Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Leading Edge Academy At East Mesa

Charter | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2014

Exceptional education and community .This campus feels more like a family than "public education".My children are well loved and respected as well as the extra effort all the teachers/staff put into their learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2014

I would give 10 stars if I could! LEA at East Mesa is the BEST decision I have ever made for my children! I am beyond happy with this school in every way. The staff is wonderful, always going above and beyond for the students and parents. I was not surprised a bit when they received an "A" rating last year, they make sure every single student gets the help they need to succeed. I wouldn't dream of putting my children in any other school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Leading Edge Academy at East Mesa is a small campus, but still offers a play area for the children, hot lunch menu, sports, arts and musical opportunities. My experience is with the third through sixth grade teachers and they all have been excellent! The principal is very kind, caring and professional. The office administrative staff are extremely friendly, helpful and compassionate towards the children. There have been times when I wished there was a little more communication or organization, but overall we have been very pleased with our experience at LEA East Mesa campus. I would recommend this elementary school as an alternative to public schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Leading Edge Academy in East Mesa is a great school. The teachers are always helpful and informative and take the time to help each child succeed! The whole school has a great positive attitude and they teach morals and character as well as all the other stuff! ;)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Leading edge academy in east mesa is a smaller campus that offers big educational improvement! Everyone is friendly & pays attention to each & every child. It is a great school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2014

Leading Edge Academy East Mesa is the best around! The academics that are taught are above standard (that's why they received an A last year)! Also it is wonderful because there are small class ratios (which means better teacher/child interaction). I believe that wonderful teachers are very intentional in the way they teach, gearing the needs of the children in class as something important as well as academics! This school is great! The office staff is super friendly and the Principal is awesome, professional and always encouraging. Thank you LEA East Mesa!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

We love leading Edge East Mesa!! Each person at the school has been absolutely amazing. My son is thriving academically and socially. Smaller class sizes, smaller school gives you a piece of mind that your child is heard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2014

Leading Edge Academy East Mesa is an amazing school. The atmosphere has a family quality. Staff members know each child by name including office personnel. Teachers all work together and even help out with students they had the year before.Tiitle one and SPED staff work closely with the teachers. The art teacher has clever and imaginative art projects.Mrs. Boyd who runs the office, has a kind and genuine nature to all students. Mr. Jameson , the principal even coaches the basketball team. Older students are welcome in younger grade classrooms to mentor or provide extra assistance. Leading Edge Academy follows the Common Core. This school has it all !
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 8, 2014

We love leading edge east mesa. Im honestly dreading my son's last day of 6th grade. And we still have a few years. The teachers are great. They work hars to engage the students in active learning making it fun and keeping their attention. when a student struggles they are right there with ideas and open to suggestions to help your child excel. They hold the children accountable for their actions and help to teacher them of good character something I see seriously lacking in public schools. As a family we have 3 student in leading edge and our 4th will be there for kindergarten. I am a very busy mom but they are great with communication and with including even the busiest parents with activities. Leading edge has become part of our extended family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

This is a very nice school the class's are a nice size, the teachers have been there long enough that they know most of the kids. they are just great.


Posted July 23, 2013

The East Mesa campus is absolutely wonderful. The principal is warm and personal. The classrooms are bright and engaging and so are the teachers. The office staff is great. They return calls quickly and try to answer any question and solve any problem that I might have as a parent. My children love attending the after school homework club that the 2nd grade teacher runs. Both my children have accomplished much at this school. Their reading is amazing and my daughter exceeded on the AIMS test. (yeah!) The teachers discipline gently and firmly and all the classes have a warm welcoming environment. My children bring home the most amazing art projects from their art teacher and have been involved in drama and the talent show that has been put on in the past. It is small and limited in the playground department but my children have been there for 4 years and although parents may complain about the playground my children NEVER have. They LOVE it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

Out of all the leading edge campuses this is by far the best! Mr Jamerson the principle is amazing and great for the kids the teachers at this campus are some of the best I have ever seen both my boys have attended this campus for years and we have loved every min of it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

The East Mesa campus is a lot like a small town - with the good and the bad. There are a lot of things that parents don't know, because they don't know they need to ask! If you are new, the office thinks that you are just going to pick it up, as you go along. You can feel alienated very easily. Any communication is broadcast to the parents (sort of) but if you want to know any details about what is going on, you have to go to the source. The secretary of a small school can be its nurturing heartbeat, but if you are not part of her "in-crowd" don't expect to be treated the same as a "favored parent". The school is good & teachers = great! The principal knows all the students by name and talks to them. Some parents are super-involved and some parents aren't involved at all; both of the extremes and the middle road, too. There isn't enough room to play on the playground, and this frustrates the parents. We have been told that the Leading Edge district is working on it, but ... district got the Gilbert school a new playground and we got a hand-me-down :( Makes us wonder what is really going on in the office, but as I am not in that "clique" I can't tell you what the real story is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

Have you ever wondered if your child is in the right school? Well, that is exactly where we found ourselves a few years ago. We were worried about the large class sizes, not knowing the teachers very well, and not sure our child was getting the time and attention students should receive. We found Leading Edge Academy in East Mesa and a load of doubt and fears were lifted. The principal is amazingly wonderful and kind. He has made my child feel welcomed and special. The teachers we have had are phenomenal. They have made such a wonderful difference for our child. The school is small enough to know everyone, but large enough to offer wonderful opportunities such as music, drama, book clubs, and more. My child s test scores have excelled and the Character Counts Curriculum cannot be beat. We are so glad to have found this school! No school may be perfect, but this one comes darn close!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2011

Attending Leading Edge Academy in East Mesa has been a wonderful change for our family. My daughter attended public schools for four years. She was stuffed into a classroom with over thirty students, sent out to the playground with multiple classes with only one aide to supervise, and known in class by a number, not by her name. At Leading Edge Academy she is viewed as an individual, encouraged to flourish and excel in all academic and social areas. She participates in clubs after school such as Drama and Choir, takes educational field trips to numerous places throughout the year, receives one on one support from her teacher, and has earned grades every mother hopes for. The small class sizes, Character Counts program, friendly staff, and advanced academic studies will be the reason we will return year after year. The Principal, supportive teachers and office staff work diligently to see that the needs of all students are met. We feel so lucky to have found such an amazing school for our daughter, where students are truly treasured. I would strongly recommend this school to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2011

The East Mesa campus is terrible to say the least. The playground is a parent cast off wooden play structure for up to 40 kids to play on at one time - or they have the option to play in the parking lot. Apparently the district office never had the okay from the building owner to even have a proper play ground installed. The teachers are not permitted to hang items on the walls and the campus is not cleaned well. Several times there are large amounts of kids out sick at the same time through out the year. The office administrator is mean spirited and unkind to the students, The 2nd grade teacher is the worst my child has ever had and chooses to communicate by yelling at the students. After having my child tested at another school we found that she was very much behind. The bullies run the school and are not disciplined. When discipline occurs its a whole class punishment - regardless if the child was misbehaving or not. Not all the teachers are certified, no Art , PE or other extra curricular activities to speak of. Their is a lack or organization and its starts from the top and works its way all the way down. I WOULD NEVER put a child at this school.


Posted October 1, 2010

Leading Edge Academy is a great school. They have small class sizes. The kids learn so much each day. The staff and teachers are wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Leading Edge is an excellent school, they recently moved to a beautiful new facility on Crismon and University in East Mesa. Back to basics character-driven curriculum and awesome teachers.


Posted September 16, 2009

This school has wonderful morals, loving teachers and the best principle!! I am so happy beyond words that my children get to attend such a great school :o)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

14 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

16 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
90%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

17 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 42%
Hispanic 9% 43%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 4% 5%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 627-3634

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10115 East University Drive
Mesa, AZ 85207
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 984-5645

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT