Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Timothy Catholic School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $74,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2013

I went to this school in 2008 and i agree with the last post. I came from a public school and fell behind fast. I received very little extra help from teachers even though they had small class sizes. It was then recommended to my parents to hire a tutor. We could not do this because we barley had enough money to pay for the school itself. You would think with all the money we had to pay to get in to the school that I would have been able to get the extra help I needed.


Posted June 13, 2013

I am very disappointed with the school. Kids who are a little behind do not get extra help from the teacher. We had to pay a private tutor to keep my son going. The principal is not experience and when she needs to address an issue she give you an advice like if she is talking to a little kid. My son was retained after a lot of his effort and time. I heard that 3 more children have also been retained and their families are leaving the school too. We redirect our taxes $2600 already and we can't do anything about that. I could have redirected that money to our new school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

We absolutely LOVE this school! Both of my boys are so happy and they are doing great. The administration is incredibly organized. The teachers are wonderful, you can tell that they love to teach. Low student to teacher ratio, my fifth grader only has 19 kids in his class. Safety is extremely important here,they have locked gate's all around the campus, nobody can just walk in. Bullying doesn't even exist and we left our old school(paragon science academy) because my son was getting bullied and nothing was done because the bullies dad was friends with the head of discipline. I really can't say enough good things about it. My second and fifth graders are very excited about staying here until eighth grade. You would be making fabulous choice by sending your kids here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

It is a Holy Ground with great children being taught by a Loving and Caring Staff. A staff that has high expectations of the kids, and parents, and makes you appreciate people that have your kids best interest in mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2009

I moved here two years ago and this school has been working great for me
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2008

I have been going to St. Tim's since it first opened it's doors in 2001. I am now in 8th grade. It is a small school, but everyone knows everyone. Even the students know most of the parents. It's not very hard to make new friends. Everyone is great, we support each other in sports and anything else we can support our classmates in. My school provides a lot of sports and after school activities. We have mass every other wednesday at St. Timothy's Community Church. Each school mass one grade will lead everyone in prayer. The students each have a job, like being a singer, lector, hand motions, greeter etc. The teachers are great. They step in when the parents might have a concern. Continued...
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2008

St. Tims academy has been a wonderful place for my children to attend my oldest child is in 7th grade and has been a student since 1st grade as a parent I wish I had all of the things my children have attending St Tims religion music art computer classes are all awsome the faculty are the best the parents are supportive the principal is fantastic if I had to get a 2nd job to keep my children at St Tims I would if it meant they could continue attending I know my children we be wonderful parents with morals and values people of God isnt that what all parents want for their children ? I Love St Tims
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2007

My daughter has just completed her first year. She struggled at first due to the curriculum being more of a challenge compared to the public school system. Saint Tim s will prepare her to go on and succeed in high school (Seton Catholic) and on to the university level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

It is a small school and kids might feel like a big fish in a small pond. However, there are some amazing teachers and the school has a strong, and very well run religon program. The kids are mostly nice and with only one class per grade and a small campus it is not too hard to make friends. Overall its an ok school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2006

My family has been very pleased with St. Timothy's Catholic School. My children receive Spanish, Art, Music, Computer class and Physical Education weekly. Religion is always integrated to what they are learning in the classroom. Specific religious instruction is also given during Atrium which they receive weekly too! My children are learning to be Faith Filled Stewards in all that they do. Extracurricular activities include Computer Club, a variety of sports and Band. Finally, the parent involvement is unbelievable. The parents are absolutely extraordinary at St. Timothy's; with all the extra effort they put in to help make the school a great learning environment for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 42%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 15% 3%
Hispanic 11% 43%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 5%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Phoenix
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2520 South Alma School Road
Mesa, AZ 85210
Phone: (480) 775-2650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Summit Academy K-6
Chandler, AZ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT