Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Franklin At Alma Elementary
Grateful to: School leader

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
Thank you to Mrs. Kelly for being an incredible, hands on, kind principal that is directly involved with every student and teacher. She is a large part of why the school is so successful.

Franklin At Alma Elementary
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
My kids are definitely ahead in terms of curriculum and general knowledge of subjects. The teachers are extremely effective in their teaching methods.


Franklin At Alma Elementary
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
The teachers care that the students are excelling and doing their best. IF they are not, the parents are notified to figure out what we can do differently. My children are treated very well at the school by all of the staff.

Franklin At Alma Elementary 5

Posted May 08, 2016
- a parent
Great education. Superior curriculum. Excellent communication between teacher, principal and parent. My kids are excelling. I would not send them anywhere else. The principal is the best.

Franklin At Alma Elementary 2

Posted November 25, 2015
- a parent
I wish I could give an honest review but terms of service forbids "slander" aka saying anything negative about the school and/or it's staff. So this apparently isn't a site that will give a full perspective of schools. However, surely I can at least say my daughter was at this school for nearly two years and I don't recommend it to anyone. Children and parents are treated horribly.


Franklin At Alma Elementary 5

Posted January 26, 2015
- a parent
Franklin @ Alma has a very positive learning environment. The focus here is on the academics and this is reflected in every decision made. It is obvious that the school has the best interests of the children in mind. Fund-raising is limited to modest parent dues, twice-yearly book fairs, and a raffle during the Spring Fair/Ice Cream Social. Every parent volunteers in some way at the school. Monthly FPO meetings are a chance for parents to get more involved. The teachers are very good - this is my son's third year and we have both been very happy with all of his teachers so far. With this focus on academics, the arts get left out to some extent (I accept this and plan extra-curricular activities for my child accordingly.)

Franklin At Alma Elementary 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
I can't say enough good things about Franklin at Alma. My son has been here for 3 years. The teachers and the Principal really know and understand the needs of individual students. My son has strong reading and math skills. He has also learned excellent problem solving skills. He is encouraged to think and share his ideas. Students are taught respect for others. The teachers and Principal show not only respect for students and parents but also a genuine interest in student development. This school was the perfect choice for us. First child going to kindergarten we were a bit nervous. The campus is small and very safe. It is small enough that we know most of the parents and children at least by sight if not by name. Our experience has been fantastic. My son met has lots of new friends and thrives in the classroom. There is a defined structure that assures that he understands exactly what is expected of him. I have had the opportunity to attend events at other schools in the area and each time I realize that we made the right decision when we chose Franklin at Alma. This is truly a great school!

Franklin At Alma Elementary 4

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
This school provides the academic challenge that my daughter needs to stay engaged. The methods are established and proven through the Franklin back to basics/Spalding philosophy. The focus is on learning the fundamentals without all the flashy technology that can detract from learning objectives. Parents stay fully engaged through more frequent progress reports (every 3 weeks) and volunteer commitments (participation in at least 3 committees) than in other neighborhood schools. This results in greater student success. For our family, we do make an extra effort to participate in extracurricular activities that we find outside of the school as there is almost no focus on that in the Franklin philosophy. I do feel that is important for helping a child grow up to be a well-rounded individual.


Franklin At Alma Elementary 5

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
We started Franklin at Alma last year when my daughter was entering first grade. We had only heard positive things about the school so we decided to look into it. They are a parent choice school, fundraising is minimal and parents are very involved. We were very impressed with the academics and moving to this school was the best decision we could have made. They offer tutoring before school which was fantastic for my daughter since she needed to catch up to their 1st grade level on phonograms since she didn't attend kindergarten there. The teachers we have had so far have been wonderful and the Principal knows every child's name. I am not a fan of the dress code at all but so far that is my only complaint.

Franklin At Alma Elementary 5

Posted August 13, 2014
- a parent
Franklin at Alma is a great school for my child to start a solid foundation. She has attended since Kinder and she really enjoys going to school, reading, and especially her teachers. The back to basic structure this school offers is a strong accelerated program that was perfect pace for my daughter and keeps her very focused. The teachers are so wonderful and very open with the parents. They keep us well informed about our children's progression.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Franklin At Alma Elementary
1313 W. Medina Ave, Mesa, AZ  85202
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. (480) 472-3900
Last modified Franklin At Alma Elementary is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top