Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Franklin At Alma Elementary

Public | K-8

We are best known for helping students excel.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

I can't say enough good things about Franklin at Alma. My son has been here for 3 years. The teachers and the Principal really know and understand the needs of individual students. My son has strong reading and math skills. He has also learned excellent problem solving skills. He is encouraged to think and share his ideas. Students are taught respect for others. The teachers and Principal show not only respect for students and parents but also a genuine interest in student development. This school was the perfect choice for us. First child going to kindergarten we were a bit nervous. The campus is small and very safe. It is small enough that we know most of the parents and children at least by sight if not by name. Our experience has been fantastic. My son met has lots of new friends and thrives in the classroom. There is a defined structure that assures that he understands exactly what is expected of him. I have had the opportunity to attend events at other schools in the area and each time I realize that we made the right decision when we chose Franklin at Alma. This is truly a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2014

This school provides the academic challenge that my daughter needs to stay engaged. The methods are established and proven through the Franklin back to basics/Spalding philosophy. The focus is on learning the fundamentals without all the flashy technology that can detract from learning objectives. Parents stay fully engaged through more frequent progress reports (every 3 weeks) and volunteer commitments (participation in at least 3 committees) than in other neighborhood schools. This results in greater student success. For our family, we do make an extra effort to participate in extracurricular activities that we find outside of the school as there is almost no focus on that in the Franklin philosophy. I do feel that is important for helping a child grow up to be a well-rounded individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2014

We started Franklin at Alma last year when my daughter was entering first grade. We had only heard positive things about the school so we decided to look into it. They are a parent choice school, fundraising is minimal and parents are very involved. We were very impressed with the academics and moving to this school was the best decision we could have made. They offer tutoring before school which was fantastic for my daughter since she needed to catch up to their 1st grade level on phonograms since she didn't attend kindergarten there. The teachers we have had so far have been wonderful and the Principal knows every child's name. I am not a fan of the dress code at all but so far that is my only complaint.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2014

Franklin at Alma is a great school for my child to start a solid foundation. She has attended since Kinder and she really enjoys going to school, reading, and especially her teachers. The back to basic structure this school offers is a strong accelerated program that was perfect pace for my daughter and keeps her very focused. The teachers are so wonderful and very open with the parents. They keep us well informed about our children's progression.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2014

Franklin at Alma is an overall great school! The Franklin program is one of high caliber with the type of teacher and student support that parents would hope for. My husband and I are both products of public education and feel we have successful, fulfilling careers. We looked at charter, public and private schools. I have been happy with our choice of Franklin. My child is getting a top-of-district and high quality state education without the high cost of private education. Franklin expects parent involvement with children and values it. The principal is approachable and hands on; teachers I have known thus far are good and any questions I have had are addressed efficiently. Good neighborhood. Some of the rules may be seen as strict; however, I have felt so far that my child respects the rules and seems to take pride in knowing them and following them (i.e. dress code and conduct).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2014

Is a small school with not that many students. I absolutely love the school. The teachers and staff really care about the students, and do their best so the kids can learn. Their curriculum is more accelerated than a traditional school. But my kid comes home happy everyday and exited about learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

My daughter had the great privilege of attending this school for first grade last year (2012-2013). (It is a school that teaches one grade level above the normal grade level...so my daughter was learning 2nd grade curriculum). She had the most amazing teacher! She went great lengths to ensure my daughter's academic success. This very special teacher had high standards and expectations of her students yet treated every child fairly as well as with love and respect. While the workload was challenging both in class and at home, it was all meaningful and done with purpose. The kids were busy from start of the day to finish, there was no "busy" work. Everything was done for an academic/educational purpose. The principal knew who both my daughter and I were and was always pleasant. We had great parent engagement as well. Sometimes there was more than one parent volunteer working in the classroom at the same time. It fostered friendships among the parents and confidence in the teacher/parent relationships. We would absolutely still be there if we had not had to move. We will dearly miss the teacher, staff and wonderful learning atmosphere at Franklin at Alma!! Keep up the great work!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2013

My daughter finished her first year of Kindergarten at this school and we've both had a wonderful experience. The teachers, assistants, nurse, office staff and principle are all very involved and you can see that they have a passion for what they do-- working with children. We've also had some custody issues and they were all very sensitive to our situation and communicative with me as a parent of any problems that were taking place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2012

I have 3 children at this school and they all love it! The teachers as great and always willing to talk about how my children are doing. I love the structure that they have and the curriculum is really great. I love volunteering at the school. The staff is always friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2012

This school is awesome. It has the best teachers, seriously. And the principal is just as great. The whole staff is kind and friendly and really do care about the students. The only down side is the dress code and the children have to wear pants in the hot heat, but I will take that if it means my children get the best education possible. And just like the previously reviewer stated, there are not much fundraising which I love because money is tight. This school is focused on the students and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2011

Love this school. It has advanced curriculum but not many fundraising activities like charter schools. Parents can help and get involved in many ways. I do wish they can challenge advanced students such as assigning extra homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

29 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

23 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

21 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2009-2010.
  • This school did not receive a designation in 2008-2009.

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 42%
Hispanic 25% 43%
American Indian/Alaska Native 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Emily Kelly
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (480) 472-3919

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Remediation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1313 W. Medina Ave
Mesa, AZ 85202
Website: Click here

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Summit Academy K-6
Chandler, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT