Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
58 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 72 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Zaharis Elementary School 5

Posted March 22, 2016
- a community member
Great Principal and teachers! Awesome learning environment, they make learning fun! I have never seen a school like this one!

Zaharis Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
The teachers and principal are fantastic. There is a very positive climate at the school, and pure dedication to education for every student.


Zaharis Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
My child receives enough homework to be engaged and meaningful, yet not overwhelming. My child is challenged, yet not frustrated.

Zaharis Elementary School 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
Zaharis is a wonderful community-oriented elementary school. The teachers and staff are very committed to education and delivering the very best to their students. My child is thriving at this school, and reading chapter books in first grade, and is making lots of progress. We are enjoying the school and all it has to offer!

Zaharis Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted November 21, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are not bad. Commication is poor and no way I am letting my continue school here


Zaharis Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 21, 2015
- a parent
No one cares. My kids has been beat up and other kids fake injuries to avoid going to recess at this school. When older kids touched my son penis he said it wouldn't happen again and life goes on...

Zaharis Elementary School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted November 21, 2015
- a parent
This school fosters bullies and does not take appropriate action. Kids learn that issues get swep under the rug and they can do what ever

Zaharis Elementary School 2

Posted November 21, 2015
- a parent
Mr. Oliver is fantastic, too bad he is a temporary worker. My kids have been bullied and inappropriately touched by older kids. Another kids had a nasty cut and got stitches and I found by a very late night phone call by the parent's mother saying my child was involved. He has learned many swear words at this school and now hates school. Many other kids don't even do recess more


Zaharis Elementary School 5

Posted October 01, 2014
- a parent
We have had kids at Zaharis for 11 years now. What an amazing school! All the teachers and staff are excellent and the culture is so warm and inviting. We're so thankful we have had the opportunity to be a part of this school.

Zaharis Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
We moved into the area from out of state, and with natural trepidation explored our options for our soon-to-be-newly minted Kindergartner, our son who is long on "bright & spirited," not so much on "focused attention." The school currently scores an 8 as compared with some neighboring schools scoring a 10; I suppose one has to wonder what that actually translates to for an individual child. All we can say is we can't be more thankful we ended up at Zaharis. Ms Pena, our son's kindergarten teacher, has been a perfect match, the parental involvement and school spirit is strong, and the principal Mr. Oliver makes a special note of of describing himself as "prince-a-pal," a fun twist but appropriate -- he allows his teachers the freedom to stack their walls with books cover side out (clever rain-gutter shelving), and inspires everyone in the age-old tradition of learning through reading. We feel lucky to have landed here.

Nearby schools

Zaharis Elementary School
9410 E. McKellips Road, Mesa, AZ  85207
(480) 308-7200
Last modified Zaharis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top