Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

East Valley Academy

Charter | K-6 & ungraded | 19 students

 
 

Living in Mesa

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $96,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 6, 2014

My son has been in kindergarten (K-2 class) this school year. It is a wonderful school. I get lots of communication from the teachers. Field trips and theater keep the kids excited about the school. My son is reading some 1st grade readers with half the school year left to go. Manners and character are important to the teachers, you will get an e-mail or invitation for a conference if your child needs some extra attention. Lovely!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

I'm so glad that I found this charter school. My daughter has learned more in the two months that she has been attending EVA, than she ever did in the two years that she attended public school here. They have a tougher grading scale and work with each child at the child's level so that if they excel, they encourage it and push them even further. The "one class" for all learning environment encourages this as well. Thank you East Valley Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2011

My daughter has been attending East Valley Academy for the past 2 years and has definitely exhibited great strides in reading, math, social studies and the sciences. The teachers certainly have the best academic interests of their students in mind at all times and go above and beyond to promote a culture of learning that far surpasses surrounding schools. This is true not only for her, but her other relatives who have attended East Valley Academy. I highly recommend this school to everyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

I moved my son to the school last year. He was not doing good in the public school system, but they kept moving him through. He has made more progress at East Valley in one year than he did in 5 years at the puplic schools. I wish I would have started him here in kindergarten. Waiting is my only regret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2009

My daughter is about to complete her second year at EVA. She started there as a Kindergartener and was reading at 2nd grade level by the end of that school year. She had also learned addition and subtraction, and even some basic multiplication. As a first grader, she is reading at 3rd grade level, learning extensive vocabulary, and is continuing building her solid foundation in math skills. These teachers are incredible; what she is learning is leagues above the public school education of other children we know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2008

The East Valley Academy is located near my home and continued efforts at calling the school have met with a recorded voicemail. The mission of this school is clear; the students are not disciplined but rather are outside screaming every day in complete chaos, climbing in the trees and peeping into other homeowner s yards. I am extremely dissatisfied with this school, it s location and the apparent lack of leadership shown to date and will be continuing my efforts at a viable solution this problem.


Posted September 21, 2005

My kids are currently attending East Valley Academy. I am very impressed with the amount of learning they are achieving. I love the small class size and personalized learning curriculum they have provided for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My child has been a student of East Valley Academy for 2 years and now my other child is starting there this year (2003-2004). I would not put my children in the public school system after witnessing how well my child has done in this school. It is like the old one-room school house idea where they are taught the basics again and the public schools are lacking. They still have music and art appreciation as extras besides the basics of math, english, history and they learn geography. My child has reminded me of things that I had forgotten about from my years in the private schools. I definitely recommend this school to others who are looking for their child to really learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2003

Overall I am more happy with East valley Academy than I was when my son attended Entz elemantary school. My son now feels like he's part of the class and school. I notice a big diffrence now in his classwork and homework.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 62% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 58% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 52% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 61% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2014.

2014

 
 
n/a

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2013-2014 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Excelling".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Excelling".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 47% 42%
American Indian/Alaska Native 32% 5%
Black 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hispanic 5% 43%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Female 58%N/A49%
Male 42%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1858 East Brown Road
Mesa, AZ 85203
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 946-3071

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT