Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Benjamin Franklin Charter School - Mesa

Charter | K-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 26, 2013

After an extremely bad year, and a letter from some lady none of us know, I'm highly upset to see that my child has to go somewhere else. My child has spent the entire year receiving inconsistent teaching, with conflicting reports sent home. We were told that we could go to the Gilbert Campus, only to be told later that it wasn't available either- that it would be moved, too. A call the the principal yesterday showed that she wasn't even on campus to be questioned. I certainly hope that my review isn't flagged again, but I will continue to make it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

After an extremely poor year, families were informed 8 weeks prior to the end of the year that the school is closing. We were informed via an informal email/letter from some woman I've never heard of and were told we could drive to the Gilbert Campus or ask the front desk about other options. This entire year was a joke from a 3rd grade teacher who is more suited to teach high school to unsupportive administration who make excuses for their negligent staff. This was a year that could make or break my student's value of school and the teacher spent more of the year nit picking him rather than teaching him. After 3 prior successful years, this was a HUGE disappointment. Sadly, I have to say I am not surprised they are closing from their wishy washy support staff to their high school level politics. In this school you are either mormon or worthless in their eyes. Unless of course you have money to donate. It wasn't hard to see this school coming apart at its seams this year. The best thing I can pull from this is that our family is forced to find a much better educational environment for our child. I certainly hope the other campuses aren't run in such a poor manner.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2013

We just received news yesterday that Ben Franklin Mesa is closing at the end of this school year. I cannot say I am surprised as the school as dealt with alot of changes and have not been able to roll with them successfully. I will miss the many great families I have met over the years. I wish they could have given us more notice as most charter schools in the area have already had their registration for the upcoming school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2013

This campus is closing after many years. Although a great program, the Mesa campus principal is never there anymore. I have been very disappointed this year in my dealings with her. On Monday morning I will be calling the Gilbert campus to see if I can get my children in there this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

We moved mid-year and transferred our kindergartner here. He loves it and I love it. The kindergarten teacher is really on top of things. Whenever I visit the campus I am impressed by the kids and the (in general) missing "attitude" when observing even the older students. They may have limited resources, but I appreciate the small school atmosphere and attention to academics and character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2012

We could not be any happier with this school. Great teachers and great parents. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2011

One thing to mention is that this school has no team sports, only what is played in PE. The library is an occasional offering in an empty classroom, but when there are too many students, there is no more library. There are no computers available to the students. There is not always a play each year, but sometimes there is one play offered for older students. It is a small school with most classes in trailers and very limited resources. Otherwise, the school does what it can with what it has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2011

I initially loved this school for my child based on the ideas of teaching the constitution, principles and preparing them to be good citizens. As previously posted, there is nothing available for advanced/gifted students. While there is no proclaimed religion at this school, you will find that the dress code is in accordance with LDS guidelines and the social aspect is not friendly towards non LDS families. There is definately a pecking order when it comes to the administration caring about parental concerns, if you are not in the club, do not expect the principal to even respond to your questions or ideas. With that being said, the kindergarten teacher is an incredible lady who will go above and beyond to help your child do their best. Safety is also a concern, the outdoor aides are useless and often daydreaming or socializing when they should be watching the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

I think this is a wonderful school. My children have been attending for many years. I think your race survey was right on track. Another item that parents may want to consider is the religious orientation of the school. This school is primarily based on a staff and student population from a particular religious base and families that are not a part of this religion can be made to feel uncomfortable. This is something they may want to research before becoming a part of the program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2010

When I was searching for schools for my daughter who was entering kindergarten I found Benjamin Franklin. I am so glad that I found this school because it is such a wonderful place. They have just the right amount of love and dicipline to make this school work. I love how envolved this school is with the children and keeping parents envolved. They keep the classrooms at a decent size so every child is taken care of. I love the fact that they praise kids and recognize them for the good things they do and not just the bad like I have seen a lot of schools because they are overwhelmed. They teach children to reach their full potential and they also teach respect which was a huge thing for me. They also encourage and love parents to be in the class rooms to help. I recommend this school to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2010

From the principal to the teachers, this school really cares about every single child. I love the concentration on Reading, Writing and Arithmetic. I am also impressed with the way each teacher consistantly structures the class so that no time is wasted and every minute is spent on learning. They even skip count on there way to class! I also love the Flag Ceremony in the morning where the teachers talk about different virtues every month and the students are honored for displaying these values. What a great school this is. I highly recommend that you pop in any time and visit a class, you will be so impressed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

Super happy with the teachers and staff. I really like the small campus and how much everyone cares about the students. The expectations are high but not unachievable. The Spalding method is wonderful and even the kindergarteners learn how to read, write, and spell. Yeah!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2009

We are in our 10th year at Ben frankin mesa campus, and very pleased with the entire program. Parents can be and are encouraged to be involved with their childs education.I feel extreamly informed about all of my childrens strengths and weaknesses, great parent teacher communication, your child will recieve an excellent education here, and obedient behavior is not only expected but insisted on, so all of the classrooms are very much 'under control' their is never a need to wonder what your childs day is like because at any time any parent is welcome to either help in the classroom or simply observe.Our new principal Mrs.Baker is wonderful addition to our school ,keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

Franklin provides an adequate education for an average student but they cannot provide for the advanced student or the struggling student. They simply don't have the resources nor the training. I would suggest the public school setting if your child falls into either of these categories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

This was our first year at Benjamin Franklin, but we knew we needed something different, that our local distric school wasn't providing. We have been very pleased with every aspect of the schools acedemic program and quality. We love our boys teachers and the attention given to their acedemic progress. My husband and I always felt well informed. Thanks for a great first year! We'll be back!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

As a parent I chose this school because I could be involved with my childs education. When choosing this school remember that it was a choice to attend. This school delivers what it says. It has high expectations and an excellerated curriculum. Parents who support the curriculum help to make the program work. One thing that I have learned is that the policies are set in place and the teachers are expected to adhear to them. I, as a parent must also adhear to the policies whether I like them or not. If I choose to not agree with the policies, I have the choice to move my child to another school. I love the small personal feel of the Mesa campus and enjoy the faculty and staff. I highly recommend Benjamin Franklin Charter School Mesa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

My daughter has learned so much! It's amazing to hear my kindergartner read so good and speaking eloquently. Mrs. Stradling is an amazing teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2008

It is fair to say that this school has excellent curriculum and the teachers are well qualified. They also have some interesting programs. We were very involved at this school. We have sent six of our children to this school, trying on two separate occasions. There is too much rigidity and negativity on campus, from the administration on down.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

I'm coming from a public school and have found more interest and involvement with my child, less children in the classroom which enables the teacher to spend more one on one time. My child has turned his self esteem around and is doing quite well and does not want to return to the public school where his 'friends' go to school. I appreciate the teaching methods and the teachers. I wish the dress code was not so strict.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2007

I enjoy having my child at this school very much. All the teachers spend one on one time with each student. I respect his school greatly and I feel completely safe with leaving my child at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
73%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 42%
Hispanic 17% 43%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Black 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 45%N/A49%
Male 55%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2345 N. Horne
Mesa, AZ 85203
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 632-0722

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT