Students enrolled 114
School leader D. Therese Kestner
Preschool capacity 49
Before school Yes
After school Yes

Contact this school

1230 North Gilbert Road
Mesa, AZ 85203

School website
(480) 890-1580
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Montessori International School address.

5 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school

January 02, 2014
My husband and I could not have asked for a better school for my kids to prepare them for life! My daughter started in the Toddler House at 2 and 1/2 and she is now 4 and doing amazing things for her age. She is very self-reliant and has a self-confidence that most adults do not have. These are skills that will last through-out her lifetime and we are very grateful to MIS for that! The teachers and staff are amazing and I have referred many people to the school and no one has been disappointed. Thanks to MIS for all they do for our kids!

- submitted by a parent
September 24, 2012
Excellent school. As a parent, I have experienced both the Primary and Elementary Programs. The education is top-notch! I had my oldest independently tested last year as a 2nd grader. My child's results exceeded 3rd grade standards in the local public schools. The teachers have always been available for any questions/concerns. My youngest is in K this year and I am amazed at level of knowledge after only a year at MIS. The school is active and there were many opportunities for us to become involved. As a previous reviewer mentioned, if you call the office someone may not answer the phone, but calls and emails are returned timely. Communication from the office is great. Calendars of events are handed out multiple times during the year and are also available on the website. Newsletters are emailed monthly which give details about special projects the children are working on and also remind us of upcoming events. Reminders are also posted on the dry erase boards next to the classrooms that are visible from our vehicles as we drop-off/pick-up. In addition, each child has a folder that we are responsible for checking which is just another way the office sends home information.

- submitted by a parent
September 24, 2012
Amazing, brilliant, compassionate, excelling, and caring are just few words to describe Montessori International School. I have two children at MIS and the experience has been life changing for my children. They are in 7th grade and first grade year. The program stimulates each child and develops a learning plan unique for each child to achieve or surpass their educational goals. There are plenty of activities put on by the school and the VIP moms. Parent involvement is always welcomed. The teachers and staff are wonderful, hard working and truly care about each and every student. MIS is the best gift a parent could give their child. I just wish they had a high school. Thank you MIS for everything you do for our kids!!

- submitted by a parent
August 30, 2012
I don't know what has happened. This use to be a wonderful school with great teachers. Now it seems that there is a difference between the teachers and the quality of the education they get. The day care rates went up from a reasonable $5 an hour to a ridiculous $10 an hour! If your child needs to stay till 5:30PM you will have to pay $25! Now times that by two kids. It can add up. You use to get a person answering the phone when you called now you can't get an answer right away. If you ever observed the classrooms, there is a noticeable difference. One appears to have normal activity and the other one is eerily quieter. Only some kids get to move on to the elementary level early while others stay for longer periods at the primary level. One of my kids had a different teacher every year for the past 3 years. I love the premise of Montessori but I am not sure MIS has it together right now.

- submitted by a parent
June 15, 2012
I pulled my child from the program. AMI Montessori is a gift for your child-so is the quality of the environment and for the cost I have expectations. The office staff is nearly always unavailable, there was NO parent-office contact about events or activities, calendar dates were continually changing, the outdoor environment is run -down, the staff is knowlegable-not punctual and I felt like I paid my tuition, brought snack when I was supposed to and that was it. Never an invitation to be involved in my child's experience. Unfortunate because this used to be a very solid program. I would not recommend it- keep looking, there are AMI programs where you as a parent can be involved out-side of the classroom.

- submitted by a parent
February 13, 2012
This school isthe best gift you can give your child. They will have a true love of learning. Not only will they excel in the class but in life. Everyone that is expsoed to a child from this school imediatle sees a difference. The staff is wonderful. I always feel that my daughter is safe and well taken care of. They take a real interest in in seeing the childer succeed

- submitted by a parent
April 06, 2011
This is a wonderful school. My daughter started in the Toddler House at 14 months. As a working mom, it is very tough to leave your youngest child with anyone for a full day. The toddler program is so amazing and I believe the best possible care option next to having my child with me. I recommend anyone needing great care for their toddler to see this school. My son started at MIS in the summer school before 1st grade. I am consistently impressed by the experience of the teachers, the level at which these kids learn academics and how to be good citizens. I give this school 5 stars for their experience, love for children, creativity and environment. I'm so glad I found this school for my kids!

- submitted by a parent
May 03, 2010
MIS excells at preparing children of all personalities and abilities to be succesful, both academically and personally. As the parent of three distinctly different children, they have all received the guidance needed to succeed. My oldest child would have been held back in school and additionally been forced to suffer painful emotional teasing is now a well-adjusted teenager who has been accepted into the International Baccalaurette program at Westhood. My youngest child needs and is getting very personal attention to overcome emotional self-control issues, while exhibiting excellent academic skills. He is another example of a child that would have been left behind that is now excelling. My middle child, while she would have excelled academically in either environment, is here surrounded with positive values that reinforce what is learned at home and at church. For those that don't feel comfortable home schooling, this is the best!

- submitted by a parent
no rating April 22, 2010
Difficult economic make for difficult personal decisions. In recent years, we have had to carefully consider and reevaluate our priorities as a family. The best 'investment' we keep making is towards our son's future through his education and development at MIS. Each day my husband and I drive an extra 50 miles just so our son can continue to attend school there. We pass many other good schools on the daily commute, yet we remain convinced that the best school for Matthew is MIS. We know that at MIS he is getting the education, direction, and self-confidence that he will need to become a successful and happy person, independent of us as his parents. The personal attention given to each of the students by their teachers in the elementary classroom allow the children to excel both academically and socially. Lessons are tailored to the individual needs of each child. Our son has not only made huge academic strides while at MIS, but has also learned the importance of expressing himself politely, with kindness and caring. At MIS, it truly is 'all about' helping the students.

- submitted by a parent
April 22, 2010
MIS encourages children to be independent individual and love learning.The students want to learn,my children want to go to school and do their home work! They are proud of their achievements. In MIS the children come first the principal knows all the children by name. My children are doing work 2 grades above their equivalent public school grades .(Especially in math.) But most of all it is a safe happy environment for children to grow and developed with in. Observe the school and see for yourself.

- submitted by a parent
no rating April 13, 2010
Nothing short of stellar! My child has attended MIS from 2.5 years of age to 10 years old current of posting. Montessori education is so much more than Reading, Writing, & Arithmetic. Last years Stanford exams, 1st empirical data that I had on my child in 3rd grade and 9 years old then, blew me away. I know my child is bright, but I had no idea how smart/bright. Check out the following scores: Prewriting, the Grade Equivalent PHS is Post High School! Using Information, 9th month of the 12th grade. Both Vocabulary and Science, 5th month of the 9th grade. 7th & many 8th grade scores. 15 Subject areas all over 90 percentile. 2 in the 80's and 1 of those 2 was 89%. I was later told by parents of older children attending MIS, (so their kids have taken more Stanford exams) that those type scores are not unusual, all the children attending consistently score similar to this or better. That's just the empirical data, the teachers are awesome and care about the children, treating each one as an individual, but collectively WE are all one Montessori Family - The Teachers, The Parents, & of course The Children. This write up barely even begins to touch the iceberg.

- submitted by a parent
no rating April 01, 2010
This school is the East Valley's Best Kept Secret! Do not choose another Montessori school until you have seen this one! AMI certification makes this a true Montessori school. The hands on learning approach is incredible. The nurturing environment fosters independent thinking, practical life skills, and top notch academics. My youngest started at the Toddler House, and is now in Primary. At the age of 3, she knew all of the continents, in Spanish and English. She was also learning French. The teachers here are so passionate about our children and share a low staff turnover. My oldest daughter started in Primary and is now in her second year of elementary. Her math, spelling and reading are years ahead of her peers. Most impressive is her maturity, vocabulary and logical thinking. We will continue at MIS through 8th grade.

- submitted by a parent
March 28, 2010
My daughter goes to the toddler house and continually amazes us with what she has learned at the school. My son has Ms. Bindu as his teacher and he is really enjoying and gaining his independence at this school. We are glad we chose to bring our kids here.

- submitted by a parent
no rating July 12, 2009
We found a gem of school when we started at the toddler house four years ago. With the knowledgeable staff, outstanding curriculum, and well rounded program we have a child that is conscience of others, gracious, courteous and at an academic level far exceeding her age. There is discipline, organization and structure in every lesson and/or activity. Our daughter is exposed to art, various cultures and already (before first grade) studied Spanish, Sign-Language and now French. It is a small community of teachers, parents and students that are respective of one another. We made the decision to stay for elementary school after visiting public, charter and other private schools as nothing compared to MIS.

- submitted by a parent
April 09, 2008
My 5 year old son has been going to this school since he turned 3. He was having a difficult time at his previous school and I was not sure how to help him. I checked out MIS and was shocked to see how the children behaved. They were all so respectful of each other and were really enjoying learning. I am so glad we found MIS. My son's teacher Mrs. Bindu is amazing. I plan on taking my daughter there when she gets a little older.

- submitted by a parent
no rating December 16, 2007
This school is amazing! My four year old son is reading and we've only been here a few months. He is also coming home telling me where countries like Zimbabwe are! The staff is excellend and the learning that happens there is unbelievable. I only wish we could afford it for both our kids next year.

- submitted by a parent
April 14, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
April 02, 2007
Our three children (now 5, 7, and 10) have attended this school for the past three years. We have had a very positive experience, enjoying the varied talents and gifts of all of the superbly qualified, caring teachers. The principal and founder of the school, Ms. Terese, is a brilliant, helpful leader. Each child is respected and given room to challenge himself or herself. The self-directed student especially thrives in this environment with its interesting range of curriculum options. Love the international emphasis, and the Mexican, Asian and African festivals that have been offered during the past three years.

- submitted by a parent
January 08, 2007
Both of my children have attended this school. My daughter had Mrs. Schimpff and my son has Mrs. Foster. Spectacular teachers and staff!! Even 3 years later my daughter still talks about Mrs. Schimpff. Very focused on working individually with each child while also fostering independence. The lesson plans expose the children to all sorts of subjects beyond the normal 'pre school' curriculum. Music is a large part of the experience.

- submitted by a parent
December 07, 2006
Love the staff and the school. I have had my child at this school for 2 years now and love her teacher Mrs. Schimpff -- she is very professional and really knows my child -- keeps her motivated and interested in school and learning.

- submitted by a parent
June 12, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
April 18, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
April 01, 2006
Great school and caring staff.

- submitted by a parent
May 11, 2005
great faculty and staff. a curriculum that focuses on the child and teaches independance. It doesn't get much better than here.

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: May 21, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Montessori International School
1230 North Gilbert Road, Mesa, AZ  85203
(480) 890-1580
Last modified Montessori International School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Montessori International School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top