Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Parent (1 response)
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert Ridge Jr. High School
Grateful to: Parent

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
My friend and fellow Jr. High School mom for letting me vent about the awful experience we had at this school.

Desert Ridge Jr. High School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
For one teacher in particular in the Language Arts Department, worst teacher we have ever had between both our children. The other 8 teachers were not really all that special either.


Desert Ridge Jr. High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
My child did homework from the time they got home from school until 11pm at night sometimes. They had homework every weekend, holiday and even up to the day before school let out.

Desert Ridge Jr. High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
NOT AT ALL IN OUR EXPERIENCE. This staff is just coasting, they don't go above or beyond

Desert Ridge Jr. High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
How can you teach respect to someone else when you don't know the meaning yourself?


Desert Ridge Jr. High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and administrators themselves don't have compassion, caring or empathy for their students, they certainly can teach it to others.

Desert Ridge Jr. High School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
I overheard my child's friend ask my child if they ever felt like their language arts teacher treated them more harsh then the rest of the class because that was the way this kid saw it. They could see how he treated my child unfairly compared to the rest of the class.

Desert Ridge Jr. High School 2

Posted May 20, 2016
- a parent
Completely disappointed with the teachers and administrators at this school. I don't really even know what the purpose of a counselor at school is, we never once heard from them regarding our child's grades. Neither the teachers nor the administrators were concerned with her success. As a parent we can only do so much to help our children at some point the school needs to do there part too.


Desert Ridge Jr. High School 2

Posted August 02, 2015
- a parent
My son received a mediocre education at best from this school. My daughters experience was better several years ago. The teachers are spending more time telling the kids how bad off the district is financially and that a tax levy must be passed, rather than actually teaching. I do not appreciate my son coming home from school with a stomach ache from worry about his teachers pay and insisting that I must vote to help his teachers. The kids do not deserve to be burdened with adult matters. My son will not be returning in August for this reason.

Desert Ridge Jr. High School 5

Posted April 29, 2015
- a community member
I read these complaints about this school and I have to speak up. Do you know who complains about DRJHS? Parents of students who don't know how to behave! DRJHS has high expectations for their students. If you think that it is the teacher's fault that your kid can't behave, I say go find another school and see if they will put up with your kid. The large class sizes are bad enough without the teacher having to deal with juvenile delinquents on top of that. So if you have a problem with this school because they are hard on your kid, maybe try some discipline at home and quit sending your problems to this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Ridge Jr. High School
10211 East Madero Ave, Mesa, AZ  85209
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (480) 497-3300
Last modified Desert Ridge Jr. High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top