Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Self Development Charter School

Charter | K-8

 
 

Living in Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 14 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

78 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2011

We were new to the school this year and we are terribly disappointed. Long story short our son's small group was being taught in the kitchen, a small kitchen that is used for a storage area for all kinds of things. The door had to be open because the air was out on a heat advisory day. I pulled him out that day. But most of all I could never get what I felt was an honest up front answer to any of questions from the staff. In the end, although I think the academics are great I did not feel safe leaving my child there and could not trust the staff's communication with me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2011

Our daughter was extremely excited about all the new faces at school the first day of school. She has been with SDCS family since the age of one. Changes are inevitable and SDCS is growing because of the incredible school it has always been and continues to be. SDCS was school of the year for a reason and there are several of them. The principal, front office staff and teachers work extremely hard to make sure every child is successful. SDCS was also given an Academic Excellence Award from the Arizona Department of Education. Our family hopes that the school continues to grow and we are confident that our child's education will continue to be top-notch.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

I am sorry that parent feels that way about the front office. I wish they would get to know the school better. It is nice as a parent to see the same familiar faces year after year at the front office and in the classrooms. They have an amazing staff that truly cares about the well being of each and every child. My child has been here since kindergarten and is in Mrs. Cote's 5th grade class this year. The excitement I see in her to want to come to school to learn and do better is beyond words. I am truly thankful to SDCS for giving her the foundation for learning!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2011

My daughter was so excited to return to school this year, especially with all the new additions to the campus. She has attended SDCS since Kindergarten and has grown so much academically and socially over the past two years! I attribute this to the care of her teachers and the staff of SDCS as well as my involvement as a parent. I greatly appreciate the communication from her teachers and staff, especially the progress notes! I know long before receiving report cards and parent teacher conferences how she is progressing! Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

I have heard so many great things about this school that we decided to enroll our child at SDCS. So far I couldn't be more disappointed! The communication is HORRIBLE from the office to the teacher. I have no idea what is being taught, what the daily schedule is, class rules, etc. I feel totally in the dark. I don't see any nuturing going on as the school claims. I believe that with so many new families it's growing too large too fast & they can't handle it. The only good thing that I see is the playground addition. Other than that, a terrible experience so far!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

This is a great school to go to if your child can keep up and has enough time for the amount of homework they give you.(i dont have any problem with it but many students do) As a student myself, I believe we spend more time preparing for aims subjects )math, reading, writing, science). The rest of the subjects (social studies, geography) are given less attention to. If your child is into sports, then this is NOT the place to go to. SDCS has been improving their after school activities but being such a small school, we dont have as many great athletes, although the pe teacher is a favorite to ALL students. SDCS is an amazing school but i think it really helps if you start from the the beginning (1st, 2nd grade) and work their way up. Those who come from a public school have an obvious sense of struggling.Overall I think SDCS is a great school for students who have a dedication to learning and not for students with pe for their favorite subject.


Posted June 3, 2011

I have been taking my kids so SDSC for years and they are doing wonderful. They are way ahead in the learning curve and their experiences will help them in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

Mrs. Majeed is always loving and caring to her students. My child adores her teacher, Ms. Richard. The after school programs could use some improvements. The violin program was superb last year but not this year. Overall a great school with awesome teachers and staff. THANK YOU!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2011

Self Development Charter School has a great middle school program that challenges the students. I am so thankful for what my children are learning! They are getting are great foundation and appreciation for learning and want to learn more. Thank you Mrs. Majeed!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

I was very fortunate to find Self Development Charter School!!! The teachers, support staff and principal gave above and beyond to make sure every child is learning the way they need to. The kids are learning a grade level above Arizona State standards and do amazing!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2011

This school is amazing!! They want to make sure everyone succeeds!!! Mrs. Majeed the principal is very much aware of what all of the students are doing and where they are at and wants to make sure they are getting what they need to succeed!!! I am so happy we found Self Development for our children!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

My daughter started off at this school without ever attending preschool, when she first started kindergarten she was behind compared to other students but the attention the teachers have given her is amazing, she is reading, adding and subtracting. I truly appreciate this school and would recommend it to anyone that wants there child in a safe, learning environment. Thanks to Mrs. Steiner!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

my son was transferred from a public school to self-development, and he love this school. He felt being challenged whereas he felt the learning pace is too slow in the public school. His teacher has been taking very good care of everything to help him fit in. I can't thank the teachers enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2010

I would highly recommend this school if you are not happy with your kids in academic learning, especially in public schools. My daughter loves this school, and she wouldn't leave this school. Thanks a lot to Ms. Richard, Mrs. Benjamin, who are great teachers. And special thanks to Mrs. Lori, who has been working so hard at pulling out kids working on math. I can't find any school like this in AZ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2010

This school is academically acceptable,and I am very fond of that.However,older grades would be more likely to stay there,if they were treated as a regular midlle school would.Furthermore,they need to teach the kids to be more independent,and not so soft.Other kids WILL be mean to them when they proceed to being older,because some people are just ruthless,other than that I LOVE this school,but more 'casual days' would be nice. Thank you staff and teachers,and of course the principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2010

My child has attended Self Developement Preschool since he was a year old, and has since moved on to Charter School. The school staff at Self Development is commited to learning and challenges my child which is a plus. I would not think twice about recommending this school to others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

I love the caring staff at self development charter. they are very helpful and my childs teacher Mrs.Benjamin is a wonderful teacher. My daughter loves her I woul not even consider send my chid to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2010

OKAY I'm sorry but this school is terrible and all they care about is loading us up with homework and looking perfect! uh its so despicable!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2009

This is a fantastic school. My daughter has been enrolled since KG. The dedication from the staff is second to none. I'm such a proud parent as my daughter is now in the top 1% of the nation in Math. She scored 'exceeded' in all three categories of the aims test. Yes there is homework. Yes there are maybe to many rules :) Yes this school does require a lot of parent time at home. In return however is the near perfect environment for learning! In AIMS results for 2008-2009 this school finished 1st in academics in the whole state. If you are a parent who does not have time to help their children, participate in homework and keep to the schedule. If you child has a hard time working as a team, keeping quiet and listening or is bothersome to others then this is not your school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

My daughter is in kindergardden and has just completed the first grading period. It's amazing how much she has learned in just nine weeks. When my daughter starter school she was only capable of recognizing the letter sounds and now she is reading. My daughter has even learned to add and subtract. I agree that parent involvement with homework is crucial in the success a child who attends this school. Her kindergarten teacher sends a mini progress report home every two weeks that tracks her progress and also sends spelling and math exams home for review. At the end of the grading period the teacher also met with all of the parents. My daughter is more confident now, she loves her teachers and she is participating in a violin class once a week. Can't wait to see how far my daughter's come in a school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Black 8% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A46%
Female 252%N/A49%
Male 248%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1709 N Greenfield
Mesa, AZ 85205
Phone: (480) 641-2640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT