Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Imagine East Mesa Elementary School

Charter | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mesa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $88,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

58 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 19, 2008

This is my childs third and last year at this school. I definately the leadership is nonexistent and the teachers are really stressed. They promised advanced education and I really don't see it. They ask parents for tons of supplies, copy paper and office supplies. Stuff the school should be giving these poor teachers. Too many first year teachers this year and no leadership makes for one lost school and alot of unhappy people. I only wished I hadn't waited and went to the Mesa Acadamy when it opened. This school just has way too many problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

My children will not be returning next year due to the lack of leadership in the school's office... The teachers are great yes but very stressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

I am a new parent to a first grader. We started here just this semester, my daughter is much happier, her grades are going up, and the uniform is a wonderful idea. The only real thing I see wrong with this school are the drivers in the parking lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

The education is great, balanced, and advanced. The discipline is also great, where the children can focus on education and not distruption.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2007

My daughter attends EMCS this year as an 8th grader. She had been attending an area Jr High and was getting lost in the shuffle. As a result her grades were falling at an unbeleivable rate and we were very concerned for her future education. I can not say more then that this school is great! Her grades are up where we know they should be and she is in a much more controlled setting rather then getting lost among the crowd. There is a great disipline program here and the teachers are fantastic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

Looking over the reviews, and I am saddened many have had a bad experience with EMCS. My daughter has been on the principals and honor roll since her first year kindergarten. I am thankful for smaller class sizes, so the children get more one on one attention from teacher. I think all of the reviews given by those who see dicipline issues must be the parents who spend loads ome gossiping about what could be changed rather than getting more involved and making the change happen. We have had a great experience with EMCS. The biggest problem have seen are the parents. Especially in the parking lot. Many are rude and disrespectful others. I think the issue is not the leadership the school, but the mentality of the parents. Rude and disrpectful behavoiur at home is hard to break during school hours. But, I think EMCS does a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

I am a parent of a second grader who is o honor role for the past 2 years. I am extremely happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 4, 2007

This will be my child's 3rd year at EMCS and if it wasn't for the trust that I have in the teachers there, she definitely would not be returning. That is the only nice thing I have to say about that school. The principal is not there for the children like she should be , the drop off and pick up plan is ridiculous ,there is no discipline for misbehaved children at all, and the fact that they attached a middle school is really disappointing. There is no reason children need to be associating with preteens in an educational environment. If this becomes a problem, she will definitely be taken out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

My children have went to this school for two years. The teachers are awesome. My daughter had the best teacher around this year, BUT the leadership is lacking from the principal. Discipline is not a high priority for her. Unruly kids do not get consistent adequate punishment. Due to this fact, my children will not be returning. I am not subjecting my children to the lack of discipline with the misbehaved children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

My children will not be returning to the school because of the lack of discipline. I agree with most of the parents that have left reviews. The school lacks a solid disciplinary figure. BUT the teachers are outstanding. My youngest child had the most outstanding teacher this year. Although this teacher was outstanding, most of the teachers there are really good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

My son didn't return to Imagine Schools because of the lack of leadership. Unruly kids do not get punished. Parents shop around for your kids education or talk to other parents, don't settle or less.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2007

I actually shocked at some of the poor ratings I'm reading here regarding EMCS. I have not had one bad experience at the school and my children have been attending ECMS for two years now. They were in the inaugural Kindergarten class last year when the school opened. This year they're in Mr. Mikula's 1st grade class. He's an absolutely incredible teacher!! A++++. The schools communication may not be the best, but it's my responsibility to insure that I know what's going on within the school and my children's class. I've heard of no discipline problems in my children's class. I know of a few parents, and a grandparent, that actually volunteer in my children's class. It's nice to know that EMCS is open to parental involvement and actually encourages it. I'm thrilled that they've built the middle school so that my children will be able to seamlessly transition when time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

This was my child's first year at Imagine Schools of East Mesa and it will be his last. The lack of parental involvement is no surprise due to the high percentage of low income families who don't give a hoot. The school doesn't prioritize safety when it comes to the dropping off and picking up of children. Faculty does not keep parents informed of events in a timely manner. They just built a middle school smack dab in the middle of the playground decreasing the children's already small play area. The fact they are incorporating middle school with the elementary school is the main reason my child won't be returning. Subjecting my child to the problems associated with preteens is unacceptable to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

This is my childs second year at this school and probably the last. The teachers are the greatest. Needs more parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

Would not recommend this school. Unruly kids rule the school. Nice looking school, but lacking in education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

We've recently transferred our child from another local school that was poorly managed, and have been thrilled with the education that our child has received at Imagine Schools. His teacher is wonderful, and he has been learning tremendous amounts at this school. We are so pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

I have not been happy with the school for many reasons. We are frequently told that we will receive information regarding one topic or another but never receive that information. It is very disappointing and my child will not return next year. They seem too unprofessional and their standards seem extremely low. That isn't the kind of environment any parent can feel good about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2006

Unfortunately this school is on what appears to be a downward spiral from it's first year. Which was only last year. There are discipline issues that are repeatedly tolerated rather than put a stop to. This is not a good invironment for children to learn in if these behaviors are still permitted. The school seems more concerned with keeping the 'bad eggs' rather than holding on to the good ones. I feel every child deserves a fair shake, but not to the point of putting up with behavior 12+ weeks into the year. Parental involvement is low which is sad. Thus probably the reason for the lack of discipline among some.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 42%
Hispanic 26% 43%
Black 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A47%
Female 51%N/A49%
Male 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (602) 445-8100

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9701 E. Southern Ave.
Mesa, AZ 85208
Website: Click here
Phone: (602) 445-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT