Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Self Development Charter School

Charter | K-8

 
 

Living in Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 14 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

78 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2009

This school is not for students that are behind in school work. It seems that all the principal cares about is the test scores. Also, the only excelling subject is math. That is all the students do in the morning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

This school is definitely not for a child that is not behaved pefectly all of the time. The office staff is very nice and helpful, but my childs teacher was horrible to my child. I would never recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

Exceptional program with a very solid group of instructors. This is not a program for parents who have limited time. The amount of homework and degree of difficulty, demand a fair amount of time from the parents. This additional time is where the children advance the most among their peers at other programs. The primary focus on academics does require the parents to seek out other after school activities to round out the children. Overall we have been pleased with our daughters results and her general attitude towards school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

This is the best school I've ever gone to!The staff is nice and helpfull,the learning enviorment is great,and the education we recieve is the best you could get in AZ.I wish I could stay here for the rest of my life!This school is the best you are ever going to find!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2008

Our children have attended Self Development Charter School for several years, and we are completely thrilled with their education. The teachers and staff help to ensure our children are receiving a wonderful education. Not only do they offer an accelerated curriculum, but also an incredible enrichment program. Our children are excited to be participating with in the violin program implemented for all students in their class. Our children are also continually challenged which helps them not to become 'bored.' The curriculum offers a perfect balance for our children. When all classroom work is complete, they are given enrichment activities to compliment the already excellent curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

We are at our second year here and feel like home there. My daughter is in first grade here and loves the school. She at times gets board with the homework (a bit easy), but loves the daily school routines. If you child does not enjoy 'learning', this may not be the school for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

We really do love this school. Both my daughters go there and have for 3 years. I had a very difficult child who was removed from 2 different schools due to behavioral problems and they have taken the extra time to work with and dicipline her. My other child came from a public school in Mesa and could not even read coming from Kindergarden and they turned it around in 3 months. I highly recommend giving them a try, yes they are focused on education but fun is never overlooked.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

My daughter enjoys going to school- and loves being challenged. It is lacking a music education program that the public schools offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

My children have attended Self Development for the past four years and I find the teachers to be very patient and helpful. The class sizes are small and if a child needs additional help they are pulled out in a small group or by themselves and receive the help. When my son was at a regular Mesa elementary if a child didn't understand the attitute was Oh well we will hold them back and they will get it next year. I also had to hound them about getting extra help and tutoring even though they offered it weekly...it was like a secret. At Self Development I never have to ask they see that the child needs help and they provide it. The teachers remain in contact with the parents and provide weekly report cards, nothing is a surprise at the end of the quarter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

My son attended for a number of years and did well. My son was advanced when we started at Self Development and remains so in the public school system. The environment at Self Development is extremely restrictive, with the focus on being quiet, which doesn't work well with the younger kids. Recess is their only outlet, and was often times restricted - balls were not allowed. When we transferred, my son was amazed at how much fun school could be. He continues to excel and is a role model and leader in the public school system. My only regret is not pulling him from Self Development School earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

Literally one of the best schools in the state in terms of how much they teach students each year - especially in math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2008

My daughter has been going to this school for 2 years now and we have been having problems the whole time. They don't seem to care when a student is having difficulties. They just give them a bad grade and keep moving on. Teachers should be there to help thier students but that hasn't been the case with my daughter. The principal is no help at all but I do love the assistant principal. I am currently looking at removing my daughter from this school. Don't let the high test scores at this school fool you unless your child is great at everything and doesn't require any help from thier teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2007

We have had our daughter here since last year and I have nothing but good things to say about it. The staff is wonderful and very open with communication. My daughter had the choice of going back this year or going to public school and she wanted to continue here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

I have several children who attend the charter school. I think there is a huge focus on academics. I am not confident that the learning environment is fun. I don't think the children enjoy going. There seem to be some excellent teachers, and some not so great ones. But bottom line my children learn and learn much more then the average public school student. I do not recommend this school for children who are behind, or not excelling for their level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

I think this school is overrated. My son has been in preschool here for 3 years. I send him because it is convenient. I hope to have better feelings once he's in first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2007

Love this school! We drive 18 miles each way to take our son to this school. The staff is great, the atmosphere is safe, and the learning model is individualized to each student's needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2007

This school has an excellent academic program. The atmosphere at the school is very child centered, and the staff are warm and welcoming. The school has many extracurricular activities such as a sports clinic,orchestra program, poetry club,and geography club. My children have been attending for 4 years and their individual needs are being met. I have a special needs child and couldn't be happier with the progress we have made. The schools should be concerned about test scores when our students are being measured in that way all over Arizona. These test scores determine whether our students and teachers are mastering the Arizona standards, which ultimately decides which type of diploma they receive in high school. If the state is worried about our test scores, then the schools should be concerned also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2007

This school was an extreme disappointment. My child has gone to Self Development preschool and looked forward to attending the charter school. What a let down. I talked with the principal but got lethargic replies. The principal at Self Development seemed more concerned with test scores, and less concerned for my child education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

Had a child here from 2nd to 6th grade. School very focused on the test scores and how to keep them to keep them high. Although there are claims that the school is a grade level above public schools it has yet to be seen on any subjects other than math.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2006

Self Development Charter is a great school! Their academic program is amazing! My son has excelled tremendously. I like the style of learning Self Development has to offer. They have made learning fun for my son. I am glad they push the children to a higher standard and prepare them for the future. If your child is willing to work hard, then I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Black 8% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A46%
Female 252%N/A49%
Male 248%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1709 N Greenfield
Mesa, AZ 85205
Phone: (480) 641-2640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT