Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westwood High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2005

I feel this school had a very positive enviroment for my child. The teachers where very concientiuos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

I attended Westwood High School for the full three years of high school and enjoyed the majority of it. 90% of the teachers were helpful, knowledgable and friendly. There are a variety of classes to choose from and all are a great deal of fun as well as educational. There were some security problems every once in awhile, but not nearly to the standards that most people think. I never felt endangered once. Westwood is a great school and I'd recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 13, 2005

My son attened Westwood high for 1 year. he he hated it. they have poor security, horrible teachers, and one of the worst decipline plans ever! there is no parent involvment what so ever, it isin a bad neighborhood as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2005

My son attened Westwood high for 1 year. he he hated it. they have poor security, horrible teachers, and one of the worst decipline plans ever! there is no parent involvment what so ever, it isin a bad neighborhood as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2004

Westwood is a great school due to the way the teachers are dedicated to helping you through where ever you want to go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 5, 2004

I went to Westwood and it was a farily enjoyable experience. The only thing that I didn't like was that I didn't feel safe at all times. I also didn't like that the discipline wasn't really enforced throughout the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 9, 2003

We live within Mountain View boundaries, but my daughter opted to go to Westwood. Her teachers and coaches were all top notch, and she received an excellent education at Westwood. I agree that Westwood is often overlooked by the district and more than deserves equal share of classroom renovations, equipment, programs and prais.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2003

As a former student, I found that Westwood is a great school to go to. I found that the Drafting teacher was great. Threw him I found out abou the Honeywell VICA Internship. Could you believe it that I almost went to Dobson, because I heard about Westwood's alleged reputation. I went to Westwood and found it to be an enjoyable 3 years. Westwood needs to be given more credit to it's dealings with the biggest diverse population of high school student's in Mesa. Westwood is overlooked by Mtn. View, Dobson and Red Mtn. I know that if I had to live anywhere in Mesa's district to send my kids to high school, I would pick Westwood.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 27, 2003

As a former Westwood teacher and current parent of a Westwood student, I find that Westwood is often being written off by the district and other schools. It deserves better. All the good teachers and administrators can't help turn it around if the district doesn't change its attitude. It is too easy to say that the changing demographics make Westwood unworthy of a little special attention.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

740 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

743 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

734 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 43%
White 32% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 5%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (480) 472-4509

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

945 W 8th Street
Mesa, AZ 85201
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT