Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dobson High School

Public | 9-12 | 3000 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 7 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

61 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 16, 2007

I am currently a junior who grew up in a very small town with few extracurricular activities, and little academic promise. This being said, this school has been amazing. It offers a plethra of clubs for nearly every intrest a teenager could have, whether it be school related or not. Also, there are numerous chances to look towards the future, as Dobson has ties to several in state colleges as well as military recruiters so students may evaluate their options. The academic teams are a force to be reckoned with as well, placing very high in state, and often times national competitions. It's true that some of the teachers and classes leave something to be desired, but many of them are amazing. They'll help you until you can stand on your own two feet, and try to teach you to be a better person along the way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 7, 2007

I am currently a Senior at Dobson and I can honestly say that I am really going to miss this school. Every teacher I've had has been phenomenal, they obviously love their job and especially love their students. Arizona has a reputation for having the worst schools in the country, if that is in fact true, rest assured that Dobson is a diamond in the ruff. But where the true quality of this school shines brightest is in the extracurricular activities. The sports programs are thriving, and the music department is the greatest in the state and among the best in the country, I myself play in the band and it's been one of the most amazing experiences of my life. If that is hard to believe, feel free to attend a few concerts. I wouldn't trade my experience and knowledge gained at Dobson for anything.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 9, 2006

I'm currently a senior at Dobson High and can honestly say that Dobson in general is a good school to attend. I'm in two choirs this year, not only because I like performing, but because Dobson has possibly the best high school music program in the state. Just last year, Mr.Evans, was named music educator of the year. Not only that, but the concert choir and full symphonic orchestra took 1st place in a national competition this past year. Dobson is also very accomodating for Honors students, and allows for the accelerated student to really excel. Dobson's teachers, in general, are above average, but there are also many teachers who teach regular classes that are way below par. Socially I've found Dobson to be very relaxed, and that cliques don't exist at all. We're a pretty friendly school. A new Principal came this year, so I can't give an opinion yet.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 10, 2006

Dobson has incredible academic programs. There are many opportunities for students to delve into learning. The teachers instructing students are among the best and their high level of commitment to students' learning is a model that should be followed statewide. This school has it all...academics, athletics, and fine arts. Mesa is fortunate to have the Dobson community within its city limits.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

The music and extra-curricular programs are phenomenal! Most students can quickly find a place on campus where they feel comfortable. Other academic teams, such as Academic Decathalon, Math Team, Speech and Debate, and We The People, are worthy investments. The music program does well to work together as a department, and none of the three programs (band, orchestra, choir) overshadow eachother, but rather work to supplement eachother. With all that said and done, the quality of teachers is severely lacking.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 30, 2006

Dobson High School is overall an excellent school. Academics are strong, with a wide variety of course offerings. There are also many extracurricular opportunities available to students that are competitive among the best. One major complaint about Dobson High School is lack of teacher quality. There are a few very good teachers but only a few. . However, while there is room for improvement, Dobson High School is a good school to attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2006

My daughter homeschools, but takes Chemistry at Dobson. We really like the teachers, and she is doing well. Dobson has been very accomadating with regards to her absences due to surgery, etc. Although I would hesitate sending her fulltime, we have been pleased with the classes she has taken there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2005

Dobson is the school to attend if your child is interested in excellence in academics, performing arts, and athletics. The teachers are knowledgable, the staff friendly, and the coaches dedicated. Dobson is the epitome of excellenc, and I am glad my student has the opportunity to attend.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2005

My whole family went to dobson high school and are very happy with the teachers and the level of education provided.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 8, 2005

As a former student, I loved Dobson! I am actually from the Gilbert Unified District, but I am extremely happy that I attended Dobson. My experience first at Hendrix and then at Dobson was much more enriching and enjoyable and productive than at Gilbert schools. I learned a large quantity and everything has helped me prepare for college. I thank all of the teachers and staff and highly recommend Dobson High School.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 8, 2005

Dobson High School is a great school. They have so many things for the kids to do like chorus, band, orchestra, sports, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2005

Dobson High is a high quality school with many programs for gifted students as well as ungifted students. The music program is excellent.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 29, 2005

Dobson has high academic standards and great performing arts classes. The music programs always earn high accolades at competitions.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 31, 2005

It is a very good school the staff is very friendly and the kids are ver open minded.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2005

I find the techers at Dobson to be experienced and highly motivated to continue in their carreer ladder. I have no experience in the sports or arts but the teams and coaches perform with honor. Most parents work and I have not seen a lot of parent physical envolvement, however, never a need to ask twice for donations.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 16, 2005

I love this school. I have graduated and now my son is gradution. Great job.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 4, 2004

Dobson is a spacious, open school. There are so many students and so many extra-curricular activities to choose from. Many experienced, awesome teachers. Safety is a big concern, expecially at lunch time with their open campus at lunch. Good teacher/parent communication.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2004

Two children have graduated from Dobson and moved on to ASU. Daughter has 3.8 at ASU after first year. Still have two left attending Dobson. The teachers, staff, and programs have been excellent! I am extremely impressed with every aspect of their education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My daughter graduated May of '03' and is at ASU now.The eduacation that Dobson provided to her was outstanding. She is MORE than prepared for college. She is wondering when it will become a 'Challenge for her?'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2003

For the parent thinking about sending their 5th grader to Dobson: Testing experts caution parents not to assume that the scores, high or low, truly reflect a child's progress or a school's quality. Parents need to visit the school and examine what's being taught, said Jeanne Miyaska of WestEd, an education research laboratory. 'A parent ought to get beyond a single test score before they make a judgment,' Miyaska said. 'When you look at a score in a newspaper, it's difficult to interpret what's going on at the school.'
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2013.

651 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 83% in 2013.

656 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
83%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

644 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 42%
Hispanic 36% 43%
Black 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (480) 472-3075

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Swimming
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Cross country
  • Swimming

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1501 W Guadalupe
Mesa, AZ 85202
Website: Click here

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT