Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christ the King School

Private | PK-8 | 225 students

We are best known for quality of education.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mesa

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $75,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 1, 2014

Worst experience in regards to education and ethics. An elementary teacher that lacks morals but preaches it.What can be worst than that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

Great school - teachers who lead by example, and a principal with outstanding integrity, plus a strong sense of community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

I have been a part of this wonderful community for many years. I have two children that have graduated & one still attending. Christ the King prepares these children well for high school. A staff member at one of the Catholic High Schools said to me last year ' the Christ the King graduates always do well here. They come well prepared'. I also was talking to a former CTK student who went on to Seton Catholic High & is now in college and said 'College is so easy for me, I was so prepared from my CTK & Seton years'. The principal at Christ the King is not only experienced, disciplined- he is like a father figure that is very generous with his heart and soul. We are very fortunate to have him and almost all of our current staff have attained their masters degrees in education!CTK is worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

I am excited that this school has hired a principal with strong leadership skills and an extensive background in Catholic education. Several new teachers have really added to the energy this year, and the recent glowing accreditation review is bringing many families back to the school, along with new students from across the East Valley. This is truly the place to be!


Posted August 5, 2008

Fabulous school - great administration, caring teachers, supportive staff, strong community support! I would not dream of taking my children anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

I was very disappointed in this school. The parents are caddy and the administration is not built on the children but on politics. My children now attend a Mesa public school and are excelling like never before. Save your hard earned money and go public, their test scores also exceed the national average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

Christ the King is a great school and a wonderful parish. In considering this school, you should ask some of the 8th grade graduates about the education and experience they have received. My child just graduated from K and she is so excited about going to 1st grade that I am thinking, what child is excited about going to school. But then I think about the days that I dropped off or picked her up and the excitement of everyone that goes there. Like anything there are issues that need resolving, but with a new principal, the awesome staff, great kids and involved parents the school will continue to be a great school. CTK has been in Mesa for 50+ years and will be there for a long time to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2008

I have been a teacher at Christ the King School for many years. The students here receive an excellent education as a result of the very qualified teaching staff. Teachers learn about each student and they will work with the students so they can achieve their greatest potential-as long as the student is willing. Our students are more prepared than many others when they move into the high schools. Our students out perform many others in the diocese on their standardized tests. Our curriculum and materials are up to date, and we are proud of the technology available to enhance education for both the teachers and students. If you want your child to succeed academically and have a close community relationship in a faith-filled atmosphere, then CTK is the right place to send your child.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 23, 2008

This is a small school that not only embraces the children that attend, but the whole family. CTK has teachers that care and the school is built on community. The overall test scores for this school are above that of the diocese. Parents that are seeking a close community with strong academics - CTK would be a good fit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

Christ the King Catholic School has offered our children an excellent education. Being on the campus, you can see and feel how deeply the staff care for the students. Walking into a classroom you feel the spark of excitement around learning. During the week, older children are building relationships with younger children. Above all, you see a committment to faith throughout the school. It is unfortunate that the recently departed principal lacked leadership and management skills which led to several program changes, nonetheless, with support from teachers, students are excelling academically. The test scores cannot lie. Go to our website to see how CTK students are out performing other students in the Diocese and across the Nation. I feel positive about the school community (yet, sorry for these few unhappy parents) and the direction the Parish is taking in assuring that we are creating a faith filled educational experience for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

Our children are thriving at this school. The school is undergoing some staffing changes, but has just hired a 3rd grade teacher and 5th grade teacher both with excellent credentials. There is a lunch program in place ready to be launched, but awaiting for someone to run it. There is an art program and has been since our children have been here for the last 5 years. The school is currently interviewing for a p/t Spanish Teacher, a computer Teacher and a p/t nurse. We do have an interim Principal until a permanent one is identified. We have every confidence in our school and have no plans to leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

Christ the King is a fantastic school with high academic standards. Each year, the students score well above the national average on National Academic tests. The community is safe, nurturing and loving. If you want to belong to a close-knit community Christ the King is the school for you. There has been a change with some of the staff, which is difficult for some, but change brings new ideas and vitality. I am excited about the new staff and the experience they bring. I look forward to many more years at the East Valley's best school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

My daughters both attented Christ the King. They were challenged and did very well in all subjects. They attended Xavier College Prep and found this to be an easy transition because they were so well prepared by their teachers at Christ the King. The school utilizes the Accelerated Reading and Accelerated Math programs to supplement their reading and math curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

As a graduate of this school, I was much better prepared for high school than kids that were coming from other Catholic High Schools locally. I am so thankful for all the teachers and staff at Christ the King that set me up to succeed well into the future!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2008

This is an excellent school, where all students get an excellent education and learn how to be great kids with a great faith filled educatoin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2005

I am a student a Christ the King. It is a great school. I have been going here since kindergarden. They have the younger kids interact with the older kids. We go to Church every Thursday. Our school wins many awords. so do our teachers. It is a small school. I like it taht way. Everyone know everyone. I love it.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 42%
Hispanic 14% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Don Graff
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (480) 844-4498

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Phoenix
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Seton Catholic
Brophy Prep
Xavier College Prep
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1551 East Dana Avenue
Mesa, AZ 85204
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 844-4480

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT