Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Self Development Charter School

Charter | K-8

 
 

Living in Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 14 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

78 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 25, 2006

School is 'Excelling', however, push the students too much. Students are given an inappropriate amount of homework for their age group. Staff are more concerned about 'grades' and 'test scores' than about the children actually learning and developing the love of learning. Not an environment for any student that has any special needs whether academically, physically, or mentally. I would not recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2006

This school is purely academic school and probably one of the best in Arizona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Academics are the main focus here. The children are challenged, but they keep learning fun. I'm impressed. I know friends that say the after school program could be improved; they get enough play time but could have a few more activities for the kids. They do give them time to do homework though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2005

Very good school. My son is already reading and is only 5 months into Kindergarden
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2005

This school is amazing! The teachers are awesome. The principal is caring. They are very in tuned top the childrens needs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2005

I have one child in kindergarten and one in 2nd grade and the experience has been good so far. I do get concerened about the limited extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Academically, I couldn't be happier with the school and the teachers. I do feel they are too stringent regarding lunch time and free time in regards to noise level, etc. The kids are pushed hard in a very controlled environment, but these are childen, and thus have lots of energy and they need to be allowed to be KIDS. I would also like to see more information on after school sports programs and the principal to be less concerned with her rating in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

I couldn't ask for a better education for our daughter. She has attended SDCS for two years. I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone and everyone though. If families are committed to a high level of focus and desire a high level of education for their child--this is the place. Homework and reading is required nightly (they give you weekly homework packets). The school is almost a 'back to basics' school, however, they have a strong emphasis on math and give the students more science than one would expect in elementary school (we like). They have PE twice a week, have Spanish I believe once a week, and music once a week. For clubs, they offer spelling, math, chess club, walking/running club and have strings. We've been happy with our school discovery, but the classes are getting full. I expect to see waiting list soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2005

I have 2 children enrolled at Self Development Charter School. The thrive in the accelerated environment and continually achieve high results on state testing. I wouldn't think of having them attend another school. The teachers and principal are very involved with the students and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2005

My child is starting her second year at SDCS with amazing results. We did not work with her prior to starting kindergarden, as we should have. However, she caught up very quickly thanks to the special attention each child receives. They kept us as parents very involved too. By year end, our child was able to test in the 99th percentile and we give all the credit to the teaching provided during the year. She will definitely be there through 5th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

I love this school. They are finally beginning the much anticipated building to add on more classrooms and a multi-purpose room. Your child will be challenged in this school- they can handle more than we give them credit for. My only complaint is that the classes have gotten larger; but with more rooms, hopefully this will fix the problem. One teacher should not have as many kids to teach as my daughters did this year. They also need to work on the quality of the after-school care. They need more activities for the older kids. They find it boring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2005

My child has been a student at Self Development Charter School for three years. I find this school to be a wonderful environment for her to learn in. This school is an accelerated program. The students are working a full grade level above and the classes move at a fast pace. My child has flourished in this environment. The teachers and Principal work together to create a curriculum that challenges the students to better prepare them for the future. It is a huge importance that parents also be involved in their child's academic progress. Without this support, students will fall behind in this environment and any other, public or private. The teachers and principal are dedicated to the children at this school. I would recommend this Charter School to anyone.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted April 8, 2005

I love this School. Although at times it is an inconvenience to work around my work schedule I've not only kept my 9 yr old there since Kindergarten but, my 5 yr old starts school at SDCS in August 2005. I'm extremely excited. I couldn't ask for a better school Thank you
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

This is academically a very good school, and would be very appropriate for students that may be bored in a public school. This school however, is not appropriate for average ability, or low ability kids. Students are pushed to keep up and move forward with the rest of the class. If they are behind or struggling, they are typically left on their own to solve the problem. I also have huge concerns with the principal and her leadership as well as some of the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2005

Academic programs at Self-Development Preschool are excellent. Children of all ages surprise you daily with what they've learn at the preschool and are always academically ahead of the norm. This preschool is fastidious about cleanliness, lead teachers are well educated in early chilhood development, and teacher retention if high for a preschool. Small children thrive at this preschool because teachers have control, the noise level is low, and teachers manage to teach the small children about respect, following directions, etc. The school-age after-school care program needs much improvement however. School-age children 10-12 are always bored, complain about rigidity of care-takers, limited physical activity, and lack free time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2004

I would recommend this school, for its strong leadership in academics. I know a few other friends who have their kids there and are very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2004

Great focus on academics. Curriculum is one year ahead of actual grade level. Small school and class size. Poor communication from principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2004

We like the small classrooms and the attention our child receives from the staff at SDCS. The class work is challenging and the children enjoys excelling in their class work.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

46 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
96%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

31 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
100%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Black 8% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 6% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 13%N/A46%
Female 252%N/A49%
Male 248%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1709 N Greenfield
Mesa, AZ 85205
Phone: (480) 641-2640

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT