Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Eagleridge Enrichment Program

Public | K-9 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2013

I actually wrote the first review dated August 29, 2013. I received an email from Great Schools about new reviews being left about Eagleridge so I clicked on it out of curiosity. I saw that the most recent reviewer suspected that my review was written by an employee. I'm sorry that the reviewer didn't enjoy their experience but I don't think it's fair to discount ours. To dispel any suspicion I am leaving this follow-up and will leave my name for credibility purposes. I stand by what I wrote in that recent review. I have two children who attend the school and I am not an employee . My daughter has Mrs. V for first grade and she is amazing. My son has 4 different teachers and we are happy with them as well. -Amber Velasquez
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

I didn't like this school either. Funny how they had to get a new principal. I have a feeling the last two reviews were written by an employee or something. I didn't feel some of the teachers were approachable enough, (only on meet the teacher night) but everyone has different experiences. This school needs some upgrades.


Posted August 29, 2013

This program is a wonderful opportunity for homeschoolers! Here, homeschoolers have the opportunity to learn in a typical school environment but without the other issues many tend to find in typical school settings. The program is well run by the top-notch administration and teachers. For those who expressed concerned below that they worry their child will fall behind in grades....that is not the fault of the program. When we as parents make the decision to homeschool, it is our responsibility to educate our children and ensure they meet the educational standards in this state. Please understand, this is an enrichment program designed to support us, not replace what we teach at home. My kids learn a lot here and they are incredibly happy. They also have an entire curriculum room available to us where we can check out materials to use at home. Any concern we've had, has been quickly addressed. Not only does the administration appreciate feedback, they seek it out from families. They are constantly working to make improvements and meet the needs of the families who attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2013

Not sure if I'm going to keep my child here. Since its not a regular elementary school, I feel a bit insecure. The bathroom for the little ones is old and I saw ants in the water fountain. They let them play outside in the playground where there's lots of sand so the kids shoes get sand inside really bad. I feel my child will fall behind with the grades compared with the other schools, even though you have to provide a lot of homeschooling plus time & effort on your part.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2013

My kids' school is Eagleridge and they are amazing. They really do care for their students and are very involved with informing the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2012

I am very satisfied with Eagleridge. I don't put a lot of faith in any public school system but for what they offer which is supplementing our homeschooling, it works. My child's teacher has always been supportive, cooperative, and has a energetic personality. The other children are very kind along with their parents. I look forward to enrolling my other child next year as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2011

The principal of this school is quick to judge parents. Once she determines a parent's voice is irrelevant, nothing that parent says and none of that parent's concerns will be addressed. Emails and letters are not responded to, and concerns are just conveniently swept under the rug. It's really ashame. I'm waiting for a change in leadership at this school before I'll send my children back to this Enrichment Program. I really wish more schools offered this option for homeschoolers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2011

The online program is low quality with glitches. Some of the lessons are mind-boggling and psychological, which set one up to fail. The parent resource room lacks materials. Some of the staff are unfriendly ,and lacks communication regarding questions about online issues with program. Not impressed with the program. No star(s).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2011

I have 4 children that have attended Eagleridge. They very much enjoyed their classes and friendships there. The teachers have been creative, kind, and warm toward my children. I appreciate the directors support of the evening performances and other extra activities. We appreciate the physical education, science, theater, music, chess, literature, & Spanish classes especially. This is the perfect enrichment proram for our homeschooling family. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

I being a stupent of 3 years at this school loved it. It is a great learning enviroment and all the teachers and kids are very friendly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2009

Why aren't there more programs like this? This is a great place for homeschoolers to get social interaction and enrichment activities. It is assumed that the students of this school are learning the hard core subjects at home, of course. You can't expect them to be able to teach in 1 or 2 days a week what parents of homeschoolers should be teaching every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

I really did not like this school. School leadership is very low. This school is mostly populated by people who are conservative and christian, and when ever mentioned, different beliefs are descriminated against by some of the other students in the school, The teachers made no action to stop this exclusion, which made it hard for me to feel comfortable. I had a bad experience there and I'm so glad that I go to a different school now. Some teachers are ignorant of the topics in which they teach. Lastly, no actual 'curriculum' is provided at this school. In my opinion, this school does not help anyone prepare for college.


Posted April 9, 2008

This is a great way for homeschoolers to get the things they can't get at home without parents having to shell out tons of money for lessons and groups. My son gets to be in the band and theater class and I can sneak classes into his schedule on logic and problem solving, history, math, and grammar without him realizing it. Every semester there are new classes to challange and new programs to try.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

Perfect way for home schoolers to gain social skills, meet new friends and add to what I am teaching at home. The classes are fun and the teachers are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2007

I attended Eagleridge for 4 years. All were wonderful. It provided me with classes and experiences that I woud not have had with homeschooling alone. I also went to 9th grade (as part as the 4 years) there, and the curriculum was great. I felt well-prepared for whatever might come next. I truly enjoyed my time at Eagleridge!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2007

This enrichment program is a great addition to our homeschooling. Our sons have been here for five and four years each. Eagleridge is what your children and family make it. This is a place where your children can have opportunities to work with other students across different age groups to problem solve, put on plays, play in the band, and work on projects. Both of our sons have loved their classes and classmates. Only one of our sons had only a issue with another student which was solved in a respectable manner a few years back.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

I am so pleased with Eagleridge. It is a supplement to my homeschooling. My children have found life-long friends that are also homeschooled. They have had extra experiences that I am not able to give them (namely spanish, fun and hands-on science experiements, computers, music, pe, even help with math.) Overall I would reccomend this school to anyone homeschooling.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2007

This is my son's second year at Eagleridge and he absolutely loves it, as do all of his friends. We had previously sent him to one of the better 'regular' public schools, but the experience was so bad that we decided to homeschool him. Eagleridge has been so good that he actually likes school now! The teachers and principal are all first-rate and are able to handle problems very well. On the only occasion that my son did suffer some problems due to another child, the teachers handled the situation well and in a very considerate manner much better than the way things were handled at his previous school! I especially appreciate that the school is designed to complement your homeschooling, not to replace it. Being able to choose which subjects to study and what schedule to use is very helpful. I can't recommend this school highly enough.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

This school provided my child with an extremely negative experience. The teacher and principal were unwilling to address issues with a disruptive student leading to misery for my child. I do not recommend this school to any home school parent. I have removed my child from the school in response to my dissatisfaction with the overall environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 27, 2006

I attended Eagleridge from 4th until 8th grade (I am now a Junior at a public high school) and it was a great experience. I was able to build relationships and share ideas with other homeschoolers. I made many great friends while attending Eagleridge and loved the staff. I felt they truly cared. Eagleridge has many resources for homeschoolers and provides it's students with activities we'd otherwise miss out on as homeschoolers. I would definately recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

38 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2013.

24 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 58% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

11 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Highly Performing".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 42%
Hispanic 12% 43%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Black 3% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1313 W. Medina
Mesa, AZ 85210
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Summit Academy K-6
Chandler, AZ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT