Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Mesa, AZ
Students enrolled: 268
Before care: No
After care: No

3 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Vista Grove Preparatory Academy 1

Posted April 11, 2014
- a parent
I think that it is important to consider a few things when choosing a school for your child: your child's strengths and weaknesses, academics, social awareness, school resources and staff competency. This school, although claiming to be a "preparatory academy", is not a school.The staff is sub-par, poorly trained, not professional and insensitive to the individuality of children.The majority of the children attending this school are children in dire financial need, some are almost homeless and many speak little to no English. Although attention to these matters are critical, it takes up the majority of the schools resources taking away from true academics ("preparatory academy" for what?), special needs, physical education and teaching the faculty the importance of professionalism and accepting the uniqueness of children. I believe that this group that guides and molds these children need to take courses on responsibly and professionally working with children and parents. The classes are NOT small, and individuality is NOT welcome. They can also advertise on their website, the real school and what they are preparing children for - it's not real life or college for that matter.

Vista Grove Preparatory Academy 4

Posted February 27, 2014
- a parent
I loved when the school was smaller sized and its not the case anymore. :( My child has attended this school several years. The arts programs are amazing quality. The staff is great aside from a few bad apples in the transportation department over the years some are great others have had issues with.


Vista Grove Preparatory Academy 1

Posted December 17, 2013
- a community member
Yesterday in busy rush hour traffic at the corner of Gilbert Rd. and Guadalupe Rd. Gilbert AZ,at 5:36pm an adult in a reddish large vehicle honked their horn at the Vista Grove bus driver. The reddish vehicle was in the left turn lane and the bus was in the middle lane with stopped traffic at the light. The bus driver put on his flashing lights and put out his stop sign and allowed a young student get out of the bus, IN TRAFFIC go around the front of the bus and enter the reddish colored vehicle. This was such a blatant unsafe practice. If that behavior indicates the quality of employee conduct and service you are giving to the students of your school, your parents need to look elsewhere for a school that offers not only higher than AZ State standard education but also puts emphasis on a secure and safe environment for each child. No matter who in educating or servicing their child.

Vista Grove Preparatory Academy 1

Posted October 22, 2013
- a community member
Also, be aware the 4-5 star ratings on this website or any website for poorly performing schools as verified by the State standards typically come from teachers and or staff and are not necessarily reality. Do your homework, especially with charter schools such as these.

Vista Grove Preparatory Academy 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
I have 2 children attending Vista Grove Preparatory Academy this year. One is in Kindergarten and the other is in 1st grade. Communication between the teachers and myself is great. The atmosphere of the school is really good. The girls love the school. They are learning a lot this year.


Vista Grove Preparatory Academy 5

Posted June 03, 2013
- a parent
Vista Grove Preparatory Academy, I have 2 sons in the elementary school and one in the middle school. They enjoy the options at the school such as performing arts and sports. My 2 sons in the elementary school excell tremendously here at VGES, they both have achieved all A's and B's in academics and loved their extra classes. I would recommend enrolling your child we have felt like we were part of the family here.

Vista Grove Preparatory Academy 5

Posted April 27, 2011
- a parent
I am on the PTO at Vista Grove and my kids have been here for over 3 years. The principal and staff at this school are great! The vision of this school are just what I am looking for! I am excited to watch my kids grow to their full potential!!

Vista Grove Preparatory Academy 0
no rating

Posted March 15, 2009
- a parent
Big promises with no delivery.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Vista Grove Preparatory Academy
2929 E. McKellips Road, Mesa, AZ  85213
(480) 924-1500
Last modified Vista Grove Preparatory Academy is a Charter school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Vista Grove Preparatory Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top