Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Learning Foundation And Performing Arts Alta Mesa

Charter | K-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $95,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 26, 2012

I was fortunate to be involved in the Learning Foundation Alta Mesa Accreditation by Advanced and North Central Association. The caring teachers and principal give 150% to this wonderful school. One of the NCA team members said it is the best he has seen. The entire staff and the principal have a cohesiveness and work ethic that is hard found in the schools I have known. All the parents and students that were involved in the meetings I attended are very pleased that they and their children are a part of this school. Thank you principal and staff.


Posted May 25, 2012

Worst school ever. It would not be that bad if it weren't for the shrewdness and ignorance of the principal. The owners of the school obiously have their favorites and allow this woman to get away with anything. The best teachers have left due to the principal and the only reason why this school is still standing is because of the new people that sign up that have no idea what they are getting into. PLEASE refrain from signing up for this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2012

My niece and nephew LOVE THIS SCHOOL. They have attended there since it opened about 6 years ago.The teachers and Principal are very dedicated and caring. Their mom loves the small safe environment and we enjoying watching the kids in the school performances. The kids love the great choices of electives to choose from, especially ceramics. We have so many beautiful pieces of art they have created. We highly recommend this school to everyone!


Posted April 10, 2012

I love this school! I've gone here for many many years since I was in grade school. Everyone is so friendly here! I just love this school not only did we learn but we also had fun and great times! Even the school in the woods trip was such a great time the principal even came and we all had a great time! I just love it here!


Posted April 10, 2012

LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!! We relocated to Mesa last summer and I researched private school in-depth. My son was enrolled in the Public School system and was lost in the crowd. This school has not only been the best place for my son academically but also socially. He now has the self esteem and confidence to hold his head high!!! The staff is very professional and friendly, they have the ability to teach, mentor and guide the students to succeed. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2012

I love this school!!!! My childrens teachers are awesome. They go way and above what a public teacher would do. They stay after school and before school has long has it takes. They are always there. They give up what they are doing to teach these kids. The staff there is very helpful also. They are always nice and polite ever time I walk through the door!!!! The prinicpal is always willing to help and is very on top of issue also!!! I would recomend this school to anyone!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

We love this school. We switched from a public school 2 years ago, and chose to go the charter school route and we couldn't have picked a better place for our kids. They love their teachers, and classmates. Our kids seem to be doing much better now that they are happy. There AIMS scores have improved significantly and they just seem to be thriving on the whole environment. Thank you Alta Mesa!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2012

I thought this schol would offer small classes, close community atmosphere, and a great place for my kids to excel. It doesnt. The teachers are lazy. Lessons plans and papers from the internet are being sused. The kids raise their hands to go to the bathroom. No more lining up and going as a class. I bet a lot of kids hold off potting. The kids are in and out of the doors unattended or escorted. Its a strip mall! The lunches are over priced, but who cares. No one makes sure they eat anyway. They have "Reading program" i painted on the doors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2012

Wow, I'm really surprised by some of the reviews. I brought my children here from a top rated school district. I wanted smaller class sizes, where they could get more one on one attention. I love the "family" feel, that nearly everyone knows my children by name, and will take a moment to check in and let me know where they're succeeding, or where they may be struggling. The staff couldn't be more helpful if they tried. The teachers are top notch. Oh and guess what? My children absolutely thrive in the smaller environment, where they're more than just another body filling a chair - they're actual people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2011

I am a new teacher at LFPA Alta Mesa. There is very strong leadership and teacher collaboration. The teachers are very committed to their students, and it shows through not only in the classrooms, but also in the staff meetings. The teachers discuss better ways to help struggling students and have even spent their own time creating a "student lounge" for the older students to have a more welcoming atmosphere. I am very pleased to join the LFPA Alta Mesa teaching staff!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 20, 2011

My kids have gone to this school for three years and love the teachers and the principal. I was shocked to read a couple of the ratings, but I guess you can't please everyone. My oldest even left and went tried public school at the start of ninth grade and didn't like it as much so he ended up going back. So seeing both sides my kids get much more attention and one on one help. The teachers always e-mail me right away to keep me informed and although my kids have never been in trouble and I don't know the principal on a personal level she is always very nice and I always see the kids running up to her and excited to see her at the end of the day when I pick up my kids. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2011

I was told my children could take the bus no matter where we lived, but when it came to school time; "ohh we are full, sorry about that". 8:10 rolls around and there are 2 vans sitting out front of the school. Maybe my kids could ride in those vans? Very misleading, will look for a new school next year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2011

There is a very bad learning environment at this school. The teachers are great, but are not allowed to teach to their best abilities. Students are not all treated the same, and there is a very bad spirit amont the teachers due to an over bearing principal. I would not recommend any one send their children there. They will not get a good education.


Posted November 12, 2010

I am very impressed with this school, I have seen them take my barley passing child and turn them around in just a few short months, where a 10 school had not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2010

I LOVE this school! Ratings aren't everything because I transferred my son here from a school rated 10/10. This school is small enough that they really get to know the students and parents. The students' best interest and education are the priorities at Learning foundation. My son went from hating school to excited to learn. I am so appreciative for this school and their staff!!!! Thank you for doing such a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2009

I love this school. My oldest started last year when we lived just down the street-but now we moved further away, but the school is amazing that we are keeping the kids enrolled!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

My child had been in a public school for 1st & 2nd grade, he was unable to comprehend basic literature. ! year at LFPA & his Aims tests were remarkable! He is going to stay as long as we live in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

I have two children attending LFPA. I have never seen them so excited and motivated about school. Many kids in this school have had a hard time with public school and come to LFPA and really shine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

I have two kid's that have attended this school since they opened. I am very impressed! Both of my children have grown and learned so much, their grades have gone way up and the staff are awesome! They have performances quite often, and we haven't missed a single one. I am so proud of my children, and this school! Way to go Alta Mesa!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2008

I have been working at LFPA for the past two years. I love working there. It is the first school I have worked for that really cares about their students best interest. Education is very important to them. They are always willing to provide me with the necessary tools to educate my students to the best of my abilities. I am also impressed in how much I have seen students improve and become successful since coming to our school. It gets an A+ rating from me!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
92%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

13 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

27 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

18 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
9%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

19 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 42%
Hispanic 21% 43%
Black 8% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 5%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 162%N/A46%
Female 253%N/A49%
Male 247%N/A51%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 834-6210

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5761 E. Brown Rd.
Mesa, AZ 85205
Phone: (480) 635-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT