Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Montessori Education Centre Charter School - North Campus

Charter | K-6 | 214 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2011

My child has been with Montessori Education Centre now for 4 years and she loves it. We have loved her teachers and all the staff and I recommend this school to other parents!! Every time we walk in the front office we are welcomed by the front staff with a smile on their faces. I know my child is safe and supported when she is there for the day. We love the principal as she has been supportive in every aspect or concern I have ever had regarding my child's development. The teachers communicate well when there is any issue or concern as well as sharing any silly or great accomplishment achieved by my daughter. We love all the teachers as they all greet us when we arrive and leave campus. I would highly recommend this school to any parents looking for a great Montessori School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

Parents are responsible for fundraising for computers, recess equipment, art supplies, etc. The list of supplies parents are responsible for is lengthy, yet this school pays for the Principal's on campus babysitter for her infant which she nurses during parent conferences. The upper level teachers were fired from previous jobs and offer very little direction to the students. The curriculum is not challenging. Student who left this school were very behind in their new schools. There is very little science or music. Some teachers are not certified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

I am so glad we found this school. Montessori curriculum, wonderful staff, and a wonderful and committed directress who all seem to love their jobs, and our kids. My kids like school! I am really happy with my now 4th and 6th graders academic and social progress over the last 3 years that they have been at MEC. We could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

My son was placed in a classroom with a new teacher. If he did not finish his work in time lost his recess. What kid would not get upset about repeatedly losing his recess so he throws a tantrum. Teachers idea of solving the problem CPS. Yes got reported to CPS! I asked the principle to remove my son from this class and it never happened. I use to love this school but unfortunately I HATE IT NOW! Oh and BTW CPS case was closed on 1 visit go figure....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

All I can say is run as fast as you can.... This school will destroy your child.. The damage this school will be with your child for life. Learn by other mistakes and make your choice wisely.. A teacher should never tell a child they will not help them learn when a child ask's for help with reading or math. Be sure to review the school's administrative reports with the ADE. RUN....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2009

This school is a great school for my kids. I would recommend it to everyone that is looking for a true Montessori School. The office staff is so caring and helpful to the students and the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2008

My daughter has attended the school since fall of 2005. Currently she is in the second grade. Until this year, I had serious doubts that she would remain in the school because there was a serious lack of direction in her classes and she did not have the consistent teachers we were promised. However last year my daughter got a teacher that has a more permanent understanding of what needs to be done and had more discipline and focus in the class room and my daughter is now reading above grade level and loves her school. Her math skills are above grade and she is moving right along wonderfully. I do agree, they need more music programs but that does cost money.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

The quality of the academic programs seem to have slowed down, they are not at the same level nor have they surpassed the level they were at 2 years ago, they continue to slowly diminish. There is not much of music, sports or other extracurricular activities, there needs to be more art then finger painting and color by numbers. There are some teachers who care more about popularity with certain parents then teaching ALL of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

I found the experience for the last three years to be less than satifactory in respect to disapline, education, and communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

My daughter has attended from 3 yrs to 6th grade. She is ADD and in many ways this was helpful. My son has attended preschool to second. I love the small school atmosphere though, and the community feel.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

Not enough music, art and sport
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2005

Caring Teachers although some not 'State Certified' make this School a terrific Place to educate young minds. The Montessori teaching methods Has given my 7 year old a head start on his learning habits. I await his testing results next year for confirmation of my beliefs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

Good Montessori curriculum and good learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2004

Both my children have attended MEC North since its opening in 2001. The montessori enviornment and experience has been a very positive one for both of my children. The non traditional classroom, exciting materials, individualed study and exceptional staff has made this a positive choice for our family. We wanted to be involved in our children's education and this environment provides and supports on-going dialogue with all staff members whose primary goal and responsibility has always what is best for the child. I appreciate the courtesy, respect and dignity my children are provided with as human beings verses the more common philosphy that children wouldn't understand or don't have thoughts or feelings on more complicated issues. This environment truly celebrates the uniqueness and wholeness of each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2002

We are new this year to MEC (although not new to Montessori), our son is in 1st grade. I am thrilled we got a space here, it is a well-organized Montessori school and the benefit of charter saves us money. It offers great activities we can choose from, the environment is very professional yet warm and friendly. Our son commented, ""it's a happy school."" The children learn to love learning, and Ms. Leisla has created a fantastic classroom for them! The school is a great size, big enough fo diversity, yet not too big to lose personal attention by the staff both to children and parents. They work hard to communicate with parents - good info. sent home consistently to tell us what's going on. I know if our son ever leaves Montessori, and particularly this one, he will be far ahead of the public school levels of children his age.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

20 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 42%
Hispanic 16% 42%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

815 N. Gilbert Rd.
Mesa, AZ 85203
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 964-1381

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT