Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arizona Agribusiness & Equine Center - Red Mountain

Charter | 9-12 | 218 students

We pay for qualified students college courses at Mesa Community College.

 
 

Living in Mesa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,010.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

I could have never have picked a better school to go to. I never feel out of place. The students are great! The teachers really care about you, and your grades. They will help you whenever you need. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 17, 2014

Arizona Agribusiness is an amazing school with amazing students and staff. The teachers will go out of their way to help students and truly care. The principal is fair, honest and makes time for his staff and students. Many opportunities for students willing to work and are serious about college. AAEC is definitely not a school for the lazy, students lacking self-discipline or those that lack motivation. This school provides great opportunities for students wishing to get move ahead with education. I love the fact that my child is surrounded by others that have the same goals of achieving an excellent education. It has been a wonderful first year and we look forward to the next 3 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

A laughing joke in the pure basic concept of Education, policy and procedures and implementation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

This is a great fit for high performing students who walk to their own drum. The curriculum is demanding and requires students to be diligent. Small setting offers a personable atmosphere. This school is a wonderful model for innovative education. Students take classes both at the high school and adjacent community college. They can receive credit on their college transcript and apply the credit to their high school transcript. The teachers are dedicated and all are strong academic mentors. Teachers offer individual support after school daily. Student leaders are strong mentors and are open, accepting, and bright. The Veterinary Science program is a wonderful background for any medical or science career interest. Couple this with the advanced English, Social Studies, Science, Agriculture, and Math classes and you get a well educated student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2014

The school bends backward to make sure each student is successful in high school classes and college classes. I came from a advanced school and AAEC immediately made sure each class challenged me to my potential. The teachers are extremely caring and supportive. This school definitely helps every student that comes in to the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2014

My school is a great place to learn. Their are many interesting classes in the high school alone. AAEC offers free college classes from Mesa Community College and many students graduate with an associates degree.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2014

My school has offered me the chance to earn an Associates degree, and it allows us to be interactive with other students and join groups/clubs that make students feel welcome. We do a lot of activities and the teachers and students work together and communicate openly. Sometimes problems come up but the staff and students help to fix the problem and good relationships are created between the students and teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 23, 2014

I love being able to be a part of small school where the classes are small and the teachers know you by your name and not by a number. I can attend college classes while in school and it is paid for as long as I have a good GPA. I am only a Junior but plan on returning next year and be able to graduate from high school and also graduate from college at the same time, that is so awesome to do at my age.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2013

I am a senior and will graduate in 2014 and will need 6 credits to be able to graduate from Mesa Community College this summer. I have already been accepted to ASU and UofA. Coming here from a very large high school to a small one have made all the difference in the world for me. Knowing the teachers and the people in my classes was a plus. With AAEC paying for my college credits I will have paid less than 1000 for my degree from MCC.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2013

I have been with AAEC for many years now and all I can say is that AAEC - Red Mountain has amazing parents who work with teachers to help all students succeed. AAEC also has amazing teachers who volunteer to sponsor so many amazing clubs and activities and tutor students so they can succeed in all they do. It's a great school that not only prepares students for college but pays college tuition and puts students in college while they are still high school students!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 23, 2013

The entire AAEC operation, including Red Mountain, is a bogus operation. First, teachers come and go because they are not valued. There is little administrative support for good teachers. All it is about is the AIMS scores. Second, the whole operation is run by a maniac--a self-centered, rude, unappreciative superintendent who will eliminate you in a moment. Third, the whole place is infected with helicopter parents, esp. Red Mountain, who can't let their children fail and are adept at blaming the teachers. Do not ever work in such an environment and for God's sake don't send your children there, to any of there schools.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 16, 2013

I love this school! Each student is treated as an individual and their academic plan is developed to meet their skills and goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2013

I enjoyed my freshman year here, the teachers are amazing though one of them transferred to another campus. These teachers don't just throw a text book at you and say here read this and then expect you to understand the concept. They actually interact with you. The campus is also really small so you pretty much know everyone by the end of the year. Even though it is a equine school, it's still great for those who want a head start in college. I however, were not to fond of the poor service of the lunch truck.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2012

I love this school for my kids, what a great opportunity for them to get an Associates Degree. I find the teachers very helpful and willing to do whatever they can to help the kids achieve. I agree that they are "Top Notch", qualified and dedicated in what they do. I would suggest this school, and do, to anyone with high school age kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

This school is great! The administration has been great to me and my family! Also, the teachers have been incredibly supportive and helpful. They work after school and evenings and are very responsive. Just the staff alone would make this a great place and then you throw in free college, why would you go elsewhere?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

This is a GREAT school! Not only does my daughter have the opportunity to take free college classes, the teachers at the high school are fantastic. They go above and beyond to help each student succeed. Because the school is small, there is a real sense of community which is we have not been able to find at other schools. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2012

AAEC is a wonderful school. I'm so lucky that I found it. In May, I will be graduating with both my high school diploma and my Associate's in Arts. I love that AAEC is small and the teachers care about the students. I've also had the chance to take some really cool classes at the community college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2012

I have never been to a school were the teachers truely take the time and effort to help me succeed and achieve my goals. I also love being able to go to high school and college and only having to pay for my college books. I f I could recomend going to any school, I would highly recomend AAEC as the best choice!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2012

The school's administration is NOT concerned with the students. Their attitude reeks of it. They are rude and often unavailable.The woman who works front office is helpful and friendly though. The teachers DO care very much. They are very helpful, hardworking, personable, and dedicated. They all have different approaches and personalities, which helps prepare our kids for the workplace and college. The concept of the school is great and my family appreciates the help with college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

This school administration is more concerned with themselves than students education. The school adminstrators will stand you up for meetings. The math teacher belittles the students in class. An english teacher texts during class and tells student about her life story. The history teachr thinks... showing movies is teaching. The schools idea of community service is to have the students clean up the school grounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

53 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 42%
Hispanic 8% 43%
Black 4% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 12%N/A47%
Female 58%N/A49%
Male 42%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Arizona
Arizona State University
Northern Arizona University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
Clubs
  • Science club

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Brian Snoddy
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 854-3564

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Science
  • Service learning
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Agriculture
  • Vet Tech

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
Transportation options
  • Passes/tokens for public transportation
School facilities
  • College/career center
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • FFA
  • National Honor Society
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Arizona State University
University of Arizona
Northern Arizona University
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2165 N. Power Road
Mesa, AZ 85215
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 854-1504

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT