Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Liberty Arts Academy

Charter | PK-8 | 300 students

We are best known for being a small school with a big heart.

 
 

Living in Mesa

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $164,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $820.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 14 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 5 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

I absolutely love Liberty arts Academy. The teachers and staff are loving caring and on top of things. I have an 8th grader with Autism. Teachers and staff have been nothing but patient, understanding and loving to him. I also have a 6 grader who is in honor roll. I strongly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2014

My daughter loves this school and I think it offers a wonderful education for all grade levels and stays with the current times in technology!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2013

We love LAA! My children are doing very well, they have recieved honor roll for 1st & 2nd quarters. Their teachers are excellent. My children have been involved with the after school sports & dance clubs, as well as yearbook. We like the small size of the school. My children are known my name by most staff members. It's a family. I look forward to watching them progress and grow at LAA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2013

Love LAA, My daughter is in her first year there (5th grade). She received both straight "A's" and perfect attendance. The curriculum is challenging and academics are the foundation. My only regret is I didn't make this decision earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2013

This school is an amazing place! Although it has gone through changes, it remains to be a strong academic program, all while supporting the whole child. The leadership at LAA believes in putting the students first. Parents are respected and valued. They offer after school sports, dance and clubs. During school their students have PE and music, in addition to art integrated into their mainstream classroom. It is always easy to talk to the principal if I have a question. LAA is like being part if a big family! We love our children's school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2013

LAA is full of caring individuals who do their best to promote a positive and friendly learning environment. LAA has gone through a few changes over the past year, and is striving to put together the best staff possible. Many improvements have been made since the change in leadership including 3 new smart boards, bus improvements, and the promotion of a more kind/caring atmosphere. I agree, some programs were cut from the school such as sports and art, but others were put in their place (After school sports club, dance, PE, etc). Certain things need to be built from the ground up, which is what is happening with the extra cirricular activities. I would expect to see organized sports back within a year or two. Just before my son exits the school. We love LAA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2013

This used to be an amazing school. It is no longer. They no longer care about supporting a well rounded child. Cuts to sports, art, and classroom supplies make it feel like a business. I am nickle and dimed at every turn. Test scores are the most important thing, a love for learning falls far below on the list. The amazing teachers we loved left when the school began to change. We tried to see how it would be, but the results are in. We have left laa and it was not an easy choice to take my kids away from their friends. But I cannot allow them to continue to go to this school which now I would describe as cold and in caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

My child has attended LAA for 3 years and her dad and I are extremely happy with her progress and delighted with her teachers so far. The curriculum not only meets but exceeds the Arizona State standards according to her latest scores. My daughter's Junior Scholars teacher was happy with her science and math skills this summer which made us very proud. My daughter's Girl Scout troop leader was proud of her behavior and participation as well. I believe children who are surrounded by a positive and nurturing environment both at home and at school thrive successfully at everything they do. Interestingly, negativity exudes negativity. Thank goodness those individuals that have made very negative comments have professed to leave immediately. Liberty Arts Academy has always had an upbeat and positive approach towards education and constantly supports building leaders. My only wish is for corporate sponsors within the community to step up and donate for playground equipment. Keep up the good work LAA. PS: Art classes should never be the driving force for any grade level school. IMO
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

This is my children's 3rd day at this school and it will be their last. My children are coming from a great public school however I liked the idea of a smaller more focused school environment. I toured this school during the summer hours and the new leader is absolutely wonderful! That is the only positive thing I can say about liberty arts. My kids say that the teachers yell constantly and don't seem to have a plan for the day. I am able to walk in and out of the building freely which makes me question the safety of the kiddos. My husband and I and our kids feel like they're in a daycare environment. Very disappointing...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2013

This is supposed to be a school that is focused on arts... Wish someone would have told me when we enrolled that they don't even have an art class offered to the students as a special. The "music/drama/performing arts room" is no bigger than a glorified closet. The "library" is the same way. The bus schedule is a joke. School is supposed to be dismissed at 3:10, bus was supposed to be at our stop around 4pm, and finally arrived at 5:15! One child had an accident on the bus, children were becoming anxious and worried and my daughter said the bus driver was "trying to stay awake". Most all staff as well as parents are dressed very unprofessional and look lazy. Multipurpose room is plain, boring and the entire school appearance lacks creativity and personality. My children (who are normally very positive about school) have had almost nothing but negative things to say... The only positive feedback my children have said is that the principal is very nice. It is her first year as a leader at this school and hopefully she can make some much needed changes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

I feel very pround to be a part of a staff who helps encourage students to be the best they can be. COMPASSION and care are our #1 priority. As a staff we instill this with service learning projects, community contests and a strong arts program.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 22, 2013

I am not sure what this parent is talking about. My child has attended this school for several years. In every aspect, he is nurtured both academically and emotionally. I do not have to make an appointment to visit with the principal of the school. The front office is always ready to solve a question that I have. My child is an honor roll student who is involved with the sports and drama programs. I consider this school a safe environment that I want for my child . It is his home away from home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2013

I have 3 children with special needs that attend Liberty Arts. I am overwhelmed with the compassion and professionalism shown to my children by the entire staff. The teachers are very loving, dedicated and qualified. The occupational therapist and physical therapist provide serices weekly. I am kept informed of my children's progress. School leadership has an open door policy. My child's third grade teacher tutors her free of charge one day after school each week. She is now on the honor roll and her self confidence is soaring. I am very grateful I moved my children from our neighborhood school to Liberty. Liberty is an exceptional school interested in educating all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2013

I have to agree completely with the Jan 1 2013 post. We had a very similar horrible experience and also pulled our children out and moved them to another school. As the other parent experienced once we moved our children to a new school they began to thrive academically and are actually happy at school instead of being constantly punished & confused with the chaos at this school. Liberty Arts was unprofessional, unorganized, and has very apparent administration problems. It's unfortunate our children even had to experience the chaos of this organization - it's poor facilities like this that ruin the educational experience for kids and cause more problems for them down the road.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2013

Liberty Arts Academy does NOT hire uncertified teachers. The comment below is incorrect. This is an excellent school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2013

My son was there for a year and a half. Two certified teachers left (K and 1st grade) and they were replaced with uncertified teachers. One of which told my son at 5 years old that if he didn't stop walking around the classroom he was going to be kicked out of school and not allowed to return. She admitted to me what she said when I asked. She would also undermind my authority and tell me that when my son was acting up to not punish him because he was just being a kid. The 1st grade teachers were aweful. They had no control over their classroom. More often then not at least half the kids in the classroom were in trouble every day. My son was CONSTANTLY in trouble. I pulled him out half way through the school year and we went to a Gilbert school. Within one month he was at the top of his class. So obviously it was the teacher and not my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

Liberty Arts Academy is amazing!! My daughter has been there for 2 years now and absolutely loves it. Both the teachers and staff are all wonderful and have never had a complaint come up. I love all of the activities they do; talent shows, book fairs, musical programs, ect. This school has really helped my daughter in many other areas that a traditional public school would not have provided. The principal is wonderful and knows both students and parents by name...she often greets you at the door during drop off and pickup. Can't say enough good things about this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2012

My name is cheyenne and I have been a Liberty Arts Academy student for 8 years. I started here while I was in kindergarden. We have some of the best teachers ever and they really care about your child's needs. This is a great school to make friends and get a good education. The teachers are supporting and very easy to communicate with. The older kids usually talk to the teachers about things that we did over the weekend or other breaks. This is a great school and I will be extremely sad when I have to leave! I have met some of my best friends here that I never want to leave.


Posted February 2, 2012

I love this school! My oldest has been in a few different public and charter schools and now she is to stay put. my other kids started there this year and I am very happy with the kindergarten staff! they love it and I like the art and music/drama classes. they are built into the curriculum - its not like the public system where they have a parent come into "teach" art once a month. the acedemic curriculum is amazing and I am happy that my daughter is not being "dumbed down". I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2011

Liberty Arts Academy in three words: caring, accountable, dedicated. The teachers and staff are involved and energetic. My daughter is exited to go every day, and I like the homework we do together as well as seeing what she has completed in class. The teachers and staff communicate well and are very accessible.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

36 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

35 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
73%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

26 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
40%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

15 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Performing Plus".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 42%
Hispanic 21% 43%
Black 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 8% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A47%
Female 50%N/A49%
Male 50%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Vietnamese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10 am
School end time
  • 3:10 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Julia Angel
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (480) 830-4335

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Service learning
  • Visual arts
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
  • Vietnamese
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Flag football
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Drama club
  • Recycling club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
  • You Can Count On Me
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • PreK(starting at 3 years)-8th grade. PreSchool (Kinder-readiness) for a Low fee-***discount given if siblings are enrolled Small self-contained class sizes Free Transportation Community service orientated Sports teams
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3015 S. Power Road
Mesa, AZ 85212
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 830-3444

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT