Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cambridge Academy East

Charter | K-6 | 273 students

Small classroom sizes and highly qualified Teachers
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 19 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted April 12, 2011

The vision of Cambridge Academy East is an excelling, achievement-oriented environment where children in grades K-8 learn, master, and eventually apply foundational skills in a sequence that logically builds from the most basic elementary content to increasingly higher order conceptual thinking. We are a school committed to the family, embracing the notion that the school is an extension of the home, and therefore we must work together to achieve success. It is our belief that all children have the ability to achieve greatness and become the person they dream of being. At Cambridge Academy East, we provide a rigorous and Arizona State Standards aligned curriculum, disciplined environment where our students are academically and socially prepared to excel in demanding college preparatory schools.

111 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2009

This is my child's second week at the Queen Creek location. The first day my child was afraid and shy. The lady at the front desk took the time to speak with her and told her everything would be okay. She even walked her to her class and told her to come to her if she felt sad or afraid. She took the time later that day to call me to let me know that she was doing okay. To me that was amazing that she made my daughter and I feel so special. This along with the fact that my daughter's teacher was so amazing, made me feel that I had made the right decision in changing schools. My daughter enjoys doing her homework and cannot wait to go back the next day to school. Everyone is so friendly and helpful! I would highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Wonderful wonderful. I can't say enough great things about this school. All very hard working.


Posted September 25, 2009

great caring school with excellent teachers and academics
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

What a great school! My children attend the Queen Creek Campus and although in a temporary campus it is very homey. I have seen all of the teachers excited and eager to teach our children! I especially think that the kindergarten teachers are terrific! They are always very bubbly, singing songs and planning a lot of fun things for my child to do. The team work is amazing and they spend time doing things together, all three classes! WOW!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

We are very excited, foreign languages and art classes are being taught to students in the Queen Creek campus. One of my children had a teacher at Edu-Prize that would yell and raise her voice. I have removed all of my children from that school and now they go to Cambridge Academy in Queen Creek. What a difference! They actually look forward to going to school every day! One of them told me, 'Daddy, I didn't know learning could be so much fun!' They are learning Spanish as well as German. The new campus they are building looks like a palace! Thanks Cambridge for being passionate about education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

We just attended Curriculum Night at Cambridge. What an amazing school!! The administrative staff, principal Amy, teachers, and the receptionist Liz are truly the best at what they do. From the time you enter the doors until the time you drive out of the parking lot, they make sure that you and your children feel as if you are most important person. The teachers take the time to make sure your child is fully, yes fully understanding of what was taught each day. The teachers will even tutor, at no charge, your child after school to ensure them the best education possible. Where else are you going to find teachers like this that truly care about your child. My two children wake up every morning excited about going to school. Thank you Cambridge for restoring my faith in the educational system in Queen Creek!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2009

This was my child's first week in kindergarten at the Queen Creek location. The staff is so kind and caring. When I dropped my son off at school he was standing at the door crying. The receptionist went outside to comfort him and took him inside. Staff members greet each child in the morning. They always make time to answer any questions you may have. I too was worried that they may not open in time. I am so glad that that I have enrolled my child at Cambridge and look forward to a great school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2009

I just recently transferred my children from a regular public school to the Cambridge Academy in Queen Creek. I'm so happy I've actually teared up. They are just opened in a temporary location and have already achieved more oragnization than my childrens old school did in 3 years. They have an answer to every question I've had. No hesitation, no 'i'll get back to you'. They know their stuff. Small class rooms, professionally dressed staff. I have never felt better and more at ease dropping off my kids in the morning. They actually teach the kids spanish as their curriculum!! If you have a chance to send your kids to this school, do not hesitate! They love it already, I love it already, and we are all very excited for the upcoming year! Thank You Cambridge Academy-Queen Creek
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

My daughter just completed kindergarten at Cambridge Academy East and we could not be happier. Mrs. Romm is an amazing, gifted teacher! I was able to help in the classroom on a regular basis and see first-hand how the small class size really allows kids to get the individual attention they need to excel. There is a nice balance between learning and play and the kids get to participate in P.E., music, spanish and art. The campus has an upbeat, friendly feel to it, and the teachers seem happy and excited about teaching. We are looking forward to another great year at Cambridge Academy East!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2009

My son just finished another wonderful year at Cambridge. I continue to be amazed at the level of education being taught. The class sizes are smaller than regular public school which allows students to get the individual attention they need. I feel comfortable knowing my son is in a safe environment which the students are always put first. Thank you Cambridge for the wonderful commitment you make to your students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2009

A few years ago I was confronted with my first grader not reading, I wasn't too concerned until I observed a first grade class at Cambridge Academy. I withdrew my children from the other school and placed them at Cambridge. Not only did my first grader begin to read and finish the year on level but to my surprise my kindergartner was also reading! Last year my children attended another school, all the while I wished they were at Cambridge, they excelled thanks to the foundation that Miss Kinner and Mrs. Stuebbs gave my children. This year I was able to bring them back to Cambridge and again both are challenged and are excelling! Mrs. Parklan and Mrs. Jorgensen have been a breath of fresh air! There is no place that would take the place of Cambridge for my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2009

This is our first year at Cambridge and we love the fact that the teachers teach to the individual child. If your child is ahead or behind the curriculum they will teach accordingly. The teachers are also incredibly open to trying new things...that moment...not next year or say they need approval first. The administration is the same way. If you have an idea that will serve to help the school they are all for it. The environment is incredibly nurturing and loving where teachers smile, give hugs and give praise. Students are empowered and because of this I can see a difference in the confidence level of my child. Only area of improvement I would suggest is to have a more structured science program with more hands-on experiments. Regardless, each year will just get better and better with more parent involvement and the school's quest for making things better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2009

I moved my daughter a few months into the school year. I love this school! The classes are small (19 in 1st grade) and everyone is welcoming and very nice. I have been able to help in the class several times and I am in awe of the control that the teacher has in the classroom. Coming from a public school of mayhem, I find it amazing. They are able to get through so much more in the day and they have high expectations of the children. It seems very balanced and I love that they offer art, music, spanish and p.e. They do very creative, interactive activities during the day with the kids, so you don't get stacks of busy work coming home. Each grade participates in the school assembly once a month and each student seems proud to participate. This is exactly what I want out of an elementary
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2009

My Son is in Kindergarten at Cambridge he is doing great with reading and can add numbers in his head, which @ age 5 to me is excellent. He loves his teacher Mrs Adams. Who does a great job with the students. I like the fact that the class size is small. I as a parent has spent time in the classroom to help & see that the smaller class size is a big benafit to the students. I can see that if my son would of gone to the school by where we live which had 29 students to start the year he might not be above his grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

My daughter is in Kindergarten at Cambridge Academy East. So far, she is doing wonderfully! I love the small class sizes and the loving nature of the teachers. She is reading well above her grade level and loves going to school every day. The teachers are excellent and really great with the students. I couldn't be happier with my daughter's education so far. Although there is a limited choice of extra curricular activities at Cambridge, there are VERY FEW K-6 public schools that offer anything more either. If that's the only consideration for parents making a decision about school placement, I'm not sure you will ever find a school for your child. I will continue to send my child to Cambridge as long as I feel she is being stimulated as a student and respected as a person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

My children have attended this school now for 4 years, and I stand behind this school 100 percent. My daughter has maintained straight a's in junior high and I know attending Cambridge has helped her excel. My children are in smaller classes now then they would of been at the public school. More children attend this fine school beacuse parents have found out that Cambridge is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2008

My son attends Cambridge Academy and he is doing extremely well. I pulled him out of another school because he wasn't getting the attention that he needs. The class sizes were huge and he never had any on-on-one help. I have noticed that my son is doing so much better and is understanding his work. He loves this school and always looks forward to going. The teachers are awesome and Cambridge is a great school and a safe place for my son to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2008

I love Cambridge Academy. It has smaller classrooms, so the children have more one on one time with the teachers, which is important to me. The teachers are very friendly and enthusiastic. The school encourages parent participation. My son comes home and tells me waht he learned that day in spanish or music or art, so they have a variety of stuff for the children. I looked around for a good school for my son, and I couldn't have found a better one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

this school is great! they have a lot of parent involement wich is awsome! The PTO did a wonderful job on the Earth day event! it was the first year and im sure it will be better next year! WE come to this school because it is a smaller school and less kids in the classroom. I feel my son is doing, better than he would be doing in public schools. They care more about how the kids behave then how they look! and I think that is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

My kids have been at Cambridge for 2 years. We love it!! They have smaller class rooms so and the teachers all seem to have a passion for teaching and really try to keep the kids challenged. My two kids K and 1st grade love their teachers and school. Great education, and a Great staff!! We alson feel like our kids have a safe place to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 16% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Amy Monarrez, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 325-2365

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Sunshine Acres
  • A+ Plus Catering
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Flag football
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Team Sports instruction
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Softball
  • Team Sports instruction

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Drama club
  • Girls on the run
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our students are encouraged to set goals. We are focused on getting students prepared for higher learning. Our students start with a dream and finish with a future! Unlike traditional K-6 Elementary schools, we enter our 5th and 6th graders onto our Enhanced Educational Track. This includes Common Core studies, experiencing different teachers for each core principle and Enrichment courses heavily based in science and technology. Please call Heather Montoya for more information! 480-641-2828.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Smith Junior High
Fremont Junior High
Shepherd Junior High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9412 E. Brown Rd.
Mesa, AZ 85207
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 641-2828

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT