Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Zaharis Elementary School

Public | K-6 & ungraded | 859 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 1, 2014

We have had kids at Zaharis for 11 years now. What an amazing school! All the teachers and staff are excellent and the culture is so warm and inviting. We're so thankful we have had the opportunity to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

We moved into the area from out of state, and with natural trepidation explored our options for our soon-to-be-newly minted Kindergartner, our son who is long on "bright & spirited," not so much on "focused attention." The school currently scores an 8 as compared with some neighboring schools scoring a 10; I suppose one has to wonder what that actually translates to for an individual child. All we can say is we can't be more thankful we ended up at Zaharis. Ms Pena, our son's kindergarten teacher, has been a perfect match, the parental involvement and school spirit is strong, and the principal Mr. Oliver makes a special note of of describing himself as "prince-a-pal," a fun twist but appropriate -- he allows his teachers the freedom to stack their walls with books cover side out (clever rain-gutter shelving), and inspires everyone in the age-old tradition of learning through reading. We feel lucky to have landed here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2013

This is the most amazing school. I have 6 kids and this school has been great for the first four that have gone so far. The teachers care so much and the principal is outstanding
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2013

My daughter attends Zaharis and it has been the BEST experience we could have asked for in a school and teacher. Ms. Kuhlman is FABULOUS and we feel very blessed to go to such an amazing school! I have never heard of such an engaged, caring, active, public school... but it does exist at Zaharis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

I am a parent of 2 Zaharis students,this school is all about your status.if u make 1 comment about there rules (which they make up as they go) they will shun u From that day foward,the whole staff is a bunch of gossiping men and women.The principal has n knowledge of discipline to the children that need it.If your child has a problem in any subject there first stepped is to assume your child is special needs instead of the teachers working with your child...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2013

I know and have worked with the Principal Mr. Oliver in the past at another school. He is kind and has a great relationship with all of his staff, parents and children. I love that he has books in his office. I love the bed time stories..If I were to move back to Mesa I would definately have my children attend Zaharis.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 16, 2013

There is no better school out there! You seriously won't find any better! Everyone works together to create an environment unparallelled to anything you've every seen! You have to go see it to believe it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

Zaharis is an outstanding school that teaches kids to think rather than just memorize. The principal is truly a role model that the kids look up to and love. He is creative, involved, and thinks outside the box, and therefore attracts that kind of teacher. The teachers are there because they love to teach kids and challenge them daily to be better learners, discovers, and people. Academic excellence these days is only measured by test scores, but they cannot measure the intangible skills of real life problem solving, critical thinking and so many other qualities that parents want their kids to learn and embrace. I am blessed that my kids have all attended Zaharis since it opened when my oldest started kindergarten. They have gotten the very best educational experience I could ask for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2011

Great school! Really reaches outside the box to teach kids in different ways from the traditional school formats. No desks, make kids comfortable and they are more open to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2010

Zaharis has an amazing principal who supports his staff and students every way he can. What a positive environment for kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

No comment. This school is amazing. Wonderful learning faculty and the teachers it seems work along with the children. My child excels in Orchestra, Math, Social Studies and Reading. I absolutely love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2010

Zaharis is like a private school disguised as a public elementary. The principal and teachers are so involved in creating a comfortable learning environment. Even if you visit the school unannounced you will see a ton of kids reading or enjoying projects. I also have special needs children and they receive the utmost support at Zaharis. Truly a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

I have been so impressed with Zaharis. What a welcoming environment for children and their families! At this school, kids learn by doing. They are becoming readers, writers, mathemeticians, and scientists. Students and teachers learn alongside one another, and it's evident that they are all actively engaged and having fun! I couldn't imagine a better school to help my children to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2010

Zaharis is a wonderful place for children. Instead of doing drills and worksheets all day, my children read real books, and get real-life learning experiences. As a result, they love learning, love reading, and love school. The teachers are wonderful. You can tell they put extra time into their teaching and care a lot about the kids. Lots of parents get involved, and there's a real feeling of joy at the school. What a wonderful place to be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

This school is awesome. Thanks to Mr. Oliver (the principle) and all the teachers who love reading and encourage it, my kids are avid readers and excel in school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2009

My child has attended this school for 4 years. I have to do an extra hour of homework with him each night just to get him to the level he is supposed to be at. My child is a bright and inquisitive student that seems to get lost in the shuffle. The test scores are low because there is no standardized curriculum. I will have my son attend a different school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

My kids have attended Zaharis for 3 years and have enjoyed phenomenal teachers each year. They have never said they do not want to go to school. The building itself is beautiful, and the students' work is always displayed around the classrooms as well as in the hallways. Zaharis instills a love of learning rather than just preparing for standardized tests. My kids' math and reading skills are significantly higher than grade level and are also better compared to cousins who go to quality schools in other states. In addition, Zaharis teaches how to research and learn rather than just memorizing facts. The only downside of Zaharis are the class sizes which have crept up recently.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2008

I'm a student teacher that goes to school in Rexburg, ID. I visited Zaharis back in Aug. 2007 and noticed that students were learning for life and not just for a test. I requested to do my student teaching here and I have to say I love it! I'm learning how to teach students so they can see the importance of what they are learning for life. I hope that I'll be able to find a school just like this one for my children.


Posted March 4, 2008

I have children at this school, and let me just say that Zaharis is not the same way it use to be. Mr. Oliver is kind but he is not very fair when real discipline needs to be given. Also my kids are doing horrible at this school, and I feel that the teachers do not really take the time to make sure no child is left behind, they just say they need Special Ed and that gets them off their back! I feel this school needs to pick up the slack it's slacking. I have decided my children will not be attending this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

Zaharis is such a great school! I went to zaharis for 2 years and I loved the school. The principal is so cool and is involved and talks and hangs out with the students! the principal even calls himself principal! He is so cool to get to know!I loved going to that school it was way better and cleaner then my old elementary school! The aids are really nice and hang out and get to know the kids and are friends to the students! The teachers listen and get to know the kids instead of being really mean! They are all really nice!!!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

130 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
82%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 42%
Hispanic 9% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 20%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9410 E. McKellips Road
Mesa, AZ 85207
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 308-7241

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT