Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
48 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 52 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Bush Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 24, 2016
- a parent
The principal is very involved with the students. I am very impressed with him. I really love this school.

Bush Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a community member
My son started kindergarten here this year and was placed in ms. Wells class and we've had nothing but positive experiences!my son is very hyper active and easily distracted so he can be difficult to get through to at times but ms wells has really been understanding and helps him a lot just by being kind and patient with him. School is almost out and my 6 year old now reads to me at bedtime! And he writes pretty good too, I really couldn't be happier with the school. I do agree that the location isn't the best but I don't forsee them moving anytime soon so I won't take away for that lol plus I think the school was there before all the warehouses cuz the neighborhood behind it doesn't look necessarily new


Bush Elementary School 1

Posted March 31, 2016
- a community member
I am single mom and this school seems not to understand how busy I am . Calling and emailing me over silly things through out the day . I feel like they single me out because I can not come in on a drop of the dime. I hate where this school is located , Right in the middle of business with zero school zone driving .

Bush Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 22, 2015
- a community member
My children love their school and as a parent, I find the more you are involved, the better the school is. My older son was bullied and I confronted the issue with Mr. Olson right away and he did a phenomenal job stopping the bully. I do have to disagree with the parent who stated the front office is not friendly. Leanne and Lynette are two of the most resourceful and positive ladies I have met. They are always quick to help in a professional manner. The teachers are amazing and are there for one reason, an education to our children. Many families seek to send their children to this school as the education is on the top so many children do not live in the school boundary. This to me says a lot about the education my children receive. Every teacher I have met enjoys their job and not only make it an environment to learn but a fun one. Don't let the negative comments distract you from a great school!! Bobcat family!

Bush Elementary School 1

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
As an ex-teacher in the Mesa Public School District and a parent of children now in this district, this school, in my opinion, is by far the worst school in the Mesa Public School District. The school is nice as are the playgrounds. The year started off okay, my child was placed in a develpmentally delayed class. My child was treated nicely by his teacher and aides. They were young but took very good care of him. But it didn't stay good. I was very disappointed in one of the Speech Pathologists who did not treat my child appropriately at all. She had a tendency to single out children, including my child, and bullied them. I agree with the curt and rude behavior of the front office, the school nurse and principal included. The health aide and librarian were nice, however, as well as some of the other teachers. I felt that they, the front office staff, did not want parents involved and were annoyed when we were there. In my opinion, they did not support their "open door" policy at all. I would not suggest this school to anyone. It was really disappointing, especially to an ex teacher.


Bush Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
This is a great school and has educated children not the kind you see from other schools. The front office staff are very friendly. My neighbors children also go there and they think it is terrific too. Can't wait for next school year.

Bush Elementary School 2

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
My children attended kindergarten and it has not been a great experience. Although I think the teachers try & one is very loving they seem overloaded by large classroom sizes & strict guidelines on how the curriculum must be taught. One teacher has told me every time we have met that she does not have time to teach the children individually with 26 students in her class. It seems like all she has time to do is give instruction of how to fill out papers & not really teach concepts or curb teaching methods to reach all students. The administration seems to be going through the motions, not engaged &/or empowering the teachers to be innovative. They need more help - aids or smaller classes (there are 29 kids in one kindergarten class with an aid a couple hrs a day!). My kids love their friends but I have enrolled them elsewhere as I want them to be taught to think & learn not just memorize & be a drone. On a more disturbing note, bullying is notorious at this school. A warning sign that I should have paid attention to when I visited the school was an inappropriate derogatory joke about a kid that the principle made to me when a developmentally delayed child approached him.

Bush Elementary School 1

Posted January 19, 2013
- a parent
On the surface this school looks great. New building, nice playground, well dressed staff, unfortunately when you look deeper than the surface this school fails miserably on some very crucial levels. I agree with the post below as to the non existing leadership and curt office staff. The school is not conducive to a healthy learning environment. I feel sorry for the teachers who are doing a good job having to work in those stressful conditions. I am now afraid to let my children attend this school as many of the staff seem to set the tone of bulling others as acceptable behavior. There are some good people at Bush but the handful of people who run the show there through corrupt politics have ruined any confidence I have for Mesa Public Schools. It's a real shame.


Bush Elementary School 5

Posted June 25, 2012
- a parent
Our children attend Bush and love this school. So sad that the previous poster has sent children to this school almost every year it has been open (15yrs.) and had such difficult experiences. Why did you continue to send them there? The vitriol spewed by the previous poster says more about them than Bush Elementary. Why don't you take advantage of open enrollment, and move! Bush is a great school and we wouldn't go anywhere else.

Bush Elementary School 1

Posted June 23, 2012
- a parent
Our family has had children in this school almost every year it has been open. The administration in the last few years has been horrible. Open enrollment has destroyed any sense of community. Most families who bring their kids to this school do not live in the neighborhood. They have had many issues that are never addressed by the school or district with preferential treatment. All of my children have come home upset about how the teachers and aids bully the kids. This school has gotten worse in the last two years. We thought the Montessori addition would improve the school but the teachers have proven to be just as cliquy and ruthless as many other teachers who rule this school. Many children who attended this school have told my wife and I about being bullied by staff over the years. Reporting it does no good. The district protects their staff. It is a shame that a newer school with many bright and capable children who attend year after year is ruined by a politically unhealthy clique of adults who are so unprofessional and mean spirited. I have seen this village and you do not want it any where near your children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bush Elementary School
4925 E Ingram, Mesa, AZ  85205
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 52 reviews. (480) 472-8500
Last modified Bush Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top