Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Self Development Charter School

Charter | K-8

 
 

Living in Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 14 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

78 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 22, 2014

There is a reason this school has been ranked the top school in Mesa and the #2 school in the entire state of Arizona! Our kids were advanced when they started here and this school challenged them enough to excel beyond their comfort zone and they love it! A+++ for the teachers and administrators at Self Development Charter School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2014

Self Development Charter School and Preschool are incredible schools that offer a top notch education. Both schools afforded me a stellar education for the thirteen years I attended. I am currently in my junior year of high school and receiving offers from schools such as Yale and Princeton as well as PAC-12 schools. I can attribute much of my success to the strong foundation I was given by SDCS in math, reading, writing, science and other enrichment courses. With the support of a great principal and caring teachers, I was able to achieve great success in and out of the classroom. At this time, I would like to thank Self Development schools for instilling valuable knowledge and helping me to be a life long learner.


Posted May 10, 2014

I would like to take the time to say what a wonderful experience my son has had with Ms. Rachel's enrichment. He is always excited to come home and share what she has gone over. She takes the time to make a connection with each of the students so they are engaged and learning. Thank you Ms. Rachel for adding excitement to his learning and making a personal connection with him!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised to hear that Self Development Charter School was in the top 3 middle schools in Arizona. My daughter has been attending since Kindergarten and has been very fortunate to continue her education through middle school. My daughter is taking such courses as Algebra I, High School Literature, and has the opportunity to earn High School Credit next year for Biology and Chemistry. After I think about it I'm not surprised at all that this is one of the top schools in Arizona, with a principal that is so involved with her students and overseeing the progress of her students on a weekly basis. We are very blessed to have found Self Development Charter school for my daughters education. I don't think I can find another school with such caring staff and a principal who knows and cares for each and every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

I am so happy to have found a school that goes above and beyond to help their students in any way possible. My son has struggled at times and the school has gone out of their way to work with him and us to ensure he is successful. The principal has personally worked with my son and the other staff members to ensure he has a positive experience. The school is not focused on discipline. Self Development is focused on helping their students learn and be successful in all endeavors. Many schools say they are child centered, but I do not believe it would be possible to find a more child centered school than Self Development.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

We had my daughter in a well rated public school and they were not challenging her enough. We decided to move her to SDCS and WOW! There is no comparison! She is in love with school and really looks forward to every day. She has been there for over a year now and has excelled in all subjects! I can not say enough about how great the teachers at this school are. Mrs.Steiner is one of the most dedicated, kind, professional teachers I have met. She really challenges her students to work hard, be respectful, and to have fun! For anyone looking for a well rounded school that offers both a high academic standard as well a variety of extra curricular activities this is the one for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2013

We feel very, very fortunate to have a school of this caliber so close to home. The caveat as far as success here is that parents MUST be involved at home in the child's academic progress. The curriculum, while aggressive and challenging, is certainly not impossible. With active support at home to encourage the child's education, it is a fantastic combination with what the school has to offer. A previous review states that this school is "about learning, not about drama" -- I could not agree more!! (And, isn't that the way it should be?)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

I am a "graduated" student of SDCS, currently enrolled in the IB Programme at Westwood High (I'm in 10th grade). I can honestly say this school helped me understand and admire why learning is so important. I feel this is a great environment for children to learn in, and I have used the tools I learned here throughout my educational career thus far. I am proud to say I have a 4.7 GPA and university with scholarships is an option for me. SDCS really does guide their students in the right direction. If this school is still around when I have children one day, I will most definitely consider sending them here.


Posted June 24, 2013

I am so excited to hear about the programs Self Development is implementing during the coming year. The junior high math program allows my children to grow to their full potential with no limits to how high they go. The school also has plans in the works to offer AP courses including Biology. As well as allowing the students to participate in various ACT examinations. I am so glad to have found a school that is dedicated to giving my children the opportunity to spread their wings in a nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2012

My children have gone to Self Development for 5 years now. This school is not an online school like a previous post I read stated. I believe that post is posted for the wrong school. SDCS is a great school with a very caring and enthusiastic staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

I am so happy to have found a school that my children enjoy going to and one that I feel has high expectations and goals for their academic success. My children have been going to SDCS for the past 4 years and they have always had a very strong bond with each one of their teachers. They are eager to tell me about their day when I pick them up. They have developed a true love for learning, thanks to SDCS. This love of learning will stay with them for the rest of their lives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

It's the best choice in the area for grades K-3. I have learned that all of the reviews for this school are monitored and any negative comments are quickly overshadowed by rave reviews.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2012

Self Development Charter School was the PERFECT school for our children. Both of our children attended SDCS from Kindergarten till 8th grade. The accelerated curriculum challenged our children. This made for a smooth transition into public school. We feel fortunate that our children were given a strong foundation in EVERY subject. There were no gaps in their learning and both were immediately placed in honors classes. The school's preparation given for AIMS and Standford 10 immensely helped our children feel confident and knowlegdeable when taking any exam. Throughout their schooling, testing continues to be part of their education. We are grateful that SDCS prepared our children for these challenges.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2012

This school is not perfect but I feel that it is was best choice for my child out of all the pubic & charter schools in the area for K-3. Of course there are positives & negatives to all schools. Yes, they teach children one grade above for ALL subjects from K-3rd grade. So if your child is 2 grades above level in reading or math, their needs will not be meet. In 4th grade they might go above 2 levels in Math. Another positive is that they offer lots of recess opportunities which is necessary for kids to function. A negative is that there are not a lot of opportunities for hands on learning. They do some science projects for K-3. Maybe on average about once a month,(I am being generous here), but not as often as they should to reinforce the subject. For example, when learning about magnets I strongly believe that they should have played with actual magnets! It is the best way to show how magnets may attract or repel each other. I had to supplement this at home. They do utilize a good curriculum, McGraw Hill, but often use Spectrum workbooks to get the kids ready for their Stanford 10 & AIMS. The staff is nice but I will be transferring my son to Mesa Academy for 4th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

I am so grateful to have found a school where my children are receiving a top level education. My students love going to school each day. The school is definitely centered around each individual student and ensuring their needs are met. The teachers in all grade levels enjoy what they are doing and you can see it on their smiling faces. The administration and office staff are always available to answer any questions you may have. I have been at SDCS for 4 years and will remain until my kids enter high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2012

Love the school, my daugher has been going since preschool and she is pushed every year to learn to her full potential. If you do not have time to help your child learn then this school wll not work for you. Its about learning and not about drama.Yes there test scores are the best. Look for yourself and compare.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

As a parent, I am looking forward to my child entering fourth grade at SDCS! Each year, my child has grown academically and socially. The school truly implements a program that is based on student learning and progress. My child always feels welcomed and nurtured by the school staff and falculty. Although the school receives only state funds, resources are visually allocated to ensure the learning of the students. SDCS is an excellent model of successful education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2012

i am so grateful to have found a school where my children are getting a top education. The principal Mrs. Majeed is very involved in the children's learning and how they are doing. The front office is very caring and helpful. Thank you SDCS for giving my children a top education in a caring, nurturing and safe environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

Parental involvement is a must! I was compelled to do a review, because there are a few parents that comment that there is no communication between staff and parents! What???!!!! Before we even begin school we get a hand book with rules and regulations, the teacher also gives rules and regulations. Every class has a weekly progress report to be signed by the PARENT! I am always called even if my son falls and scrapes his knee! What more communication do you need!! Wow you must be very busy not to hear any feed back! You have to do YOUR part to stay connected as well!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

SDCS is number one in our book. Our daughter s ability to overcome obstacles has been evident in her accelerated performance. Her older sister went to a different school and I never once received a phone call from the teacher. At SDCS the teacher calls to give you positive feedback on your child s progress. I am grateful for the teachers, staff and principle at SDCS because of all they do. Their dedication to education is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Black 8% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A46%
Female 252%N/A49%
Male 248%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1709 N Greenfield
Mesa, AZ 85205
Phone: (480) 641-2640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT