Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Tempe Montessori School Ltd

Private | PK-1

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2013

Although the campus is pretty and the intentions are good, our son did not do well in this setting (Pre-K/K). The unstructured approach was praised, yet deviations from a "set course" were not tolerated, and as such our son did not progress academically. In a more structured environment, he has thrived and is testing at 2 grade levels higher in math, reading, and comprehension. Minor bullying was tolerated (mostly verbal), and Frequent turnover and abrupt teacher departures suggest issues with administration, and we did not feel our concerns were adequately addressed. The school might do well for rule-following children, but does not handle children who go a bit against the grain well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

TMS is the perfect school for PK-K. Our little one has been there for about 3 years and we couldn't be happier. During that time she has had Ms. Cindy and Ms. Smita who are both extremely talented, AMI certified, Montessori teachers. They have both been there for over 10 years and you can tell that they still love it. They offer a great aftercare program (until 6pm) and optional activities like piano, soccer, and golf. Also, you can't beat TMS's play yard. The kids love all the space and the animals that roam around (desert turtle, chickens).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

Our experience at TMS has been absolutely wonderful! We are so pleased with our child's teacher (Cindy Draper) that we honestly can't sing her praises enough. Not only is she a fantastic teacher, but she takes the time to teach us as parents- which as a first time parent, we find invaluable! The administration is always wonderfully responsive (phone, email, in person). If we weren't moving out of state, we would certainly stay as long as possible. We can only hope to find a school of this caliber near our new home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2011

My daughter has spent this year with Miss Laura and Miss Eun and myself, my husband and my daughter all think Miss Laura is such a wonderful teacher. We have witnessed incredible developments in Lyla's character and abilities over this past school year and are in awe of the work the Miss Laura does with her. We recommend TMS and Miss Laura to everyone we know - particularly our friends who comment on the development of our daughter's gentler, focused and calmer disposition. I really credit so much of this to Miss Laura's work in the classroom with my daughter and her willingness to counsel my husband and I as parents from time to time. She has loaned me many books when I mention issues I am having with my daughter's development and they have all become mainstays of my library and parenting style. The Montessori method has changed the way my husband and I parent her and I just want to give credit where it is due and convey my enthusiasm not only for Miss Laura as a teacher, but for the entire Tempe Montessori program. We look forward to spending many years and sending more of our children through the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

Absolutely love the school. My daughter has been there for 3 years and I am impressed with the progress, with very little pressure, and a lot of indiviual attention. Kids have a lot of time to interact with each other. The staff is absolutely amazing, and the new head of school and the administration has definitely made a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

Absolutely love the school. My daughter has been there for 3 years and I am impressed with the progress, with very little pressure, and a lot of indiviual attention. Kids have a lot of time to interact with each other. The staff is absolutely amazing, and the new head of school and the administration has definitely made a difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

Both of our children attend this amazing school. From the wonderful teachers to the supportive staff our entire family is thrilled to send our children here. The school administrator is top-notch and the parent community is very involved to make the school even more successful than it already is. Our children will attend through elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

We have been sending our infant son to TMS for about a year now. We are very happy with his progress!!! We will continue to send him there throughout elementary school. It is more than just a glorified daycare! Just read the reviews below and check them out. You will be sold!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2010

After watching my son struggle in Kindergarten in a Gilbert Public School, I went on a search for somewhere that he could get an education. I discovered this wonderful school. They were kind enough to allow me to observe a typical school day, and that made my mind up. Watching the teacher interact with all of the children, the children interact with each other, no one confined to a table working on a craft day after day - Well, my Kindergartner is demonstrating First Grader skills. More importantly, he went from a miserable 1/2-day Kindergartner to a happy little boy attending a full day of school who is only sad when he can't go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2009

This school has far exceeded my expectations. My daughter is happy and learning more than other children going to day care or staying home. She is far advanced for her age and that is because she only learns at her pace and all of her work is self directed. She wants to go to school and learn more and more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2009

The negative reference to the principal of the school is old news. There is a new Head of School who has the education, training, enthusiasm, and vision to bring Tempe Montessori School into a great future for children. Stop and visit TMS.


Posted September 30, 2009

More than anything else, we love the sense of community at the school. The facilities, teachers, and cirriculum also surpassed the dozen other Montessori schools we reserached prior to enrolling our 3 year old here. We would highly recommend TMS to any parent seeking a quality Montessori education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2009

If you don't have an opinion or concerns for your child, then this is the place for you. The school is run by a family and the owners don't take too kindly to those who question them. As long as you can ignore the administration the teaching staff is great and my child learned a lot in the time they were there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

We really love this school. My son has really grown and has learned so much in his time there. This year our son will be starting his 3rd year at TMS and our daughter will be starting her 1st. The teachers are wonderful and we adore them! They are very caring and compassionate. Their approach to learning is different than a traditional school but it is one that works. I have often been amazed at some of the things they have taught him at an early age. He really enjoys it, too! The campus is beautiful and very serene. TMS has exceeded my expectations as a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

Love the way the school is setup, trees, plants, play area, pond, petting area on the outside and the clean spacious class rooms on the inside. The teachers are loving and caring. Our child started there when she was 18 months old and is now in the primary program and her ability to adapt and learn new things sometimes amazes us. Overall an excellent school if you are looking for a montessori education for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

Tempe Montessori School is an excellent experience for the child. Not only does it carry the AMI certification which follows Maria Montessori s methods, the teachers care about the children. They are well cared for and taught. Not only are they learning literature, mathematics, geography, natural and physical science- they are also learning grace and courtesy, caring for others and themselves. The self motivation the children show is phenomenal. Being a part of the Tempe Montessori community has been one of the best experiences of my life. I highly recommend this school and the true Montessori program to all parents who are looking to fulfill their child s natural need for learning and to fulfill their potential!


Posted March 9, 2008

Just visit Tempe Montessori to see the wonderful park-like setting and clean, orderly, and pleasant facilities. While some administrative changes have created some starts and stops- to be expected learning curves IMO- what makes this school golden is the committed, loving, well-educated teachers. This school was our first exposure to Montessori methods and we are delighted to see how this sophisticated pedagogy has supported our girls in developing confidence, excellent language and mathematic abilities and a real love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

My son has attended for 2 years and my other son will start in the fall. The environment is very unique, very safe, designed for the children with lots of room to play outdoors, with gardens and animals. Children are respected as individuals and participate in their own growth and development through completion of a variety of hands-on works that integrate all subjects at age appropriate levels. Children use courtesy and grace towards each other, learning exceptional social skills and individual responsibility. My son is 5 years old, but is able to learn at his own pace. He reads at a 2nd grade level, and studies botony, astronomy, biology, geography and other sciences within the course of a typical school day! This is an acredited Montessori program, it is well worth a visit to learn more. Good parent resources also. Watch your child transform and evolve in the most amazing person!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2007

The school has really gone downhill. We have had our child there for many years (primary and elementary) and not been happy this year. The quality and lack of attention to core areas are apparent. I strongly advise against the elementary program, but the primary program seems to still be good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2005

My daughter attended the Tempe Montessori since age 22 months old until 6 years. It has been an excellent investment for her to attend the schhol. She is disciplined and excelled in everything she does. She liked being challenged and the individualized academic attention from the Montessori methodology was a perfect match. At the age of 6, she knows her multiplication table and does long division and already reads chapter books such as Narnia.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 43%
White 44% 42%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • AMI

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Montessori

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 40755
Mesa, AZ 85274
Phone: (480) 966-7606

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Aces-Tempe
Tempe, AZ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT