Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Field Elementary School

Public | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2014

This is the worse school I have ever had to deal with. I had to take care of my nephews because the school called CPS on my sister because his teacher coaxed him into telling him that his mother hurt him. He was in kindergarten I had to deal with a child bullying my nephew and the principal could have cared less. I would never send my own child to that school. They were taken out and put into Whitman elementry school and they are doing wonderfully there.


Posted October 23, 2013

this school is amazing the teachers are wonderful and they care about there students not just the money i would highly reccomend your kids coming to field.


Posted September 26, 2013

My daughters transferred into Field last year, as 3rd and 5th Graders. The teachers, faculty and students made them feel very welcome. They both excelled last year and are doing well in their classes now. We have been very pleased with the curriculum, educators, extra curricular activities and PTO. We are moving soon and are trying desperately to stay in the boundaries... Kids don't want to change schools!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2012

Been at Field Elementary School since 2002 and last child will be leaving there 2013. I love the teachers, principle and staff. I recommend this school for your children. submitted by a parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

My daughter has gone to this school since early kindergarten, she is now finishing 5th grade. I have had a great experience with this school, the Title 1 is an issue, but with funding issues I can understand. Her teachers have been great, had a some issues at times. As far as this school being in a poorer area, that is far from the truth, it may be an older neighborhood, but home values usually are pretty high, and I definately believe that it is not 50% hispanic. We also have to remember about open enrollement, anyone can go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2009

My daughter has gone to this school for 2 yrs now and she loves it. Mrs. Yoder (2nd grade teacher) has really been great for my daughter and updates me frequently on how her day was. The teachers/staff are always very friendly and there to help. They do focus a lot on being a Title 1 school, which I don't think is something to boast about. I only wish they challenged the kids a little more academically; but I think that is partially because the school is in a poorer area and has close to a 50% Hispanic population where a lot of the kids/parents don t speak English.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

I am a single parent of two young boys who went to Field Elementary. I am so proud that my boys excelled in academics and developed well socially. JB and Paul admired their teachers and principal and have wonderful circle of friends and classmates. The entire management and staff of this particular elementary school in Mesa is exceptional. The teachers are are always there and ready to discuss, resolve and help whatever problem my kids encountered. JB is at Poston High next door and Paul will be joining him very soon. Both said they have a great experience with Field, and I as a parent is proud and thankful for this great elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2008

My son is now in 5th grade and has been attending Field since kindergaten. Field is not our home school but I was able to get a boundry exception. I loved this school until about 2 years ago. The principal is more concerned about funding than the students education and well being. Zero tolerance for bullying is not enforced at all! Parent communication is non exsistant, and most of the learning has been done at home while doing 1-2 hrs of homework per night. This used to be a great school, not so any more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2006

I have found Field to be a great foundation builder to my son's education. The ELP program is excellent and a guarantee for success. My son enjoyed all of his teachers and they have all supported my son in his learning. They have never passed him over, and have acknowleged his skills and truly showed concern for his best interests. I defintely recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Field Elementary is a good school. The principal and staff are wonderful. The school could use more state funding for classes and extra activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

For the most part, this is a pretty good school. However, with the new AIMS material, I have noticed that my children are no longer being taught relevant material. However, this is no fault of the school itself, but rather the State.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2005

The teaching quality has gone down in the last 4 years. My oldest student left kindergarten with a great teaching. My youngest left kindergarten behind due to reqires material not being covered and taught.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2005

I found it to be a wonderful school. My son went there up until 5th grade and I have a daughter who went up to 2nd grade. Parent involvement is very high. Lots of attendance at events. Music program is excellent. Great band teacher. Great principal. Lots of extracurricular activities. We just moved out of the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2005

Academic programs are decent, the availability of extracurricular activities leaves something to be desired. The level ofparent involvement is limited.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2004

My son spent two years at this school. Both teachers were very poor in academics and focused mainly on art projects. Each year the teacher was willing to fail at least half of her class and retain them for a second year in each level. The teachers at field and the administration don't care about individual achievement or follow the proprosed curriculum. When students are having difficulties in any area it is up to the parents to take on the role of teacher because there is no other willing participant at this school that is available to help the children. Security at this school is very poor due to the open layout of the buildings and lack of supervison, children could leave school with numerous adults without being monitored. Although this school is in a great neighborhood, and has very supportive families of the students, avoid it at all costs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2004

I feel this school does not meet my childs educationl needs. They do not challenge my child and he is bored at this school. They offer no advance placement until third grade. That is a long time for a child to be held back and stuck with kids that are slow learners. Just because this state beleives that no children should be left behind does not meen that all children should taught at the same level. There needs to be a balance and this is not happening at this school. Advanced children are paying the price. If you have an advanced learner in K-2 grade then this is not the school for them. They have an excellent advance program for 3rd-6th grade but, that is a long way to wait for a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2004

Field is a great school going forward to meet the needs of all their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2003

I have had too many problems with bad behavior and bad attitudes in this school: pricipals, teachers AND students being allowed to behave badly. Too much time is spent pulling children out of class to discuss bad behavior. Get control of the situation however the experts say but this school is reeling out of control with stinky attitudes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2003

Had trouble twice this year with the school reporting my child as unexcused absent. Once, my 6 yr old daughter was in the classroom the entire time. This was very distressing to me, thinking that my daughter wandered away or was grabbed at school. Second, my child had been reported absent by me but they called the house looking her for.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 56% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 53% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % meets or exceeds

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Arizona used the Arizona Instrument to Measure Standards (AIMS) to test students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and 10, writing in grades 5, 6, 7, and 10, and in science in grades 4, 8 and 10. GreatSchools' profiles currently show AIMS mathematics, reading and writing results. 2013 AIMS grade 10 results represent on-track 10th graders for the 2013 test year. AIMS is a standards-based test, which means that it measures how well students have mastered Arizona learning standards. Students must pass the grade 10 AIMS in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to meet or exceed state standards on the test.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

  • In 2010-2011, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was designated "Performing Plus".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was designated "Highly Performing".

About the tests


Arizona uses AZ LEARNS Achievement Profiles to indicate schools' overall performance each year. For elementary and middle schools, the profiles are based on current and historical aggregated AIMS results, MAP results and whether or not the school made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP). For high schools, AIMS results, AYP status and graduation/dropout rates are used. Schools are identified as Excelling, Highly Performing, Performing Plus, Performing, Underperforming, Failing to Meet Academic Standards or Pending.

Source: Arizona Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 42%
Hispanic 40% 43%
Black 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 3% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 67%N/A47%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (480) 472-9819

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2325 E Adobe Street
Mesa, AZ 85213
Website: Click here
Phone: (480) 472-0200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT