Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12 & Ungraded|Public district
2,489 students|Gilbert Unified District
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
57 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 63 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Desert Ridge High School
Grateful to: Student

Posted December 03, 2015
- a community member
I love how the students at DRHS accept and embrace students with special needs. I've witnessed students go out of their way to express unbelievable kindness towards kids that may have otherwise been shunned.

Desert Ridge High School 1

Posted March 26, 2014
- a parent
The school itself is not bad but the freshman baseball is a joke. The coach has a kid on the team that plays every freaking inning of every game and never gets pulled out. The funny thing is, the kid is not even in the top 9 or10 players that should be starting. I really thought high school baseball was going to be better than club ball but after having to watch this every game I'm extremely disappointed so far. The current freshman team is made up with some really good ball players but the way this guy runs things its like little league all over again. Very frustrated and sick of watching my boy go down hill because of this coach.


Desert Ridge High School 1

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
My son attended Desert Ridge for one semester and could no longer tolerate the racism, so we transferred him. He now attends a school that is more diverse and teachers are more involved and sincerely care about their students.

Desert Ridge High School 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a parent
This was a great school for my son who graduated in 2010 with honors. It is the only high school in the district that has an engineering track , and that was exactly the field that my son wanted to pursue. The instructors were always there encouraging and inspiring the students to pursue their dream. Administration was helpful and the sport coaches were very dedicated and inspired the students to achieve their best. I highly recommend this school!

Desert Ridge High School 5

Posted June 16, 2013
- a student
I have attended Desert Ridge for the past two years and have enjoyed every minute of it! I have received plenty of help from teachers (except for one) and in a lot of sports and clubs. This school is bully free with plenty of opportunities! Go jags!


Desert Ridge High School 5

Posted January 14, 2012
- a parent
I am very happy with this school. I have a son that graduated in 2008, and another that is a senior this year and also a freshman. I have a gifted son, one with learning disability, and a typical student. This school worked hard to meet all of their needs. They have top rate teachers and the athletics programs are doing better every year. Mr. Coombs is a great principal and a strong leader. The same is true of Ms. Henry, Mr. Stroud, and Ms. Murphy. Great leadership team!

Desert Ridge High School 2

Posted January 13, 2012
- a parent
FYI: this a bully friendly school. I am very disappointed how the administrative faculty handle bullying. In my experience so far, the teachers have been great, what a shame, I will make sure my other children do not attend this high school.

Desert Ridge High School 1

Posted May 25, 2011
- a parent
Do NOT let your children attend this school. The teaching staff is never avalible! Your only choice is VM or email which you will not get a reply for over a week and by then any concerns you have are doubled. They supply zero extra help so if your student is unable to get the help they need in their 34 plus students in a classroom, tough. And going to the Admin is a joke, they pour "sorry's" on you and empty promises. And since the school shuts down by 3:30 your only choice is to take time of from work repeatedly to try and get a hold of anyone. So if you have any intrest in being a hands on parent find another school. It will be worth it for your students education.


Desert Ridge High School 5

Posted August 19, 2010
- a student
I am currently a senior at DRHS and i LOVE it. The school has worked with me all four years and ive never felt like "just a Number" .They Do make mistakes especially with scheduling but thats an easy fix...I didnt have a 5th hour and i dont need credit so they worked with me to find something that suited my future career. The Teachers are fabulous except a few and the staff is so friendly and caring !! GO JAGS!!!

Desert Ridge High School 4

Posted July 15, 2010
- a student
I went to Desert Ridge all four years of high school. I graduated in 2009 as Salutatorian and am currently attending MIT. That being said, I couldn't have made it to where I was today without the help of the teachers at DR. Overall I felt like the large majority of teachers were interested in the students learning and were willing to help out students with academic problems as long as the students were willing to help themselves as well. I can't say much on athletics cause I didn't join any teams, I did however join several clubs and became president of two. Clubs at DR still need more funding and attention from both the administration and the student body. DR is a good school with some of the best teachers you can ask for your child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desert Ridge High School
10045 E Madero Ave, Mesa, AZ  85209
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 63 reviews. (480) 984-8947
Last modified Desert Ridge High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top