Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Desert Ridge Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 1301 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2006

DRJHS is a great school! There are many activies for students to partipate in. As a student myself I can say that the teachers are highly qualified and really care about their students. This would be a great school for any student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 1, 2005

I think this is a great school. My child has done really well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2005

My daughter attended this school in both 7th and 8th grades. I was very happy with the school. They seemed to be on top of things, as much as possible and the teachers really seemed to care about the students. They all seemed to get along really well and to take pride in their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2005

Poor Academics, do not enforce dress code
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

I attended DRJHS the first and second year it was built, I enjoyed the classes but I felt out of place, being black, and almost all of the other students were white, other than the lack of diversity, the teaching and discipline was great, at times it was really hard, but thats what school is for right?
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 8, 2005

Good advanced classes, strict with students, my son finds this a good environment overall.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2004

My daughter is in the Honors Program in the seventh grade at Desert Ridge. We have been very happy with the school. The attitude of the staff and administration at the school has been excellent and we have thoroughly enjoyed our time there. I have really appreciated the Golbert School Districts open enrollment policies, as it has allowed us to place our daughter in a school that makes the most of her abilities and gives her the opportunities she would not have in our home district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2003

The school could do well to hire more experienced staff. The middle school years are very difficult for kids and they could use more support. My concern is that too many kids are being pushed out because they don't conform. Behind some of the rebellion is a kid trying to find him/herself. I know it can be exasperating but the comments that a principal or teacher makes can hurt a student for years. My child was very hurt by a comment made to her. We are trying to work through the angry comment lashed out at her by a staff member.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

654 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

654 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

649 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

668 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

669 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 42%
Hispanic 22% 42%
Black 5% 5%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 625-2044

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10211 E. Madero Ave.
Mesa, AZ 85212
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 635-2025

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Imagine Prep Superstition
Apache Junction, AZ



East Valley Christian Academ
Apache Junction, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT