Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westwood High School

Public | 9-12 | 2927 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 28, 2014

This is the worse High School. The bullying is out of control and the staff that should do something about it just wants to ignore it!!!! Kids dress horribly and there is not a dress code that is enforced, no one needs to see butt cheeks in school!! The teachers seem oblivious to what students are doing, as they snap chat constantly and instagram. This school is out of control!! We took our child out of the school and should have done that so much sooner. Our child is thriving in their new school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2014

Lots of room for improvement at this Mesa High School. It is obviously not about what you know, but who you know. It is truly a shame as I have watched this school continue to go downhill in the past 20 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

Westwood High School is a diverse, endearing school in which students can full engage themselves in getting a proper education. It has many AP classes for honors students and is the only school in the entire state of Arizona to have the entire IB Programme for those truly wishing to extend their education. The teachers and staff really show their compassion for their jobs on a daily basis, and it is a privilege to attend such a school.


Posted May 31, 2013

Dr. Richard just delivered what was probably the BEST high school graduation speech that I have ever heard in my years as a teacher. I know that there are a few entrenched "veteran" teachers on staff who did not care for him. In my opinion it is because, without really saying it, he called them out and challenged them to do more and to have a higher standard and expectation. Some teachers at Westwood have an attitude that they are doing the school a favor by "choosing to teach at Westwood" to "help these poor kids." It is that type of martyrdom mindset that becomes self defeating after a while and before long these good veteran teachers focus so much on their own created sense of self righteousness and "sacrifice" that they miss the forest through the trees and don't notice all of the bigger picture things that need to happen to improve the school as a whole. Dr. Richard pointed that out to many of these people. YES, at times, he could come across as arrogant and judgmental, and was too direct with the district probably when he should have been more political and strategic; but he LOVED kids and was totally passionate about making Westwood better, and, in many ways he did.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 9, 2013

Hands down, without question, Dr. Richard is the BEST high school principal in our district. I have worked in this district for over 20 years. For the past 10 yrs I watched as our school became complacent with low expectations. Some of the veteran staff, long time staff were guardians of this culture. Dr. Richard issued a challenge, to expect more, from everyone and he has also provided us with the support and motivation that we need. Naturally, there will always be a few people who do not enjoy being asked to get out of their comfort zone, but the vast majority of people are very pleased with the very positive changes and leadership of our new principal. I know many other teachers in the district who would like to join the Westwood staff next year. Because of Dr. Richard, our school is, "On the Rise!"
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 20, 2013

Our new Principal, Dr. RIchard, has has such a positive impact on the kids and teachers at our school with his leadership. I am speaking as an 18 year veteran teacher and I can say that he is the BEST, kids first, principal that I have ever worked with!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 19, 2013

In my opinion, the leadership of new principal, Dr. Tim Richard is exactly what the school needed! He has inspired students to do better and he has been a motivating cheerleader for the kids and the community. It was too bad the the district tried to throw him under the bus when the media attack dogs came after him, but the guy is a die hard and handled the issue with such class. The students and community rallied to support him. He is a great leader!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2012

Dr. Richard is the best principal that we hace ever had! I have been at 3 of the Mesa high schools, and wish that I could have had a principal that was as passionate about school and success as Dr. Richard! If Mesa is listening, they need to get principals like him!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 8, 2012

I am glad Dr, Richard is our new Principal, he is always around and available to the students . I am graduating this year and this year is much better than the past 3 because of the good changes he made.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2010

My 5th child is now attending Westwood. We had him signed up to go at another school, then decided to give Westwood a try. He came home the first day of school the happiest kid on earth, and has been that way ever since. I have attended the open house each year and met the teachers. I am always astounded by the quality. I can't believe that we have teachers like Dr. Woods, Ms. Magnusson, Ms. Nuestro, Mrs. Murphy, etc. I could go on and on. The administration is very responsive. The WW production of "Les Miserables" last year was first rate with a live orchestra. Great sports teams. Wonderful neighborhood. What more could you ask?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

I graduated from westwood, so did my husband, and two children, with my youngest graduating just this year. Westwood has been a wonderful experience for our family. Sure there are drugs, gangs, and other problems but those problems exist at every school in the country. My kids stayed involved in school activities and chose good friends and had absolutely no problems. The teachers and administration were great. My family loves wertwood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2010

Westwood has a lot of drugs, sex, and gang activity. My cousin ended up switching schools because it was just not a good environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2010

this is not a good school.....at all. many of the kids have so much pride in being a warrior, but education isn't stressed as much as it should be, most of the teachers don't really care, and the classes aren't so great. overall i'd have to give westwood two stars.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2010

Westwood is a wonderful school. Most people always give the school labels such as 'ghetto' but in reality it is not. It is just like life. In life, there isn't going to be a 90% demographic of white people like in other school in the same district. Not every teenager has a car. Kids do come from the mid to lower class. However, this is a wonderful thing. Out of this environment comes kids who are accepting of cultures and are open-minded to new ideas and people. The IB program at Westwood is outstanding and will offer a much better education than the normal AP route at other schools. When choosing a school in the MPS area, Westwood is the best choice for any child.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

Westwood is the greatest school I have ever been to. Granted it's not like Mountain View or Hamilton but it's better because it teaches us diversity and how to work with different people. The teaching staff is excellent and all my teacher are willing a ready to help me learn no matter the time or place
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2009

I love this school. It shows me the real world. How everyone is different and we should respect them. Education here is fabulous.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2008

Excellent teachers- poor students. Bad sports and music programs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 18, 2006

My children have attended Westwood for all three years of high school. It has been a great experience for them - wonderful opportunties, programs and the teaching staff for the most part is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2006

Recently, I graduated from Westwood High School. Just like every person in the world I had hard times and easy times during high school, but there were always teachers, administrators, or even the principal, ready to help and guide the learning process. Westwood has an encouraging challenging enviroment, and many fields in which one can shine! I love sports, art and music, and I was able to carry out classes in all three areas, with outstanding teachers. I highly reccomend this school upon the understanding that here, at Westwood High School, I develloped, expressed, and found myself.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 27, 2006

Westwood High School is by far one of the best schools ever; from the great teachers & faculty who are involved and care about students, to the coaches and sports administrators, to the principal's office. This school embraces diversity and showcases all the beautiful cultures of it's students!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

740 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

743 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

734 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 43%
White 32% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 5%
Black 7% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (480) 472-4509

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Nurse(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

945 W 8th Street
Mesa, AZ 85201
Website: Click here

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT