Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Adams Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 12, 2014

this is school is terrible ,My son was going to this school and got transferred to a different school, thats when we realised how far behind He really was ,,very few teachers with experience most of the good teachers are gone to better schools that alone should tell you something. I wish I was able to do cero starts, don't recommend any parent to take their kids there by choice some kinder garden teachers are just there to collect a check
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2014

This school was terrible. I didn't like the fact that they changed my child's teacher because of "too much crowding". There was never any type of recognition for honor roll, perfect attendance, etc. I didn't like that they never had award assemblies. I didn't feel that my child was challenged at all. My child's teacher had to go on a leave right in the middle of the year so she had to adapt to a different teacher. Some of the staff were not friendly at all and always yelling at the kids. The teachers did not care at all of my child excelling. Most teachers just seemed to be there because they were getting paid. The kids too were rude and disrespectful. I always heard older kids using curse words. The staff allowed parents to "park" in the drop off zone. Overall this school was terrible and I would not recommend any parent to send their child there. Parking was terrible too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

This school is terrible. My son has been going here for 2 years now and he is not succeeding here. The school doesn't offer appropriate tutoring classes for my child. Instead giving of giving results all the staff doesn't is make excused and gets nothing done. I would not ask any parent to put their child in this school unless you want teachers that are not compliant with state and iep rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

Honestly I was a student here and this school has been a terrible experience. Teachers don't really care at all and some students are so very rude. I didn't even last a year in this school. However it's not ALL bad some people are nice. Education was very poor in my opinion. I supposed to enrolled for 1year and as soon as I went out to go to a different school I realized I was behind by a lot!!! This gave me poor grades at my new school. It took me a while to get my usual good grades. This school has some great people but I would not chose to go back.


Posted March 11, 2013

I have sent my son here for the past two years (which I truly regret now).... and I always said I would refuse to take my son to this school based on their failing test scores year after year. I ended up giving them a chance and I regret it now. This school will FAIL your child and your child will be completely unprepared for middle/high school. The teachers do not care if your child is passing or failing. I just recently found out that my son has not even had a science class the entire year! Apparently this school has no budget to teach science! I have never heard of such a thing. I am warning all parents that want their child to suceed, DO NOT send your child to this school! The child will fall behind to the extreme and end up struggling to catch up at any school you put them in afterwards. Do your research on this school, please check out their test scores!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2011

I read most of the reviews and wonder are the parents really looking into everything I have researched test scores with other elementry schools and Adams is not good at all. There scores are not the worse but they are bad. You should research before making a review. Arizona in all I beleive ranks 49 out of 50 states does that tell you something.


Posted March 27, 2008

My son and daughter go to Adams Elementary School and have for the past 4 years. My son has had the same teacher for all of those years and she is wonderful. Mrs. Brenan. She will get a new set of children next year. If you want a great teacher I hope you get your child in her class. My daughter had a different experience her 3rd grade teacher was really bad and left during the school year (which was a good thing). So she didn t do well that year. After her trying 3rd grade year the 4th grade teacher had to catch up the whole class from last year and keep them on track for the new years lessons. Mrs. Amaya has done this very well and the children are excelling. I would recommend Adams to new students. Thank you Adams. Ms. Gaines
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2007

My son is finally getting the help he needs to excel, he is a 6th grader and has been to four different schools and not one helped him before Adams. Adams has a very special teacher, Ms. Simpson! She is the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2006

Adams School is the only place I would send my child. They are teaching the children skills that will help them cope their entire lives. They teach them how to work through problems and to make choices only after considering the consequences, both positive and negetive. Everyone there cares whole-heartedly about the children. It is a great school with great leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2005

My daughter has went to four different schools in mesa and thus far adams has been the best school yet. She has trouble with reading and her reading teacher ms weber is the best and so is her regular teahcer. They try and help her and work their schedules to accomidate her and her needs not their needs she comes first wich I value a lot. Bertha wilson ,student maggie wilson, mrs bodine room 47
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2005

I would not suggest anyone enrolling their child into this school by choice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

I kept my son in Adam's Elementary, because he had been there since he was in Pre-k. I do not recommend it after that point, academic wise, music nor art wise. For whatever reason, I do not understand where the funding for the education program is going. I have been involved with my child since the Pre-K years and have seen the system fail these kids time and time again. I went to many Parent/Teacher nights, not too many of the parents participated. I really do not recommend this school, I do not feel they are using the Government Aid set aside for each individual School system to the fullest extent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2005

Adams Elementary School is a top pick among schools. Everyone on the campus is there for the kids. They care very much about each and every child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2004

this school teaches very well and every student come home every day learning something knew especially mine.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 56% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 16% 5%
White 15% 42%
Black 10% 5%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 91%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:30 pm
Fax number
  • (480) 472-4350

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

738 S Longmore
Mesa, AZ 85202
Phone: (480) 472-4300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT