Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Burke Basic School

Charter | K-6 | 883 students

 
 

Living in Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $74,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $710.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 16, 2013

Our daughter, now in 8th grade, attended K-6 at Burke Basic School. She received an excellent, solid education. The teachers were wonderful, as were the director, principal, and staff members. It is obvious that everyone really cares about the students and whether they are progressing. The expectations for both academics and behavior are high. Now in junior high, our daughter is taking all honors classes, and I believe that the core education she received at Burke Basic is one of the reasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2013

I have 2 children attending this school since KG, they are now in 4th & 2nd. I've loved this school since day one the education my boys get is awesome and blows my mind how great these teachers here teach both my boys have learned so much so quick and the character traits they teach have really made a difference in the way they carry them selves, I will truly miss this school when its time for my son to move on to 7th. Highly recommend this school and its AFTERCARE program (great&affordable)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

My son has been attending Burke Basic since Kindergarten. He will now be entereing the Fourth Grade this year. I am always pleased with the academic rigor and structure that is at my child's school. I am so pleased with the educational fieldtrips, the phonics program that is implemented, friendliness of all of the staff, and that I, the parent, matter and I am encouraged to take part in my child's education. I also love that the homework sent home is very minimal. This is important to me as a working parent with young children at home. I enjoy the Character First Program that teaches my child good moral values each month and the morning assemblies where they recite the character trait for that month and also say the Pledge of Allegiance. Not many schools teach patriotism anymore like they did when I was in elementary school. My daughter will be attending Kindergarten this year and can't wait! This is the school for you!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2012

My children have been going to burke for two years now. Last year everything was great for the most part, however i do have some issues with the dress code! Kids are not allowed to were there jackets unless they are red, blue, or white. No bows or nothing in the hair, this is a bit much but you deal due to the great acadimics. This year i love my kids teachers but its being a lot of kids ganging up on other kids. I have been to the school three times already to try to get things handled. Mr gaddy is Awsome but how much can one stand for. Based on acadimics alone the school is great. I do agree with everyone else there should be some sort of after school program. And better communication for the programs they do have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

I am verry pleased with my sons education achievement's at this school. Although he is not so pleased with the playground not having swings. I had him in a public school which I was very upset with because they where keeping him from recess because of the way he colored either to sloppy if he went fast or didn't finish in time because he went to slow. That has never been an issue at Burke. His teacher is concerned with his education goals, like reading, spelling and math more than just coloring. The parking lot is a nightmare, but it's a small price to pay considering the achievment that my child has endured. I would recommend this school to any parent looking for a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

The teachers & staff at Burke really do care & they show it. My daughter is in an andvanced 3rd grade class and doing very well. Along the regular course work, they are given work that is slightly above average for this grade which keeps them challenged. The school could improve on extra curricular activities as their is no band, sports, clubs at this school. There is a wonderful program called Odessy of the Minds that I would love to see implemented at Burke. Overall, I think this is a great school for any child to get a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2008

My child has been going to burke since kindergarden i love the way the gaddy's run there school and the academics i would recemend this school to other parents
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

Burke Basic School is such a wonderful school. My son is in 2nd grade and was recently put into in GIFTED class. The teachers are caring and the principle and staff know all the kids by name. They really go back to teachingkids the fundamentals of learning, and my children excel more in 1 year then they have in any other public school. They even bus out all the way to East Mesa.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

Burke Basic School is as concerned with all students equally, The Character of staff & students is awesome. It is a very patriotic school. All students are winners! And loved. I wish I had had the opportunity as a student when I was growing up to have a teacher as dedicated and compassioate as Burke's. The Office staff does a tremendous job. Transportation is a hard Job but handled well by Mr. Dave Craig. Burke is by far the best school.


Posted April 14, 2008

Its ok but me as a student dont really love the school.It kind of looks not so colorful from the outside it needs a makeover.And changing the fact of the uniform thing.I think the outside should need some grassy areas outside because its all concreak & sand.But aside of all that Burke Basic School is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

My son has been going here since kindergarten and this is his final year at Burke. All of his teachers were caring and thoughtful. They kept me informed of the things he needed to do to achieve. I am sp glad that Burke Basic School has been there for my son and I know he is more than ready to go to middle school. Thank you Mr. Gaddie and Mr. Winsor for making the school a safe and beneficial place for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2008

The school is just excellent. The curriculum is challenging and you dont have to worry about your child being complacent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

My son just started kindergarten this year 07-08, I was originally going to have him attend a public school. When I went to enroll him at the public school I was told that he would need to attend pre-k because of his age ( has to be 5 by Sept. 1st). I checked out Burke Basic School because I seen their age requirements were different ( has to be 5 by Dec.31), and I knew my son was ready for kindergarten, so I had him tested to see where he was at and they agreed with me that he was ready for school. I went ahead and enrolled my son at Burke Basic School, and his dad and I are very thankful that we made that decession. My son enjoys school and has learned more then I had expected him to learn for just being in kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2008

I just wanted to write something about my son's kindergarten teacher and school. Miss Mahaffey is the perfect teacher for [our son]! She has been a blessing in our lives. Thank you for having her as a teacher at Burke. I also wanted to write about the school in general. It is such a positive, uplifting place. My children are learning more than they ever did at the district school. I appreciate the support the school gives in teaching character values and patriotism. This is the best school I could ever imagine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

Burke is a school who cares, not only about academics but emotional growth as well. Three of my children have attended this school. My daughter is now out of Special Ed because of the efforts of all the staff at Burke. My son went from an angry, non-achieving, acting out student to one who had confidence in himself. Mrs. Lesperance is a teacher above all others - she doesn't give up on her students. My youngest son has just been diagnosed with autism. Burke worked with him for a year in which he made little progress. It takes a lot for a school to suggest that they might not be the best placement for your child. Most won't but Burke did because they care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

My daughters have attended Burke for three years. I was pleased with the school until this year. The principal was replaced and the whole atmosphere changed. He acts like he is concerned about your problems, but then avoids solving them. I feel that the learning environment has been turned into a competition between students that does not allow the struggling students to ever achieve. I will not be bringing my children back to this school next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2007

I'm not really impressed by this school. My son has attended the 06-07 school year. I haven't had many good experiences with Burke Basic. I find it to be very challenging to get any straight answers from all the staff. I can say however my son has learned a lot in only a years time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2006

My children have attended Burke Basic School since the school opened in the fall of '99. My oldest son's teacher was the finest teachers he has ever had. She encouraged him to work beyond what he thought he could do. I am thankful for Burke because he is now a junior at his high school and is involved with both National Honor Society and Future Business Leaders of America. Because his teacher showed him the things he could do to achieve, his test scores are high enough to get him into the college of his choice. All because one Burke teacher inspired him to do his very best. Thank you Burke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2006

This school is a great school. The principal knows most of the students by name and the teacher are really great and hard workers. My daugther really enjoys been there as well as my niece and nephew. All the students wear uniforms, so not to diefentiate between them or make one feel less than the other. Which I think is great becuase not all parents can afford to buy good label or new cloths often. They are strict and the children are really respectful not like in most public schools that I have been on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2006

Burke has been wonderful for my daughter. We started there when they opened in 1999. We only had one bad experience with a teacher. She had come from another state and had come from the public school atmosphere & wasn't use to the ways of charter schools. The principal let her go in the end, which was best. When my daughter started 1st grade there she tested @ pre-k level & @ the end of the school year she was almost @ 2nd grade in 1 years time.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 68% 42%
White 18% 42%
Black 9% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 6%
Asian 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A46%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

131 E. Southern Ave.
Mesa, AZ 85210
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 964-4602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT