Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Valley High School

Charter | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mesa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $156,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 7, 2014

Principal is awesome and the tutors are great. My son is doing quite well and loves the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

This school is great for taking on-line classes and accomplishing a lot toward graduation. They have some older students and there's lots of drug use by them; thus, not good for younger girls to attend this school, because they don't divide up the older students from the younger students. Some parents have revmoved their daughters since they are constantly being hit on by older, troubled students - if you have an attractive daughter, avoid this school..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2012

My daughter currently attends ACP High School and although it was great for her the first year and a half these last few months have been rediculous and hard for her. Between the teachers making new rules and favoring the older students who i don't even think should be allowed to attend a school like this, and the constant threats and such I am very interested in getting her into another Charter High School closer to home, yet I cannot seem to find information on this school anywhere. Anyone help???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

There are drugs & alcohol at every school, so the comment below is unfair & simply not true. My student loves the small student body & student to teacher ratio. The school is under an improvement grant and over 50% of the staff is new, it has been a refreshing change & highly reccommend East Valley High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

Students benefit from small class sizes and individualized attention. Students who are lacking credits or who want to get ahead would benefit from our online program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 23, 2010

East Valley High School offered my child opportunities they would not have had at any other institution! She was able to participate in the high school play, join the dance and cheer squad, be on student council and keep her grades up! She was failing at the public school, and the teachers really offered her the support she needed. Best move I made for my child,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

Not so bad - notice the reviews below are pretty outdated. I sent 2 kids there and although the students are a bit 'rough' the teachers seem dedicated and the education decent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

This has to be 1 of the worst schools I have ever dealt with. My child is being bullied everyday and nothing is being done. I wish I had other option at this point but I dont. The principal is very useless. I would not recommed this school at all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

Undisciplined students; lack of curriculum; lack of texts and teaching materials----this is NOT an institute of education; it is just a holding tank.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 28, 2008

The biggest problem was a high turnover in principals and poor management by owners. Well, they did it again! EVH just released the best principal the school has ever had. I'll be taking my student somewhere else and recommeding others do the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

I see that a parent wrote, 'this school is amazing' yeah, amazingly bad! If you are reading this looking for a school for your child, keep looking. East Valley High is a business, with poor managment and owners who truly have no concern for your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

EVH is great! The teachers care about the students and help them alot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

The administration is great to work with, especially the principal, who seems to always be available for questions and support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

I like the attention that teachers give to the students. Mr. Katz class about the stock market was awesome and we even got a national award for it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2008

This school is wonderful for my child. It is not a large school so you dont have too many students distracting others but a smaller more focused learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

EVHS is a good school to help a students excel in the arts, and core classes as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

I like the small class sizes and student to teacher ratio. The focus on leadership and fine arts has really peaked my child's learning
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2008

East Valley High School is a superb school with an amazing teaching staff that are great teachers and very supportive. Whenever the school needs something, rather it be a new teacher or a new wall put in. Even a second story to the school is being added, in combination with an elevator, for those physically challenged. All in all, its a great school and I would suggest it to anyone searching for a higher education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 29, 2008

its a great school and have lots of diffrent choices of preforming arts and electives
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

My daughter spent two years at Legacy and one at the high school. There were one or two teachers each year that were questionable but with my help she passed the classes and has moved on. As for all the changes, this has not affected my child in a bad way but I have always felt that charter schools were for those kids who had trouble adjusting to the huge public schools. My daughter went there due to my job and a close friends children going there. She is now going to her local high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
29%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

22 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Failing to Meet Academic Standards".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Underperforming".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Underperforming".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 42%
Hispanic 34% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Black 4% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A47%
Female 52%N/A49%
Male 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Music teacher(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 641-4473

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7420 E. Main Street
Mesa, AZ 85207
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 981-2008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT