Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
125 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (7 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (6 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (6 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 175 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Self Development Charter School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Haschke - she is amazing. She genuinely loves these children and dedicates her day to making sure they feel acknowledged and appreciated. She makes learning fun and celebrates their successes.

Self Development Charter School 5

Posted May 17, 2016
- a parent
I absolutely love Self Development Academy and have nothing but glowing reviews for the principal, Dr. Majeed, as well as the faculty and staff. My son is about to finish Kindergarten and the tranformation I have witnessed over the course of this academic year has been nothing short of breathtaking. He has blossomed under the guidance of Mrs. Haschke, his teacher. I love that the kids wear uniforms so there are less distractions and kids can focus on the task at-hand. I also love the accelerated curriculum that is a "back to basics" approach to learning, as opposed to all of this Common Core nonsense. Classroom ratios are low (there are 23 kids in his class to one teacher plus an aide). Communication has been great via e-mail, Facebook, as well as physical papers sent home in the backpack. They just broke ground on an expansion project to build a conference room and a media center, as well. So many exciting things to report, not the least of which is my son's academic achievements - - - owed all to SDA and their tireless dedication to developing their students to become a lifelong learners. Thank you SDA!


Self Development Charter School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted February 08, 2016
- a teacher
Thanks to the dedicated administrators, staff, and teachers, my daughter had a wonderful experience at Self Development Academy. She obtained an excellent academic foundation and developed personally as well. She has made a successful transition to another school due to the academics and study skills developed at Self Development Academy. She has maintained Honor Roll status, and received an award based on her integrity and diligence. I cannot thank Self Development Academy enough!

Self Development Charter School 5

Posted January 21, 2016
- a community member
I have had a great experience with SDA. The staff and faculty have been amazing. I know that a lot of posts on here discuss the teacher to child ratio and when my child attended a public school, the ratios were the same, if not more. I suggest to check out SDA before you make a decision based on the comments of the classroom sizes. Unfortunately, in Arizona, you will see those teacher to student ratios at any school.

Self Development Charter School 5

Posted September 17, 2015
- a teacher
Self Development Academy (Charter School) has been an amazing school to work at. This is my sixth year teaching at this school, and I have only good things to say. The support is unbelievable, because resources are used to bring in "pull out teachers," which really helps students to be challenged individually. The school provides a rigorous curriculum, and it's given in a systematic way- so no child is "left behind." This school is student centered, meeting the needs of all students academic success. You will want your child to go here, because it's an exceptional school!


Self Development Charter School 5

Posted September 15, 2015
- a teacher
As a 7th year teacher, I truly enjoy going to work everyday at this school and working with the students and my peers. The staff are supportive of the teachers, being educators themselves, and do everything in their power to make sure that not only our experience as teachers is comfortable, but the students learn in a caring and supportive environment. I look forward to continuing my career at this school and strive to exceed the expectations of my students.

Self Development Charter School 3

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
As a parent I have had struggles with this school. They are very disorganized and their communication is very poor. We live in technology, so they should use it rather than sending a piece of paper home with the kids. Plus they do not always hand the information out to the kids. They are pushing so hard the kids are not having fun and losing interest in school. There is a lot of homework and the feedback from the teachers is poor. New teachers every year does not make me happy. I never thought I would leave this school but I am seriously considering it.

Self Development Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 23, 2015
- a parent
My daughter has been very lucky to have attended Self Development from kindergarden through eighth grade. I could not of ask for a better well rounded education and nurturing environment for her. Dr Majeed and the staff at Self Development are incredible and because of them my daughter will succeed in High School.


Self Development Charter School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 01, 2015
- a parent
I'm very fortune that my daughter had the opportunity to attend Self Development, kindergarten thru eighth grade. I could have not asked for a better environment and education to prepare her for high school. I don't know of another school that the principal, who is hands on in the classroom, makes sure that each child gets the best education possible. If you are wanting a school that has an outstanding education, nurturing environment, and incredible staff this is the school for your child.

Self Development Charter School 2

Posted May 27, 2015
- a community member
The reviewer from April 26 is correct. The class sizes are very large (example 37 students to 1 teacher in lower grades) with no assistants. This is the first year they actually used email to parents but mainly only for school fundraisers AKA "Family Fun Night." Beware---this school is not free. $150 enrollment fee every year ($120 siblings). This is due when completing the enrollment form and it is Non-Refundable. They say it is for an activity fee but all clubs and violin lessons parents pay extra for. Don't know where this extra goes since there is only one field trip per year to an area museum. This school does a lot in marketing for themselves. Recommend checking out other charters and public schools where there is more focus on science and technology.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Self Development Charter School
1709 N Greenfield, Mesa, AZ  85205
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 175 reviews. (480) 641-2640
Last modified Self Development Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top