Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Brimhall Junior High School

Public | 7-9 | 668 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2012

Brimhall is the best school I've been to yet! It's really a shame the city is tearing it down this summer...........at least we went out with a bang......I'll miss it so much :'(


Posted November 3, 2011

the school does not obide by the bully policy and the principle always sides with the teacher. the school is most focused on sending your kids home for pitty things like a hole in your pants above the knee, shoes and hair then educating their students. theirs a always a new policy every week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2011

I just registard for school here and when I walked in the adminastration office they were so rude!!! They have the strictest workers ive ever seen!! This is hard to explain but I am very short but I have long legs and i came in with shorts on and it was right after school clothes shopping and all my shorts are the same length well anyways one of the ladies says excuse me you cant wear those shorts they are WAYYYY to short (these were probably the longest shorts i have) so now I probably have to go and return all my shorts i got for this year!! THANKSBRIMALL THANKS A LOT!! (NOT!!)


Posted May 7, 2011

The new principal has made this a much better school for everyone. I have 2 children and my son is in 8th grade this year & about to graduate. The difference in the entire school atmosphere since the new principal was installed this year is beyond words. My daughter went through Brimhall 3 years ago & things were a lot worse. The teachers and staff are hardworking & very caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2011

I am a student at Brimhall and do not like it at all. The new principal puts rules on things she doesn't like, but there is no problem with. For example, a small purse that does not go against dress code at all and you get it taken away, even though she lets people carry around purses the size of their locker?! They solve all problem with a detention or a no-contact contract. This is very ineffective and they are just full of empty threats. All they do is try to help the kids with behavioral issues, and do not help kids who truely need the help. Over all I am very disappointed with this school, and so is everyone I know.


Posted August 5, 2010

My son has such a great experience at this school for 7th grade. They have such wonderful caring teachers who have encouraged him to do his best. the principal knows every child by name and treats them with so much respect
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

This is a good school, but I do not feel that there is enough done to help or motivate excelling kids. My son gets straight A's, but the teachers focus on kids who struggle all the time and who are behavior problems. When kids fail, they can retake test after test until they get an A. It's frustrating that some kids get grades that they do not earn. Kids who earn their grades feel like their hard work is for nothing. Why work hard and turn something in on time, when your friend can turn it in three weeks late and still get a B+? Some kids get special tests where there are only two multiple choices per questions. Hmmm. Take a guess with a 50/50 chance? Some kids get it easy. I just hope my son continues to work hard and does not cave in to the low expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2010

The school overall is a standard Arizona school (not very high standards) The teachers are not very helpful. The principle's rule for lunch is for each table of kids to clean up. This would be ok but you end up with kids that did not leave trash cleaning up after the kids that did, constantly. The principle stated that this was done to teach responsibility. It teaches the lazy kids that they can get away with all kinds of stuff and the kids that follow rules get screwed over. It's also this way because there are too many kids and no way to watch who does what. So are the kids running the kids? Sounds like it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

My son is in 9th grade and joind Brimhall a month into school year moving from MN and starting from the front office, teachers, counselor, coaches, prinicpal have been wonderful and my son has loved attending Brimhall this year hat's off to a wonderful loving, caring staff at Brimhall. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2010

I currently to Brimhall. I think it's a great school. However, the Principal needs to be changed. She has been there sense my brother was there and my brother is 23.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2010

Well, I'm a student at Brimhall. I have been attending there for 2 years now. I enjoy most of my classes, and have no problem with my classmates or teachers. Although I do have some problems with the people in the front office, Administration. They can be rude and difficult. I have the hardest time trying to talk with them. Their the only problem I have with the school. Everything else I am fine with. I feel safe going to this school, and enjoy it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 18, 2009

I have had 3 children attend Brimhall Jr. High. It has been a great experience for both me and my children. The teachers go out of their way to help students to be successful. They are both knowledgeable and professional. Although the counselors have never been particularly helpful, this is a great school! I would recommend Brimhall to any parent that wants a GREAT education for their student!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

Brimhall junior high is a greeat school and has taught me a lot this school is better than any of the junior highs i have been to or schools. you can realy get a lot out of the work you do and they teach in methods that you can remember!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2009

I go to Brimhall and I love it. It's an amazing school. I'm doing excellent there. The teachers and staff are truly great. I get help whenever I need it. It's a really great school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2008

I have never been so disappointed about a school as I am with this one. The staff and administration could learn some manners on how to treat parents and students. They are difficult and rude! The teachers only call when your student has to serve detention but yet when you call and ask how your student is doing or how you can help with their progress their answers are always the same 'there are to many students to worry about just yours'. I battle with this school every single day and nothing changes. The principal is arrogant and demeaning to the students which I find to be harming to my sons education. I give this school an F.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

they are not teaching mi child like she should be and they have way to many fights there and to may kids go there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 9, 2007

Both of my daughters have attended this school. I am very displeased with with this school. There is no individual attention to the students. If a child isn't a self learner she/he is more than likely not going to thrive, grow and learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2007

Honestly I can say that this is a disappointing school. It is not a very nurturing environment and the staff wasn't very sensitive to the students and the parents needs. The best parts of my day were science and orchestra, and they werent even that great. The counselors were rather slow on response. I took the 7th Grade ELP Geography class and I found it too difficult so at the beginning of 3rd Quarter we contacted my counselor and I wasn't moved to a lower class till beginning 4th quarter and In 9th grade I was having trouble w/ AA Eng. and we again contacted my counselor mid 3rd quarter to move me to grade level english and never even got a call back. Now I have to do summer for the class before i can graduate senior year. Overall, I would give the school a D. Not very Impressive
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 8, 2007

The administration at this school is awful and very difficult to work with...If you are looking for a place that cares about children and treats them individually this is not the place...they have very little respect for the students or the parents...If you would like to have a say in your child's education this is not the place, you cannot even request that you child switch classes...this place was a complete disappointment and I am so glad my child is done with this place
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2007

I have 2 children who are currently attending Brimhall Jr. High. I am continually discouraged by the incompetency of some of their teachers. I have never been more dissatisfied by a school in terms of administration, counselors, front-office workers, and teachers. There is a rigidity and a ridiculous amount of strictness present. Sensitivity training as well as setting a benchmark for hiring qualified teachers would be a plus here. I would never recommend this junior high school to another parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 51% 42%
Hispanic 37% 43%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 472-2698

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4949 E Southern Ave
Mesa, AZ 85206
Website: Click here

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare

Add this school to compare
ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT