elementary School has provided excellent education for both of my daughters and soon for my son. Everyone keeps me informed when their may be a slight problem we can work on at home to better any curriculum concerns my daughters' may have. I attended Sousa when I was a child and I enjoyed every moment of it, this is why I chose John Philip Sousa for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

Please don't believe the drivel of the previous review. My child has been at Sousa for 4 years and we are specifically staying in our home until he's done there because they are that good! My child who has ADHD is thriving under their care and watch. Unfortunately like at all shools, some parents think they are above the rules and protocol that comes with running a safe and learned enviroment. These people ignore instructions for picking up and dropping off children, chatting on cell phones while driving through the parking lot in their Mercedes, endangering everyone else with no regard for months before finally being confronted and than they have an axe to grind. I stand by Sousa and the Principal 150%. All public schools should be this awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

I am sad to report the experience at Sousa has been a horrible one for myself and my child. It is run like a penitentiary and and it has a very toxic environment. As a place of learning with young children having a warm and inviting climate would be appropriate but this is not the case at Sousa elementary. I warn parents that staff yell at the children and are extremely confrontational to parents. Be sure not to voice your concerns because retaliatory actions will take place. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

Our choices were Sousa, Ben Franklin-power or Zahara's...We chose Sousa! And we have enjoyed it very much! The school is very organized and aware of whats going on. The teachers are some of the best! They definitely care for the students they get each year! The programs are great and the quarterly family activities are super fun! The school is clean and organized. We are so happy with our choice! Our children love school because of Sousa! * Side note, all the negative talk about the principle in the reviews from 2004, you can disregard! They have changed the principle since then and she is organized and kind, and cares about her school and students!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

Sousa has great teachers that care about the kids. My kids have always had the full support of the staff as they learn and grow. Plus, there are many opportunities for parent involvement. I'm very happy we live in the Sousa neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

this school is very good the teachers and staff are also very helpful and kind
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2008

My daughter has attended Sousa for the past 2 years (1st & 2nd grade) and I am THOROUGHLY impressed with the staff. All the teachers are incredible and principal is very hands on and cares deeply about each of her students! We came from supposedly one of the best schools in the Madison School District in Phx and this school outranks any of them BY FAR!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2008

Both my boys attended this school. I was impressed with all the teachers and volunteers they had through the years. My boys did wonderful in their academics and I can say the teachers really seemed like they cared and loved their jobs. They had great family activities and my boys enjoyed their years there. Awesome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2008

For the past 10 years our family has been at Sousa Elementry.Now we have our grandchildren attending.This scool is a great and all the Teachers and aids give 100%.I have many friends in the valley that are disapointed in there schools but our SOUSA is special.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

We have been here for 6 years also with my third child in kindergarden now. I love the teachers they are so welcoming of parents and easy to talk to. I truly feel their best interest is for my children. The principal is new this year, and my kids are adjusting nicely to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2007

We've been going to this school for 6 yrs. through 3 kids. We all love their teachers. They talk to you like friends. Wonderful staff. Couldn't ask for a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2006

This is a great school. My oldest has been here since K and he is in fourth grade now. My younger two go here too. The teachers are wonderful and the principal is the best. If you have a problem they will help solve it. Not a problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2006

My kids have been going to Sousa since August of 2003, and we love the school, principal, and teachers. We could not ask for a better school! I have a 6thgrader,4thgrader, and 1stgrader this year, there teachers all all great and have been every past year. Next year my daughter will be at Smith jr.high, and I can only pray that the teachers are just as great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2006

Fantastic school with incredible teachers. Lots of parent involvement, great PTO, great ELP program for gifted students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2005

This school is awesome.the academics are adequate, sometimes above the normal grade level. In other words, learning above and beyond. They have music, art and sports.PE is great.I think they could use more after school activities such as more sports, cheer, etc. The parent involvement is terrific. Everyone is welcomed here and the staff is truely caring for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

I realy like this school because it unded stand my child and works with her for her to learn at her own pace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

i like this school alot my daughter is in mrs. prowetts kindergarden class and she has learned so much. she gives each child time to learn at there own pace. and i am so glad for that.they are always safe and thinking of my childs best intrest at hand.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2004

A good school that has good parent involvement. I would like to see more after school programs to help children in academic need.She spends way to much time on this issue something that was fine before her arival.She is obsessed like the captain in the movie mr. Roberts.The teachers are great for the most but some do not belong in the grades that this principal has assigned them this year.Some were movedto different grades and don't know subjects that they are teaching.There has been considerable improvement in the music and arts department.Gym remains great and may have improved somewhat.The staff is great as are the teachers helpers.This school has had a great patriotic theme that has been some what diminished this past year. The head of student council does a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2004

My 2 children have attended Sousa since Kindergarden. The teachers have been wonderful and full of help and encouragement. We have been through 2 principles and both were very good with our kids. Last year they had an after school homework hour that really worked well for my girls. The parent involvement has been a real treat. I tell everyone what a good school it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 42%
Hispanic 21% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 472-8888

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

616 N Mountain
Mesa, AZ 85207
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

East Valley Christian Academ
Apache Junction, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT