Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dobson High School

Public | 9-12 | 3000 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2010

Great extracurricular activities and clubs - like Speech and Debate, Language clubs, Dance. Their Band and Orchestra groups are awesome.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2010

Dobon High School takes a student wanting to excel and to do their best, and gives them oppertunities that anyone could just stumble upon. I have been apart of Dobson's performing arts, which are among the finest anyone could ask for. After joining clubs that involve the mentally disabled classes i know that the teachers there are superb and doing the best they can. Also the honors,CP, AA, AP, etc. classes are designed to prepare students for what they will be facing as they are in the years that will shape the rest of their life. Dobson as well has a good selection of languages that are offered to the students, all of which are a good stepping stone to a college. Dobson is a great school that has an excellent number of good aspects.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2010

I attended this school 10 years ago and it set me up for my full ride scholarship to Northern Arizona University! Dobson gave me the foundation to pursue my dream career.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

it has a great band and sports


Posted September 16, 2009

Three of my grandchildren have attended Dobson High. I feel the faculty is some of the best in the country.


Posted May 10, 2009

All of the parents that are ragging on Dobson obviously have little insight. Dobson is an amazing school. Excellent teachers. I currently attend Dobson and couldn't ask for a better place to learn. And for the parents who are complaining about students writing reviews on this website: Don't we as students know better than anyone the way that dobson works and the oppurtunities it offers? Any student who wants to learn has a great oppurtunity at Dobson. It is your job as a parent to light a fire under your child, that is not the job of the teacher. Especially in high school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2008

good school.learning deparment perfect 10 out of 10 for dobson! go mustangs!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2008

It seems that the good ratings are from Students who think that they are better than those who do not get good grades or did not have the best experience. I was under the impression that this was a parent review. Well being a Parent having one child graduate with honors at a different high school and the other have very disinterested teachers and a not so good faculty at Dobson. As well as a not so good learning experience. I would have to say that Dobson failed my second student. It can't be the Theory of the parenting if one was honor role and the other wasn't. fortunately the promise of an education is not just for kids that it comes easy to. Therefore good teachers should be prepared to teach every individual student and realize their individual needs. My student enjoyed the music program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2008

I teach at the college level. I have graduate multiple degrees, most from top 15 programs. Dobson was a great school about 4-5 years ago. Today it is so bad I am pulling my child out. They teach only to tests. The teachers are incompetent and confuse academic rigor and care with demeaning and intellectually abusing the students. This results in poorly prepared student that dislike learning.prepared
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

I love this school! They actually invite parents to be a part of the campus and excel in community relations. Their extracurricular activities are excellent and they have more clubs than any other school in the valley.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

my son goes to dobson and i would not have him go to any other school the music department is one of the best in the state and they do show they care for the students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

Dobson did a great job in preparing my son for college. His scores earned him an academic scholarship to one of the top engineering schools in the nation. Not only is he ready for this challenge, he is confident and looking forward to it, thank-you Dobson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2008

I am currently a student at Dobson, and yes, some teachers seems disinterested, but that's only when students aren't driven. I've taught summer schools and know there is nothing worse than seeing a bunch of interested students, and then trying to act interested in them. When the class is involved, the courses are amazing. The teachers are extremely intelligent and encourage free-thinking and enlightenment to reach conclusions. The staff attends to each students needs and strives to allow every student to achieve greatness. Dobson also has unrivaled school pride and the clubs offered at Dobson are top-notch. Environmental clubs, sports clubs, academic clubs all aim to better, not only our community, but also society as a whole. I can honestly say that I am proud to be a Mustang due to the great staff, courses, and clubs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

I attended Dobson High School and graduated in 2006. In my opinion, this school has everything that a good parent should be looking for. If a student puts effort into their classes and studies, they will succeed. However, students who don't put in there all should attend another school. This school is to prepare you for college, not to goof around. Even so, students who do put in there all, have a good time and are able to goof around when appropriate. Dobson is a great school. It prepares you for the things you'll need to be successful in life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2008

All of these parents below who talk about Dobson as being a place where your kid wont learn anything obviously don't have very driven kids. I am a proud senior at Dobson who has worked very very hard to recieve good grades because of the rigorous coursework and challenging classes. I have had some amazing teachers who have done nothing but prepare me for college classes and have had others who teach college classes currently. If your child has an educational disability then I cant speak for them, but if you have a student who is eager to learn much like I am, they should have no problem preparing for college. Don't rag on a school you know little about, please. Dobson is a great school and that is why it gets top marks year after year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2008

Horrible adminstration, arrogant disinsterested teachers, illusory rating. Your honor student, an average stuent will be ignored. Sorry, I woul not sen my kids (3) here again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

The staff and faculty seem to not want to be bothered with giving the best education. There a a few good teachers but overall the admin and most teachers seem to not want to teach. If your child has any learning disabilities, don't send her here. She will be on her own. Music program seems selective. Faculty very defensive and not supportive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

In addition to the excellent AP teaching staff, Dobson also has a wide variety of excellent extracurricular events. Their speech and debate team especially creates an inviting and fulfilling atmosphere for students.


Posted September 27, 2007

My son is a sophomore at Dobson High School. I deliberately bought a home in the Dobson area because of the school, upon moving into the area. I have found the staff to be extremely helpful and courteous, and the faculty responsive and dedicated. Perhaps most importantly, my son loves it. And that is critical to success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

I think Dobson high has a very excellent extracurricular activities program. There is a variety of music arts programs and have an outstanding sports teams. My son plays football for the Dobson Mustangs and the coaches are great and really seem to care about thier athletes. The teachers are great and take the time out of there day to call or email me my students progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

651 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

656 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

644 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Hispanic 36% 43%
Black 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (480) 472-3075

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Cross country
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1501 W Guadalupe
Mesa, AZ 85202
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT