Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cambridge Academy East

Charter | K-6 | 273 students

Small classroom sizes and highly qualified Teachers
 
 

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 19 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted April 12, 2011

The vision of Cambridge Academy East is an excelling, achievement-oriented environment where children in grades K-8 learn, master, and eventually apply foundational skills in a sequence that logically builds from the most basic elementary content to increasingly higher order conceptual thinking. We are a school committed to the family, embracing the notion that the school is an extension of the home, and therefore we must work together to achieve success. It is our belief that all children have the ability to achieve greatness and become the person they dream of being. At Cambridge Academy East, we provide a rigorous and Arizona State Standards aligned curriculum, disciplined environment where our students are academically and socially prepared to excel in demanding college preparatory schools.

111 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 18, 2006

We chose Cambridge for it's class size and close knit feeling. My daughter has excelled there. It is nice to go to school where they know your child by name. They have had a few faculty changes that were a little discerning but overall we have loved it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2006

My child has been in Cambridge for 2 years. We were drawn to the school because of its smaller size and the number of pleased parents. I feel that my daughter is meeting or exceeding the standards. The school management should be more firm and consistent. Take the critizism and learn from it. I am disappinted by the lack of music art and other activities. I think that field trips are a must even if the parents have to support it. With all that said my child will finish at this school through 6th grade. It is alot better than the alternatives.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2006

My son started last year in Kinder. He was a reader and knew pre math by the time the year ended. He's now in 1st grade. This school strives for strong academic goals, and early reading is one of thier strong points. It's small class size contributes to great learning. Teachers are caring,very helpful and responsive to parents needs. Small school population is a plus. Needs better extracurricular activities, but tight budget prevents. I highly recommend Cambridge Academy East for strong academic concentration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

I am very happy with this school. My daughter started 1st grade at a public school last year and we pulled her out the first week. We then started her at Cambridge Academy and she has excelled thanks to the teachers, the curicullum and the principal. It is almost like a family. You really get to know the teachers and other parents. I would highly recommend this school if your childs learning and safety is the most important part of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2004

Enrolling my child at Cambridge Academy was the best choice I could have ever made about my child's education. My child's education has far surpassed other children I know. Thank-you to the administrators and staff for giving my child the start she needed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2004

I felt compelled to write a review because of the review on January and March 2004. My children have attended Cambridge Academy for the last two years. Prior to Cambridge they attended the public school. I have compared what my children are learning to what the neighborhood kids are learning and my kids are ahead by leaps and bounds. I have talked with the teachers at this school and morale is in fact extremely high. The teachers want their students to do well and have told me that the administration helps seek all tools necessary to ensure success. I know many of the students that graduated sixth grade last year have been placed in the AP classes in the junior high. This is a wonderful school. I feel that my family has been truly blessed by finding Cambridge Academy. Ask any parent here and they'll say the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

My daughter attended Cambridge for kindergarten. Her teacher was wonderful. She had a small class size, 14 children. My daughter was given special attention when she had learning problems early in the year. At the end of the year she was halfway thru 1st grade material. The teachers are very caring and the teaching is very good. They have enough structure and discipline in the classrooms so that kids learn to apply those qualities in their day to day lives, but still allow them to be individuals. Cambridge is also supported by the Mesa school system which means they have stadards to follow, which, I think is important. I have to wait and see how their supplemental programs are in the higher grades (gym, music, art). Overall it is a very good, secure school with a good bunch of kids and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2004

Very happy with the personalized attention, small class size and great environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2004

This is an excellent school. My children love the school. Their teachers have all been great. They have made my children love to learn. I have checked out many schools closer to our home, but have come to the conclusion that this is the best school for my children. I drive 25 minutes each way so that my children can continue to get such a great education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2003

This was the first year that my child attended Cambridge Academy. Enrolling her in this school is the best thing I could have done for her education. She spent last year in a Mesa Public School with 30 kids in her class and got no individualized attention. Cambridge has not only reinforced that learning can be fun, they have contributed to the highest test scores of my daughter's education!


Posted March 19, 2003

We have two children who attend Cambridge. My oldest was in the Public School and put in a classroom with 33 students. Needless to say, she was not getting any individualized attention. I had to volunteer in the classroom to help with the Reading and Science programs. The teacher was overwhelmed with all the students she had. I withdrew my daughter after the first quarter and placed her at Cambridge. She was then one of 16 and excelled from the start. She started in the second grade and now is in the 5th. When we got her Standford tests back she was scoring post high school! Thank you Cambridge.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
98%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
94%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
83%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
67%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
88%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
92%

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
96%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
89%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 42%
Hispanic 16% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 49%N/A49%
Male 51%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Amy Monarrez, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 325-2365

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Science
  • Technology
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Sunshine Acres
  • A+ Plus Catering
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Flag football
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Team Sports instruction
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Softball
  • Team Sports instruction

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Hip Hop
  • Drama club
  • Girls on the run
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our students are encouraged to set goals. We are focused on getting students prepared for higher learning. Our students start with a dream and finish with a future! Unlike traditional K-6 Elementary schools, we enter our 5th and 6th graders onto our Enhanced Educational Track. This includes Common Core studies, experiencing different teachers for each core principle and Enrichment courses heavily based in science and technology. Please call Heather Montoya for more information! 480-641-2828.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Smith Junior High
Fremont Junior High
Shepherd Junior High
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9412 E. Brown Rd.
Mesa, AZ 85207
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 641-2828

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT