Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Legacy Elementary School

Charter | K-8 & ungraded | 283 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mesa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $156,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 4, 2014

Great Staff and low staff turnover! Staff is positive and dedicated! Great in the Arts, especially performance and drama! For a small school, "You're A Good Man. Charlie Brown" in 2013 and "Annie" in 2014 were very well done! The school has been blessed by some great student talent!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 28, 2014

My son was in kindergarten last year, and I absolutely loved Mrs. Harmor! My son is reading so well and likes going to school. I have always found the staff members to be wonderful, very helpful, and feel welcome at the school. Next year they are going through a bus company so that it will be dependable every day. I am looking forward to another great year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2014

My daughter is in her 4th year here, and I've seen it go downhill quickly. Programs have been cut drastically, and teachers have been laid off to the point that class sizes are as big or bigger than public school classes. At least once a week, I receive notification that there will not be bus transportation, and it's usually very last minute, like getting a call in the middle of the day when I'm at work to say that there's no bus to bring my daughter home. Administration does not seem to care. I've made multiple attempts to reach out to them, only to get placated by canned answers, and not see any real change. My daughter who is a straight A student has struggled with grades this year, because of the high teacher turnover and the lack of support to the kids. I'll be looking to place her in a new school after this year. If you are looking for quality education and staff that truly cares, this isn't the school for your family. They have a long way to go to get back to what they were 4 years ago, and I honestly wouldn't be surprised to see them lose their charter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

My 2 children were attending this school. They fired a lot of their teachers at the beginning of the year in order to be able to afford school supplies. All the remaining teachers still have catering lunches at least once a week. My son was being bullied constantly and the school did nothing about it. He was also struggling. He could not read a full sentence and couldn't write more than 15 words but the school still advanced him into the next grade. My daughter was having issues in her classroom. She came home one day and said a couple of the kids in her class were showing and touching their private parts in front of everyone. She told her teacher and all her teacher said was stop telling stories. We went to the principal and he said it would be handled that same day. So we sent her back to school and the issue was still happening. This is a absolute terrible school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2014

This school is horrible!!! So many students are being pulled out and teachers leaving. What is wrong with this place?!? Also, I heard from another parent that they fired a bunch of people over Christmas break, not sure as to who but I'm sure there's gonna be a lot of changes. I'm thinking of pulling my child out but might see what the changes have to offer. Ugh, I just want a good education for my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2013

Legacy is a very bad school! They have no transportation half the time for bus riders, January there will no bus the rest of the year for my children. They don't take bullying seriously, my kids haven't had field trips for two years. Many parents are pulling their kids out and I am looking for a new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

As a concerned parent looking for answers here's what I found. The dance teacher, Mrs. Bronson was let go due to budget cuts as were almost half the teachers. Performing Arts instructor, Mrs. LeSueur, was almost let go by the new principal as well. He is indeed not sold on the performing arts at the school. The P. E. teacher quit and many remaining teachers are looking for other jobs! And this is the first of the year! There is also concern over a "splinter" group of students that came over from another school. For some reason they're being given sanctuary at the East Valley High School instead of following the rules of Legacy where they should be. This, I am told, is because a new ersatz performing arts director at EVH has been trying to put a performing group together and is now trying to rob Legacy of some performing students. The publicized smaller classrooms are now filled to the brim because there's a lack of teachers. The principal seems to have an agenda all his own. Either this mismanaged school will be reduced to nothing or they need better leadership - which would be very possible if one of the asst. principals were placed in charge. Very disfunctional school. Avoid it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

I feel as if I was duped into my child attending this school. Their grade scores are rather low and the performing arts has been completely cut. I feel as if there is an underlying tension among the staff and I don't understand it. Everyone keeps leaving the school, teachers and students. I am unsure as a parent if everything is budget cuts or if something else is wrong. My daughter just told me that the PE teacher left as well. I am not sure as no one has told parents that the PE teacher left. This of course happens after the dance teacher left, or was let go, so much has happened I'm not sure. Now they have one recess and no real physical activities. I'm hoping things will get better but I feel what the school sold me on is gone and the principal really has no intention of bringing these things back. I think it is safe to say they are heading in the direction of a basic school which isn't bad, but don't let them sell you on those things I think public relations sees a performing arts school and the principal does not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

A parent.. This is my kjds 3rd year..there are good nd bad for this svhool busse are a major issue. Class sizes nd teacher r great..uniforms r a little pricy but does save on that exspense for major school shopping..my children have geown so much since attending there.they give individual help to each student..my only complaint would be the bus system..which is forcing me to switch school.very sad..if it wasnt for the busses it would be perfect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

This will be our daughter s second year attending Legacy Elementary. This school has been a God send to our family and I highly recommend considering enrolling your children into this school. This is why: The classrooms are generally not too big, less than 18-20 kids. The teachers are not overwhelmed and actually have time to get to know your child! Homework was reasonable, 30 minutes /night and at the end of the year, she exceeded the standards on her AIMS test. The performing arts teacher, Mrs. Leseur provides an environment of opportunity for girls and boys to sing, dance and act. My family cannot afford singing/acting lessons our 5th grader, but because of Legacy, she was able perform all throughout the school year. Her confidence soared, especially after leaving a nearby public school where she was bullied and ostracized for not living in the neighborhood the school was located in. Legacy is personable and warm. We are fortunate to live close to the school so we can ride bikes or walk. Nothing makes a parent feel better leaving their kids off at school than a teacher or faculty member greeting you and your kid by name. I adore Legacy Elementary! Go Lions!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

Good school far education but plan on driving your kids to school much of the time they have no backup plans to bus breakdowns and bus driver call ins. This has happened 8 times this year on east side bus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2011

This is my child's 3rd school, and last year was his first year. We will be returning and bringing in my 5 year old for kindergarten. This school did have changes and gave me a red flag alert. when I met the principle and his wife at the 4th July breakfast they are both awesome. I can't wait for the changes this year and he really wants this school to be a community. This school also works with the working parents, one thing PTO is at night instead of during the day. I'm excited for 2011-2012 year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2011

THIS SCHOOL IS AMAZING!!!! This is true Legacy has gone through a lot of changes! What these other parents fail to realize is all of the positive changes yet to come and yes the new principal is stern he expects the students to have respect for themselves as well as the others around them and if this is to much to ask than maybe another school is better for those types of families. My oldest child began Legacy in kindergarten and will be in the 6th grade this year her as well as my other children love Legacy and we as a family are so proud to call this school ours! The staff at LEGACY Is an amazing group of wonderful people! As far as the staff that will not be returning well there were obvious reasons for why they will not be asked back!!! Gooooo Legacy Lions!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2011

I am greatly disappointed with Legacy School! My children will not be returning next year! The campus is filthy! Principal dishonest and two faced! They cannot hang onto good teachers as they walk out! Or are fired 3 days before school was out! There is No sense of security to the students! The SPED does not have the best intrest of students at heart. The assistant principal herself quit because she didn't agree morally to what was taking place. Test scores will speak for themselves! There is no Lock down procedures on campus, fire alarms are not working, The ant poison dumped on the playground was was my 6 yr olds favorite toy! The campus is not clean or safe! The teachers that were any good will not be back next year! Therefore I will not bring my childback! I cannot trust who is left to properly care or teach my child! It's amazing how in one year they took something great and flushed it down the pipes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2011

YEs, the school went through a transition. The old prinicpal quit, a second grade teacher quit..but that is not a reflection of the school..it was a reflection of those individuals. The new prinicpal is stern and doesn't tolerate misbehaving, but has a gentle heart and takes time to know the needs of each class, each teacher and etc. The autism classes are great, the curriculum is great. Before the new principal came, there were so many UNQUALIFIED teachers and assistants. You cant get mad for the principal wanting to have them trained properly and certified....it is NOT like he is firiing them- he is offering them a chance to get certified or move on. My son has floruished unbelievable here. Every school has its issues, but I have yet to have any. You need to take a tour, speak with the leadership and judge for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2011

Beware of any good reviews. Legacy has gone through a huge transition recently. What I thought of highly last year has fallen apart. The charter holder of this school herself has told me that she has not ordered the curriculum for the '10-'11 school year. We are in Jan! Very alarming. Teacher's have walked out on their job. And the new principal bully's parent's and Children. Even making kids line up and martch in line during recess. Staff and Admin have pulled their own children from the school in the last week. There is very little if any communication home when policies are changed. And our Children are forced to eat lunch in classes. SPED dept. is crooked and the state is investigating. BEWARE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2010

In 2008 Legacy was rated as "underperforming" from AIMS data, in 2010 they have brought this up to Performing Plus!!! Amazing job to the teachers, especially 3-6th
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2010

We have found Legacy refreshing! The teachers, principal, and staff have all been wonderful and welcoming! We are proud to call Legacy our home school now! When we first moved to legacy my second grader didn't know what a dictionary was, how to do multiplication, or write in cursive. The class sizes are small. Only 14 in my daughters class. My kinder has grown and blossomed in her class! The drama, art, and PE have been a highlight for my girls! I see great things coming from this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

i loved this school my son learned more in this school then in any other school his been to !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2008

This school is amazing, my kids have attended since Kindergarten. I have watch the school go through some major changes this year and they have all been for the best. The staff is amazing, you could ask for anything better. The teachers are wonderful and really care about the education that the kids are receiving. I wish there were more parents at the school that were more interested in getting involved. It would make things even better. I hear there is a new campus that will be opening next year and I cant wait to see what they have in store for us. Things just keep getting better and better.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
36%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
91%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
28%

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
30%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
85%
Science

2014

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
25%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
33%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Failing to Meet Academic Standards".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 42%
Hispanic 33% 43%
Black 6% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A47%
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 641-4473

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7464 E. Main St.
Mesa, AZ 85207
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 981-1500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT