Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cambridge Academy East

Charter | K-6 | 273 students

Small classroom sizes and highly qualified Teachers
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 19 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted April 12, 2011

The vision of Cambridge Academy East is an excelling, achievement-oriented environment where children in grades K-8 learn, master, and eventually apply foundational skills in a sequence that logically builds from the most basic elementary content to increasingly higher order conceptual thinking. We are a school committed to the family, embracing the notion that the school is an extension of the home, and therefore we must work together to achieve success. It is our belief that all children have the ability to achieve greatness and become the person they dream of being. At Cambridge Academy East, we provide a rigorous and Arizona State Standards aligned curriculum, disciplined environment where our students are academically and socially prepared to excel in demanding college preparatory schools.

111 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 7, 2010

I think that there must be a difference between the Mesa campus and the Queen Creek campus because our experience wasn t great. Parents didn't get involved in the school at QC and the teachers didn't want to help the PTO because they felt they already spent too much time helping students and that is a shame since it raised money for their projects, field trips, and equipment. Parents sacrifice a lot to send their children to a school that is smaller and boasts their focus on the individual yet children get bladder infections because they aren't allowed to go to the bathroom. The days are shorter than regular school, they don't have a library, no sports programs, and they don't have a cafeteria unless you pre-buy meals. The only person with a food handlers card is the one food handler and no one has a managers food card. They have no cleaners for the building so it is absolutely disgusting unless they clean it for an event and the teachers have to clean their own rooms. International night spends months on countries with little significance and is a waste of time and money! Not worth the sacrifice to attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2010

I read the school's point of view and if they can't handle parents voices there concerns perhaps thye should not have signed up for this sight or maybe they should make changes to the friendliness of the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2010

We have been at Cambridge for three years now and have been very impressed. When our children have struggled they have received the attention that they needed to remediate and gain success. Their test scores have steadily increased every year that our kids have been enrolled. The teachers are engaging and are sincerely happy to be at school every single day as evidenced by my kids sadness when summer starts and excitement as school begins again. I don't regret one minute of my kids education here. Thanks for a great experience from a proud parent and supporter of your efforts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

Cambridge is a school with empty promises. Parents do your homework. The school is run by family and they only have their interests at heart. This would have been our third year there, but due to the lack of administration being available to address certain issues and staff that was rude every time you called or asked a question, we have decided to seek our educational needs elsewhere. There is no strong principal leadership or friendly staff. What happened to tutoring children that were struggling. What happened to all the promises!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

Let me start by saying I am on of a dozen families that have left JUST THIS YEAR! We attended Cambridge for 2 yrs. and truly found it to be lacking in many areas. I thought going to a charter would be better but there certainly are many drawbacks here.They say they offer art,PE,music & spanish-its truly a joke. PE consists of playing dodgeball with a family member of the school as the coach-the spanish is also taught by a family member who would rather tell stories than teach-just to give a couple of examples. Also,if you have any issues beware of bringing it up to staff-it will come back to haunt you & the problem will still be there. BTW, many of the posts here are by the very family members who run the school-Lacks moral ethics here-please do your research parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

3rd yr at Cambridge coming from CA and then a local "highly desirable" school. 17 kids in his class vs. 30+ in the public school. There are two 4th grades vs. 4 or 5. There is a staggered dismissal time so all 280 students are not released in mass exodus like the 1500 population public school we attended for 6 months. My son receives more individual attention to his studies....there is music, arts and PE. We also join afterschool programs. There are many opportunties..you just have to get INVOLVED in the school, PTO and extracurricular activiites. Noone has time or money right now, but they are kids, trusted to us for a very short time. We all want the best for our kids. Cambridge might not be right in every situation, but it is a small community where your voice can be heard and your efforts will make a HUGE difference.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2010

This school has so much to offer. A previous review stated that there are no sports programs. No elememtary schools have them. You have to join leagues (there are many to choose from) There is PE, spanish, music, and art. They have a full time music teacher who also teaches choir. Two weeks of test prep is a small amount. Some schools have daily test prep all year long!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2010

School is great as long as your child is acceptable to them, if your child isnt exactly the child they find ok, they will not accept them. They will do everything to push your child out of their school! Their rules change according to their desire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2010

Very pleased with this school. We just received our welcome packet for next year and are looking forward to this next school year! Cambridge has been a great choice for our family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2010

The teachers at the Queen Creek location are amazing! My daughter loves going to school and learning. Her first grade teacher was great except she could be demeaning to the children as well as the parents. I was a little taken back by her approach. The campus was their temporary campus but it was always dirty and the bathrooms were a nightmare. I don't know if they use a janitorial service, but they should fire them. The education my child received was the best and I am grateful for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2010

After attending this school for the past 4 yrs. it seems the administration is really lacking. My son really loves his teacher but there has been alot of turnover of teachers in the past.Seems if you question the administration as a parent or teacher, its as if you are on the black list,they can make it very difficult for you if you have concerns or dont agree with them on issues that affect the children. Needless to say, we will not be returning next year. Being a charter school, you really have to know what to watch out for-as far as the 'board'--its run by their own family members! That should say volumes. Very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

Although the education has been great, I have noticed that the administration at the Queen Creek Campus is lacking. On several occasions I have wanted to speak to an administrator yet there is never one there. I have overheard conversations in the parking lot in which the administrators have been yelling back and forth from car to building about issues that are best kept private. Hopefully they will realize that they are causing themselves great harm. Upon looking into this campus further I found that the administrators also lack the education to successfully manage a school. The teachers have been amazing, it saddens me to see that the administration does not appear to be as great as was expected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Cambridge Academy East has been a fabulous choice for our family. We've had both our kids here since Kindergarten. Our kids have received a great education and our oldest who now goes to a prep school in the area is doing fabulous. I give props to the teachers and staff for preparing my kids for a rigorous program in jr. high!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Seriously, you give a school 1 star because you can't find their website?! http://cambridgeacademyaz.com/ then select the location you want. My kids don't go to this school yet, but we are starting in the fall, and already we are being welcomed with open arms. Really looking forward to starting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Cambridge QC has a Facebook page and there is a link on the main Cambridge East website. The 2 schools are on one site. sorry the last post was having issues finding QC They are a great school and I am so glad we found them last year. My son is in Kinder and is so excited to go on to first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

I can't find the Cambridge Academy Queen Creek campus page, so, this comment is directed at the QC Campus: Awful. No thanks. We will pass on this one.


Posted April 20, 2010

Cambridge Academy is excelled in Academics. Small classroom size for more one on one interaction with students. My youngest son was not doing very good academically in public schools and now he is doing excellent at Cambridge.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Cambridge Academy East is one of the best schools that we have ever seen. The small classroom sizes (20 - 24 students) gives the teachers the chance for one on one teaching. The staff knows your name as soon as you walk in the door, this from having only 250 students in the school. Our son loves going to school, and we love that he is learning from the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

First impressions are everything! The best way to select a school for your child is to visit the school...sounds simple enough but other schools asked me to set up an appt. or attend a group meeting held once a month. Cambridge Academy front office staff, set down what she was doing and walked me around the campus right then. Not only that, I was allowed to go into the classroom my son would be in and speak to the STUDENTS. I asked them who was new that year and were the teachers smart and nice. Kids are brutally honest so speak to the kids at whatever school you go to...not all schools are for every child...but Cambridge Academy seems to be right for parents seeking personalized attention in a small classroom atmosphere. We haven't sacrificed programs that the large schools offer but enjoy enriched learning experience and parent involvement. Just stop by and see for yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Both my children and I love this school. Smaller class sizes help to give more personal time to each child. The teachers and staff are all really caring!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 16% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Amy Monarrez, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 325-2365

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Sunshine Acres
  • A+ Plus Catering
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Flag football
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Team Sports instruction
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Softball
  • Team Sports instruction

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Drama club
  • Girls on the run
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our students are encouraged to set goals. We are focused on getting students prepared for higher learning. Our students start with a dream and finish with a future! Unlike traditional K-6 Elementary schools, we enter our 5th and 6th graders onto our Enhanced Educational Track. This includes Common Core studies, experiencing different teachers for each core principle and Enrichment courses heavily based in science and technology. Please call Heather Montoya for more information! 480-641-2828.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Smith Junior High
Fremont Junior High
Shepherd Junior High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9412 E. Brown Rd.
Mesa, AZ 85207
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 641-2828

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT