Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Whitman Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 665 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2011

my kid is being attending this school since pre-k he is on 2nd grade now ;excellent academic programs besides the parent envolment programs and sports activities my son just loves the school and he has amazing grades that makes me really proud of him and thank the teachers for the effort and quality of teaching, here it is imposible not learn even parents like me are learning with their childs. Best school ever. totaly worth it 5 stars!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2011

Most horrible school you can send your child to! I went there for 4th grade through 6th grade. Some of the teachers were nice, but thats not the point. The point is that the standards are horrible. When i went to jr. high i was a little far behind then most of the kids. When I told the teacher that I didn't understand, they just told me that I'll figure it out or "your not trying hard enough". I had horrible grades. I didn't think I would EVER pass in any of the class. The school I went to previously, had sooo much better standards and I understood soooo much more! I wished I could have stayed at my previous school. During the Band and Orchestra concerts, the principal has to be given flowers and told thank you and stuff like that. I didn't understand. What does she got to do with the Band and Orchestra. The principal is just completely a bad principal. I didn't like the standards with this school... they're not very good.. I never really got to learn cursive through the school. I would have learned if I NEVER went to the school.


Posted May 4, 2010

Best school to provide so much curriculmn & instruction not just to their students but to parents for parent involvemnt plus has brought back sports activities for students to be involved & get a good workout to stay in shape & control some of the obesity in the schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

I had my oldest son @ Whittman for K and then again for the beginning of 1st and his younger bro. for the beg of his K year...After having to switch schools due to family changes my kids continued to beg to go back to Whittman...After experiencing a school in a mid to upperclass economic area in comparison with whittman I believe the dedication and comittment to the students excells at whittman...My boys will be returning to whittman this school year...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

I was fortunate enough to be able to do some student teaching at this school. Mrs. Flores, a first grade teacher, is a fantastic teacher. Her students are achieve because of her dedication, commitment, and caring. The staff works well together and really are a team. The principal is supportive and has high standards for her school. The teachers and the students easily meet these high standards. A great place to send your child to school.


Posted August 17, 2005

I love sending my 3 children to this school. This school loves to have parents involve in all the activities and academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

Both of my children have attended Whitman and I am completely pleased with their academic progress. The teachers are excellent! The principal, Andrea Erickson, is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

Whitman Elementart School provides an excellent academic education with a diverse and supportive learning environment. The teachers and the principal are wonderful. The school believes in literacy and emphasizes daily reading intervention sessions. They support the children and believe education is important to the success of each child. We enjoy Whitman!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2005

Wonderful school! The principal and teachers really care and believe in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2003

At the current time I have two children attending Whitman School. They love going to Whitman and as a parent I am always informed about my children's progress. Whitman School encourages the parents to take active roles in their child's education. And most important I always feel welcomed at my children's schools.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 52% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 24% 5%
White 14% 42%
Black 7% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 472-5058

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1829 N Grand
Mesa, AZ 85201
Website: Click here

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT